We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base - good value hotel”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Our first nights stay was hindered due to the children in the room above spending the night jumping off the bunk beds - Reception staff were brilliant no fuss, moved us to a quieter floor, even had our bags taken up for us while we went out for the day. Great fun for kids and adults alike watching the rides pass the bedroom window. Breakfast was really good, you had to be down before 9.00am though otherwise there was a queue. The only draw back was the evening menu for adults, very expensive and no choice of basic meals which was a shame really as the restuarant at night was empty, it resulted in us having to find alternative venues for meals, which in Blackpool is difficult unless you want fast food all day - the drinks in the hotel were well over priced too. Apart from that we would definately use this hotel as a base again though as we didn't have to touch the car everything was walking distance or the tram was just round the corner - we'd just plan meal venues before we go.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret196446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,840 - 2,846 of 3,264 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2010

Stayed here in Aug with my wife and 18 month old son. We arrived early (or earlier than check in stated) but were still able to be allocated a room (plus a free upgrade!!) and reception staff were efficient. The room was very comfortable (deluxe double) and had a liitle living room area with chairs, wooden floor and feature fire. The extra space proved useful for our sons travel cot. Overall, in terms of decorative and cleanliness standard, we had no issues. We dined in the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised....great food and service. Overall, a very good experience, to such an extent we forgot we were in "cheesetastic" Blackpool !! Look forward to returning again!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigMalky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

The hotel reception staff were unwelcoming, dismissive and had to be asked specific questions before providing basic information. I don't mind premier inn/travel lodge experiences but I do when I pay four star prices. Rooms were clean but again not a 4 star experience. The children liked the tellies near the bunk beds. The breakfast buffet was basic and the quality was average. One of children could not eat the croissants because they were all stale. Buffet staff could not keep up with the flow of customers so waits for cooked breakfasts were inevitable. Table waitressing was efficient though. Tip- save your money - don't stay here. If this is a quality Blackpool hotel then it doen't say much for Blackpool.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysterymum09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

if you were to ask my 7 & 8 year old sons for a review they would tell you that this hotel is paradise. for me, aged 36, it felt like a nicer than usual Travelodge. we had a clean room, which was equipped basically. the reception staff were perfunctory whilst the dining room staff were much friendlier. very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenshoes4dancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Booked this hotel to see the lights, unfortunately my partner had flu and stayed in for the one and only night we were in Blackpool.

The room had a huge bed, DVD player and a view of the pleasure beach which was fun watching the people go by on the roller coaster. Noise wise it was a little noisy in the day but quiet at night.

Plenty of free car parking

A good breakfast.

Blackpool itself was disappointing but Lytham St Annes was really nice.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee_N_Debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

What a great experience..I wasn't sure what to expect with many people laughing at us for choosing to add Blackpool to our road trip.
We arrived around 1.30pm and our rooms weren't ready so we were happy to leave the car and go for a walk down the promenade ..its a bit like stepping back in time with all of these tarot card readers and dodgy small garish hotels...I had really wanted to try a good english fish and chips...sadly the soggy horrible mess we got at Pedro's turned me off completely :(
On returning to the hotel we found we'd been up-graded to deluxe rooms on the top floor, our girls were overjoyed at the view of the roller coasters immediately in front of them...the room was beautiful, and internet was free...bathrooms spacious!
Sadly we stayed just one night...Breakfast was great, lots of choices.......
I'm sure this is the best place to stay in Blackpool if you are looking for a great family hotel...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Hadnt been to Blackpool for years and had never stopped over before as we only managed day trips so we thought we'd treat ourselves to a night out and decided to stay at the Big Blue. From the time we arrived the staff were courteous, polite, attentive, even the cleaners were friendly. The room was a deluxe, upgraded free and spotless, much more than we had anticipated, even though the windows looked straight out onto the pleasure beach, with the pepsi max racing down outside the window, it was very well soundproofed. The evening meal was fantastic, service second to none. We took a bottle of wine back to the room and we asked for a bucket of ice which they provided with no problem. The only fault we could find was sound-proofing between the floors. We were disturbed in the early hours of the morning by the inconsiderate crowd directly above us who came in crashing and banging around, each footstep could be clearly heard. On my next visit I would definately request a top floor room to avoid this. My overall review would be that I would return to this hotel when i am visitng Blackpool again and have already recommended it to my friends and colleagues. Oh I forgot to mention the wonderful breakfast, with its extensive selection.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suziew67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,301 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £69 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing