We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday”
Review of Canasta Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canasta Hotel
Ranked #291 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
North Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

Just got home after our holiday in Blackpool at Canasata we had 3 rooms 1 family, 1 double and our room the best room, all with a sea view. Pay a little extra and have a bit of luxury on your stay away it is worth it lovely views from all our rooms. Very clean and comfortable stay. We all enjoyed our stay here the location is great, breakfast was really good and plenty to eat, my grandson loved the pancakes for breakfast a real treat just so long as he doesn't expect them from his mum when they get home to Ireland! We all enjoyed a nightcap in the friendly Bar ..... a glass or two of wine for me and Guiness for Dil and the whiskey was good too - thanks Doug for the large ones at the sme price!!!
Parking on site was a bonus, we left our car in the car park for the 3 days so didn't have to worry about that either.
. Overall a very good time had by all the family and I would highly recommend the Canasta thanks from me and the family. Linda.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaanddil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thanks very much for the glowing review Linda and Dil. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll let the team know we're continuing in the right direction. Hope to see you again next time you come to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    78
    17
    17
    15
See reviews for
89
133
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Canasta Hotel. Right from the start we were made to feel welcome.
We were greeted on arrival and asked if we would like tea or coffee, we were served immediately and given the keys to our room. The room itself was fine with a sea view and all you could expect, bed was comfy and there were plenty of towels.
We went out for our evening meal as the Canasta does not provide this, and returned to sing on the karaoke,we found our hosts Dougie and Mandy to be really friendly and great fun, everyone had a fabulous night.
Next morning we were amazed at the choice at breakfast, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and everything was really well cooked and served with a smile. We had a good day out and returned once again to the friendly bar and more songs!!
We would not hesitate to return to the Canasta and will be doing so later this year. Bring it on!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thanks David for taking the time to make the review. It was lovely to meet you - and listen to your dulcet tones!! :)
I see you have re-booked for our end of season party....don't forget the fancy dress on the Saturday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Spent a weekend break with the family at the Canasta.

Good location with a tram stop right outside, and parking available.

Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Bar area was also clean and well kept. Free Wifi also available.

Breakfast was good, plenty of choice.

It would have been a nice touch to be greated with a welcome to Canasta on arrival, a good morning at reception/bar area at breakfast and shown to a breakfast table, and mabey a thank you, we hope you enjoyed your stay on depature.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhodrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thanks for the review Rhodrigo.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
As regards the welcome...we ALWAYS sit guests down and ask if they would like a cuppa. Did we miss this with you? Sorry about that if we did.
Anyway - hope to see you again when you return to Blackpool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

just returned from a 4 night stay at the canasta.arrived there &straight away was offered cup of tea for the adults & cordial for the grandson. room was ready so able to check in early. a comfortable room for the 3 of us with good beds . up next morning to what must be the best breakfast in blackpool. was advised how to get cheap tram/bus tickets which worked out better than parking car up at pleasure beach & clevellys. the staff are all very polite & nothing too much trouble. would definately recommend this hotel to anyone. thankyou to everyone . hope to see you again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Hey Up Barrie.
Thanks for the glowing review and your continued custom.
The pleasure is ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Bute
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Arrived at the hotel on Friday afternoon, offered tea and gentleman took my case up to the room. Lovely start to my holiday. Room small but clean and comfortable. Out for the evening and returned for the Karaoke. and friendly bar staff. Enjoyable night. Breakfast lovely and the best we have had in a while. The waiting staff friendly and helpful..A collection of newspapers to read in the lounge and offered free tea and coffee. My wee fella got free juice. Lovely touch. Trams stop outside the hotel, but you might want to walk after the lovely ample breakfast. We stayed for three nights.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview, we didnt but wish we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janmax99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thanks for the review Janmax.
I agree the rear facing double rooms are small...we list them as "cosy" on the website.
There is room to move round both sides though. We do reflect this in the prices we charge and I note that you found the value to be good.
The sea view doubles are larger.

Thanks for this honest review and we hope you'll consider us next time you come to Blackpool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Travelled with a mate on a get away from the wives weekend on 4th and 5th of August, easy to find, managed to park approx 100 yards from hotel. Upon arrival were greeted by owner who organised a hot drink for us which was great. My mate had just worked a 12 hour night shift and was allowed access to room at 945 which again was great. Room was nice, bed comfortable and clean. Next morning breakfast was, in my opinion the best I've ever had in Blackpool. My opinion of the hotel is very, very good, no rowdyness and freindly staff and thankfully other guests, there was even a collection of free newspapers to read.
Only one complaint was that horrendous thunderstorm we had at night which had me up for an hour. Would like to say thanks to all the staff at the Canasta for a hugely enjoyable 2 night stay

Room Tip: Quiet area for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thanks Beedar for taking the time to leave the review. We're so pleased you enjoyed it.
Sorry you didnt get parked with us but am pleased you mentioned there is street parking nearby. Yep...if the rooms are ready when you arrive there's no need for you to wait. In your case the room wasnt occupied on the previous night so you got the keys early. (Note to future guests normal check in is at 2:30pm)
You were joking about the thunderstorm wern't you? I mean..what do I do about that? LOL
We're really pleased you had a great stay and wil look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at the Canasta and it will not be the last one. Nice friendly hotel away from the crowds on the sea front. What a nice welcome at check in to be asked if you wanted a tea or coffee, which is always available free of charge. Might not sound like much of a perk to some but it is a lovely touch especially when you have returned from a long walk along the prom. Room (15) was clean and comfortable complete with 4 poster bed. The breakfast was amazing and if you wanted you could have more, not that I needed any more. Good choice as well Full English or you could have Haddock with poached eggs, kippers or if you fancied the lot. Friday evening was karaoke and the owners even joined in to encourage the guests. Drinks in the bar are also reasonable which is always an added bonus. Tram stop if almost outside the hotel too which on the 2nd night was a welcome sight after so much walking for the two days. Thanks for a great stay would recommend this hotel and look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kraftykisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thanks kraftykisses for the glowing review. Its nice to know we're getting things right - I'll tell all the staff and give them a pat on the back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
1,497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
1,007 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#9 of 70 in Blackpool
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockcliffe Hotel
Rockcliffe Hotel
#210 of 856 in Blackpool
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#212 of 856 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canasta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canasta Hotel

Property: Canasta Hotel
Address: 288-290 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canasta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 en suite bedrooms (10 with sea views) located on the seafront within 10 minutes walk from the Blackpool Tower. Family run hotel - very friendly and meticulously clean. No stag or hen parties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing