We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic - Even better if you're short!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Even better if you're short!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2007

This really is a lovely hotel with just a few problems - we had a wonderful stay.
We arrived at 2pm and asked if we could check in and were told that we could as our room was ready. I asked about the roller coaster record attempt and was told that the American would definately finish the next day. The reception staff were all so friendly and very down to earth; if you expect to be treated like royalty you may be disappointed and write a critcal review on here!
Our room was great - just like the photos and how others have described but our 11 year old son (not the tallest in his class by any means) could not lie in the bed. The hotel advertises the bunk beds for up to 12 year olds and I imagine that a lot of 10-12 year olds would be cramped. However we made the most of it and I asked at reception for extra pillows which I folded over the bar at the bottom of the bed to make it more comfortable - he was fine with this. The kids loved having a tele each but still occasionally argued as they could hear each other's tele - kids will always argue no matter how hard the hotel tries!
Our bed was 2 3' singles pushed together with an enormous duvet. It was however short, i am 5' 6'' and I woke up with my feet hanging off the bottom.
The bathroom was lovely and there was plenty of storage and shelf space in the room but no drawers or cupboards so the maids could see all your clothes etc.
We went to bed at around 11.30pm on our first night, all watching our own tvs. We were expecting to hear the roller coaster rush past - but it was quiet. We decided that he must have decided to come off a day early and settled down to sleep. Within a minute - WHOOSH - it was so loud and ran past our window every 2 minutes. We watched out of the window for a while and then tried to sleep. My husband and kids had no problem.
I was very relieved that he finished the attempt and we didn't have to hear it again.
The breakfast at the hotel is plentiful and although we did have to wait the head waiter/ front of house staff had a knack of joking about the wait which we found ok although some people looked really fed up. On the morning we arrived before 9.15am we did not have to wait.
If you get wristbands for the fair you will also get dicount vouchers for a variety of places including Coasters American Diner. We ate here and my son had some chicken. He said that it was fatty so we had a look and it was completely raw inside. We were so shocked and complained obviously. My son went to the toilets to make himself sick so he wouldn't get food poisoning and luckily he was ok. We told the staff that they would be visited by Public Health if he was ill. This is revolting so stop reading if you are squeamish ......... we went into the toilet 2 days later and the signs that my son had been ill were still there!
The hotel is great though and we would definately visit again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Short beds
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,777
    822
    209
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,294
872
34
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2007

Big Blue is a nice modern (some say boutique) hotel right outside Blackpool pleasure beach. It's owned by the same company.

We took the inlaws (both sets) and booked two executive double and a standard twin. Got a good rate through an indepedent website for three nights (Fri. Sat, sun) Better than most of blackpools more traditional (read dated) hotels.

Rooms were great. All very nicely decorated. Worth spending the extra tenner or so for the executive rooms as you get a bigger room with a little sitting area. All our rooms had side sea view which were nice. There was no noise as the windows are all double glazed. Usual hotel noise of people stomping around but nothing out of the ordinary. Stag and hen nights didn't bother us too much. Kids rooms which we saw when walking past looked great for families.

Bathroom toiletries were nice. But we had a trouble with a damp smell in two of the bathrooms. The extractor didn't work in either room. So the bathrooms all smelt musty. I mentioned it to reception but it looks as if it's a common fault which hasn;t been rectified.

Service was a mixed bag. We checked in with the duty manager and he didn't seem too bothered about telling us anything meanwhile he other receptionist on duty (an Australian) checking someone else in was giving a good professional service. We used her later. As we asked direction to a Blackpool chinese restaurant and the duty manager did not know. He said he's not actually from Blackpool (he lived in a nearby town) so didn't know. but the Australian receptionist was able to point us in the right direction.

Restaurant was nice. We ate breakfast every day and it was buffet style. Fairly well organised even on a busy weekend. Although they had someone frying eggs at the buffet and this held things up sometimes. Would have been easier to do them in the kitchen. I'm sure most people wouldn't mind.

We also ate dinner there once and it was a great meal with excellent service. Would recommend if you dont fancy the delights in the town centre.

Pub next door was empty on Saturday night. Best to go into town for the nightlife.

Location was good. Free parking.It's a bit of trek into town for the oldies so get cab or take the tram. 20 minute brisk walk I would say.

Location was good. Free parking. Short walk into town or a tram ride. And if you are going for the pleasure beach then you are right there.

For a Blackpool hotel this is a good hotel and my first choice above any else.

  • Liked — Modern rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Slackbladder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2007

I stayed at this hotel last weekend as wow its lovely, I went with my girlfriend, and we both loved the place.

The hotel backs onto the pleasure beach which is good as it is away from all the annoying stag and hen weekends.

The staff are lovely and very helpful indeed and will do anything to help make you stay more welcome "but then for the price you pay you would expect that” when we got to our room we had 2 single bed and not a double so I went to reception and this was fixed instantly with no fuss and an apology, for the problem.

We stayed in a standard double room which was very big extremely clean and lovely decorated.

The hotel restraunt I can’t say much as the night we stayed we eat out as the hotel food is expensive, however we asked reception for any nice restraunts and they pointed us to a lovely Italian in town which we had a taxi to. The Italian was to die for the best food ide had from an Italian, better then the food I eat in Rome. It was a proper authentic restraunt owned by an Italian guy and run by him and his family Inc the chefs, the food menu is massive and caters for everyone.

The hotel breakfast is great there is so much selection to choose from we eat in the morning and didn’t eat anything else until the evening.

When we arrived at the hotel we could not check in until 3pm however they as we was there at 9am the hotel let us park in there car park all day which was great, also we was advised that while we are staying there is a guy on the roller costar all day and night which may cause a little noise and I know a few guests did complain about this but to be fair what can the hotel do, it was a one off and he has finished now. It never bothered us as unless you slept with the window open you would have never heard it.

Any recent bad reviews about noise are due to this only.

I’ve been to blackpoll in the past many time and I must say that, this is the best hotel up there, as it’s clean, unlike a lot of hotels and they do not allow stag or hen parties. Also it is out the main stretch for the stag and hen nights that get drunk and do pubs and clubs.

The hotel even has DVD renting system and play station 2 renting system.

All in all this is a great hotel. defornatlet 5* from me. The staff are very polite, when you start to chat to them we made friends with a lady on reception that was very helpful, they do at first seem standoffish but if you chat to them there lovely people but I must say they work long and hard hours.

At night it is so lovely and quiet by the hotel it is great. We loved it that much that I am going back up in mid September for another weekend to see the lights

I hope this helps.

  • Liked — expedia
  • Disliked — the late check in
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MrJRKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2007

We have just returned from a one night stay at The Big Blue hotel. Having two young children we wanted to stay somewhere that was close to the pleasure beach, you can't get much nearer than this hotel! The "Big One" flies past your window, if you stay at the rear, however, it is not that noisy. The staff were friendly, rooms very clean and the children loved the bunk beds and the double TV's in their room.
Breakfast next day was superb with lots of choice for everyone, the only downside are the long queues if you leave it too late, breakfast starts at 7.30 until 10am, as we were leaving the restaurant about 9.15 there were lots of people waited to be seated so it would be wise to get up that little bit early.
Checking out took at little while as there was only one receptionist on duty, however as soon as more arrived we were delt with quickly.
One thing to be aware of, if you have purchsed pleasure beach tickets through the hotel site, check where you pick them up from. We ended up waiting in along queue at the pleasure beach, only to be told that we needed to get them from the hotel after all.
I would be more than happy to stay again, and the children can't wait to go back too!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Fyshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

We booked two nights stay through the pleasure beach website for £198 and this included 2 all day wristbands for the Pleasure Beach and breakfast.

Reception was quite busy on arrival, but we were checked in quickly and went up to what must be one of the nicest rooms we've ever stayed in. We were in standard double, and this had a large comfy bed, TV, DVD and seperate seating area with big suede chairs and foot rests. There was a modern fire place and the bathroom was luxurious. The room was spotless and really well presented.

On our first night, we ordered room service, and as the room was so nice, stayed in. The food arrived quickly and was absolutely gorgeous. The prices were good value considering the quality. We had to pay for the food on arrival, but only because we hadn't had our debit card 'swiped' on arrival, otherwise we would have been able to pay on check out.

The tray with empty plates was placed outside the room, and collected quickly - it wasn't left there for days.

On our first morning, we went down for breakfast around 10am. It was very busy in the restaurant with families having to be wait listed for a table. However, they found us a table for two straight away. The breakfast was buffet style, and we were able to pile up whatever we wanted. There were a range of drinks, fruit, yoghurts and muffins, all included in the price. The only downside was the fact that we felt a little rushed as it was so busy and the staff were obviously trying to turn the tables around quickly.

After a great day at the Pleasure Beach, we once again spent the rest of the evening in the room. Whilst we were out, the room had been spotlessly cleaned.

The next morning, we decided to take advantage of breakfast being delivered. There is a form to fill in, and you can select what you want and what time. This is then hung outside the room like a 'do not disturb' sign. The breakfast was really nice and worth the extra £3 service charge for delivery.

All in all, a great hotel in a great location. We've now booked a suite to go back for New Years Eve!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2007

If you have any intelligence, keep away from these creeps. The hotel is noisy at nights. YOU CAN NOT go to sleep!!. The hotel manager is rude and has no respect for the customers. Sleep on the street but dont go this most unfriendly place. The bed for kids are not big enough for kids. The food eaten in the rooms is not collected for days until it rots in the corridors. KEEP AWAY!!

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Getting there
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank GloucesterTraveleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Changanacherry, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2007

too pricey for the facilities it provide. small rooms, but probably looks brighter in the bleak blackpool landscape in winter.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank lintoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Blue Hotel

Property: The Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Lastminute and TravelUp so you can book your The Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing