We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dancing great”

The Blackpool Tower Ballroom
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ornately decorated dance hall and theater is known for its Mighty Wurlitzer organ, which is played for dancing, concerts and special events during certain times of the year.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dancing great”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed dancing on that wonderful floor if only the afternoon tea had been as good,luckily we were only there to dance.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tizzy2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,020
    682
    215
    81
    65
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea is not to be missed”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We booked afternoon tea through the Internet (you'll save a few quid if you do it that way) and came on a Sunday afternoon. What a delightful place. It was pretty busy but we managed to find a free table right next to the dance floor and enjoyed having our tea while watching all the couples strutting their stuff to the sounds of the Wurlitzer. Bear in mind that the queue for food can be quite long. Not exactly cheap at £12 a head for a ham and cheese roll, scone and pot of tea (some parties had three layers of food on their tea stands, we only got two - not sure why), but you're getting more than food, you're getting a lovely experience and I'll definitely go again if I come back to Blackpool. If you don't fancy an afternoon tea, you can watch the dancing for free from the upstairs gallery which gives a marvellous view. Bear in mind that they stop serving food around 3pm on a Sunday, we were lucky to get in when we did at around 2pm.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dance/Watch/Listen/Eat/Drink ... every way, it’s a magical place.”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have been here many times. On our latest visit, we estimated that there were about 300 people on and around the dance floor and up to 400 people at a time watching from the galleries above. Those down below had either just come to dance, or were visiting the ballroom as part of a multi-attraction ticket. Those upstairs were in the free entry area, and we were surprised at how long they stayed, how varied their ages were and how much they seemed to be enjoying themselves. The live music is great, and continuous, with the organists changing over at the top of each hour. As you would expect some of the ballroom and Latin-American dancers on the floor are as good as you’ll see anywhere, but there is space for all abilities here. A good sequence dance with lots of couples on the floor can be spectacular, and you can see some unusual dances, like the Gavotte. Some of the ladies’ dresses are fabulous, while others just come in their jeans. And of course there’s food and drink available as well. Whatever the reason, the special magic for which this place is famous clearly reaches out beyond the dance floor itself, and the presence of an appreciative audience really enhanced the atmosphere and experience for us. If you enjoyed it as much as we did, why not come down and join us next time?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank anthonyrobindavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stricly fabulous!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I visited Blackpool Tower a couple of weeks ago on a week long break with a friend which encompassed 2 days in Blackpool and 4 in the Lake District.
We spent a wonderful hour, watching the dancers (professional and amateur) and of course listening to the wonderful Wurlitzer organ.
We went off to take a tram ride along the prom, with the idea that we would spend another hour or so in the ballroom. Sadly, on our return, we were told that a children's ballet was taking place in the ballroom. It's such a shame that Blackpool Tower management don't display this info in advance..
However..what a treat to see this wonderful place on Strictly Come Dancing this weekend...it brought all the grandeur back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield. England
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We visited the Ballroom as part of our package on Saturday morning. It was so lovely - I haven't been here since I was a child! The ornate decor is outstanding and the atmosphere was amazing with lots of people up dancing!
Lovely chilled atmosphere, I would stay longer next time and have a cream tea. A must to visit when in Blackpool.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank conrad169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blackpool Tower Ballroom also viewed

 

Been to The Blackpool Tower Ballroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing