We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldnt recommend”
Review of Canasta Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canasta Hotel
Ranked #287 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wouldnt recommend”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

bog standard Blackpool B&B- not awful, but not particularly great. Location good, breakfast average (service slow). Pay extra for a seaview room as the view from the back rooms is very grim. Unfriendly staff was my main gripe-as was the parking situation. Impractical and annoying. Would not return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CardiffNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
I'm puzzled what you found "impractical and annoying". If you were referring to the car parking we have spaces for 18 vehicles - far more than many in the Victorian town of Blackpool.
I'm sorry you didnt find us very friendly. Perhaps there were reasons for that. We do treat folk as we find them.
From the tone of your review I'm kind of pleased you wont be coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    78
    17
    17
    15
See reviews for
89
133
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

stayed at the Canasta hotel recently for a special occasion, would not go again, beds not comfy, did not like the "non friendly" approach, hard working girls though i must say.

would not recommend to a friend!!

Room Tip: just dont book into any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine474780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Oh dear. I'm sorry you didnt enjoy your stay but I am a little puzzled by your comments. Our matresses get changed every two years and we regularly get good comments about them. We dont buy the cheap rubbish many others do. If EVER we get a comment about a bed being uncomfortable we generally replace it straight away - I cant honestly remember the last time we did have a complaint about that. and am puzzled why you didnt let me know when you were here? If you were staying more than one night I would definitetly have sorted it for subsequent nights (or at least for the next guest). Perhaps you'd like to go the extra mile and email me about which room you stayed in.

As for the "non friendly approach" well i dont know what to say really. I must be honest and say I can't remember you. I do all the check-ins as I like to know who is staying in my house (yes we live on the premises). I always greet with a smile and chat and try and get guests to sit down and have a cuppa before giving the key etc.

Thanks for mentioning the one good point - we are quite proud of our staff.

We obviously got it wrong in your case and I am genuinely sorry about that.

Have a great trip next time you come to Blackpool - even if its not with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just returned from another great weekend at the canasta,there was 12 in our party ranging from 6 to 58 years and as usual Doug,mandy and all the staff made us welcome and the haloween party was great, the food was fantastic as usual and the hotel itself was very clean as is normal for the canasta,this was our 3rd visit and we cant wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: no complaints about any of the rooms we have stayed in on our 3 visits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris8270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thanks very much Chris and the gang for your repeat custom. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumnock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This was our first time at the Canasta. What can i say? Greeted with a smile and a coffee. All of the staff were excellent,cheery and nothing was too much trouble for them. Rooms were lovely and clean. Breakfast?.....well i certainly couldn,t complain. Struggled to finish it. It was superb. No problem getting parked. The only let down was the usual British weather. A massive 10 out of 10 for the Canasta. Would recommend it no problem. Thank you very much for a relaxing time. This is the only hotel in Blackpool that i would go back to without hesitation. All the best from the Nicol family.

Room Tip: Don,t let this hotel pass you by. Superb!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thanks very much Iain for taking the time to pen the review. Much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

From the moment you arrive, you are greeted like an old friend, with a warm welcoming smile and a nice cuppa whilst you are checked in, then staff help park your car and carry your bags into the Hotel, the Hotel run a yellow & red card system to insure other guests do not spoil your stay at The Canasta Hotel, the staff are ALWAYS available to assist you and via a bell a reception dueing the night, through out our stay at the Canasta the staff was so helpful and always with a smile and a joke, even on the wettest days their up beat attitude brighten our day, really can't say enough about the Hotel and staff, you really need to stay to get the full picture of just how warm this hotel is.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pathfinderpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thanks for the review Pete - we're so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 519 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel season in Blackpool is long, starting from Easter and going through till the end of November. It is clear that Doug and his wife Mandy work a seven day week. How anyone can find the stamina to do that I have no idea.
On arrival we were offered to your coffee which makes a nice start. there are indeed 16 parking places but you have to leave your keys at reception as unless you are parked nearest to the street, other cars have to be moved to let you out. I felt more comfortable parking in the back streets behind where there are no restrictions.
It is convenient to have free Internet access at the bar so I could glance at my e-mail from time to time.
The rooms are not vast but adequate for a short stay.
I noticed that in general the food portions are good, but in this case the breakfast portions were particularly generous. My partner had different types of fish including haddock and found them very fresh.
With over 700 bed-and-breakfast establishments and hotels the competition is ferocious. I paid £125 for a Saturday and Sunday night stay for two of us which is around £31 per person per night. If you walk along the promenade you will notice signs offering rooms from £12 but I think frankly you get what you pay for.
There was no food served in the evening but there are masses of restaurants, and hotels serving foods so this is not a problem.
They have karaoke and quizzes when the demand is there.
I cannot speak for all the other hotels but I found this a pleasant enough introduction to this my first visit to Blackpool.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back can be a little noisy because they abbut on a main road but in general the noise d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian-Snellgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write the detailed review Brian. We're pleased you had a pleasant stay. I agree with all your points.

Yes - it's a long season but we always have lots of time off in the winter months to recharge :)

The rear facing rooms are compact but, as you mentioned, adequete for a short stay. As they overlook the rear of the hotel onto the main road at the back of the property then passing traffic noise may disturb especially if you leave the bedroom window open (it was one of the hottest weekends we have had). As mentioned though noise will diminish later at night.

Yes - we're quite proud of our breakfasts. The haddock is on form at the moment and is popular. We also offer kippers as well as the traditional 9 item English brekkie. We're glad you enjoyed them. For the knowledge of potential future guests we do not serve evening meals but do have menus for local takeways and lay a table for you providng crockery and cutlery (no charge). We do ask you do this before 10pm though. We also recommend 5 restaurants in town - you aint going to go hungry!

There are more hotel beds in Blackpool than the whole of Portugal so competition is stiff and we're pleased you found us to be good value.

Yes - Blackpool was designed with the horse and cart in mind - not the modern day equivalent so parking is tight. If our car park is full then guests can usually get parked nearby on a well lit main road - and its free. No problems have been reported to us in 10 years.

Having read your other reviews on Blackpool, especially the Tower Ballroom we're glad you had a great time. The ballroom is a magical place. We were lucky enough to see the Kings of Swing act there and it has such great acoustics for this type of music.

Thanks again.
Doug and Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Thank you for a lovely welcome when we were looking for a hotel for the weekend
got a friendly welcome when we walked through the door, room was excellent, clean tidy and big

Breakfast was superb - cannot fault you on anything

Will certainly be back again - telling everybody we know how great you all were

Big pats on the back for all the staff & yourselves

Karen & George - Aberdeen

Room Tip: Large room at the front of the hotel is great for the view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thanks very much Karen and George.
We appreciate you choosing us to stay with and taking the time to make the review.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
1,516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#9 of 69 in Blackpool
1,211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 69 in Blackpool
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 69 in Blackpool
815 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockcliffe Hotel
Rockcliffe Hotel
#196 of 858 in Blackpool
221 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Mardonia
The Mardonia
#128 of 858 in Blackpool
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canasta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canasta Hotel

Property: Canasta Hotel
Address: 288-290 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canasta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 en suite bedrooms (10 with sea views) located on the seafront within 10 minutes walk from the Blackpool Tower. Family run hotel - very friendly and meticulously clean. No stag or hen parties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing