We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canasta Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Blackpool
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park House Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Claremont Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Parisienne Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The Strand Lodge(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Viagra(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
202
81
18
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
81
18
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree tea and coffeeon arrivaltram stopset you up for the dayfull englishsea viewnext yearfantastic weekendnothing is too much troublefriendly atmospheremy partnertoastkeep up the good workhome from homeweekend breaksea frontfamily room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I recently spent 3 nights in a sea view room at the Canasta Hotel and was very pleased with all aspects of my visit. Upon arrival, while my bags were brought upstairs, I sat in the sun lounge and enjoyed a cup of tea. My room and the en-suite were small, but,based upon their descriptions on the website,I expected them to be. They were, however, extremely clean and pleasantly decorated. Everything in the room (TV, WIFI, tea kettle) worked well; there was plenty of hot water for showering. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent; in addition to the traditional English cooked breakfast, guests could choose pancakes, smoked haddock, or kippers. All members of the staff that I encountered were pleasant and helpful. I definitely enjoyed my stay and would recommend the Canasta Hotel to others who are planning to be in the Blackpool area.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms cost more, but are well worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripmomLedgewood_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Thanks very much TripMomLedgewood New Joysey :)

Thanks for taking the time to give us such a great review - it means a lot especially from such a seasoned traveller such as yourself.

I hope you have a great stay in the UK in general and would love to meet you again should you return.

Ahem...about taking bags to room - folks please see my previous comment on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Hi Just back from a great weekend with my friend at the Canasta. We were met on arrival with bags taken to our rooms - offered tea and coffee immediately - Had sea view room was lovely and clean loved the wee tv - didn't watch it much though - The rooms were very clean with comfortable beds and pillows. The staff and owners very friendly as were the rest of the residents - had a lovely night at the karaoke - drink really cheap - my friend and I don't sing but it was great to listen to everyone else - Would certainly recommend this hotel - the breakfasts are wonderful and set you up for the day and long journey home to Glasgow - thanks again for a lovely weekend - will definately be back. Caroline & Mary from Glasgow

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Thanks very much Caroline and Mary. I'm so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We appreciate your business and would love to see you again.

OK....this extra note is for all the folk who mentions that we take your bags to your rooms.
Prospective guests.....we dont guarantee this. Please dont get grumpy if we don't do it. My back is playing up ....and well...I'll hold my hands up here...sometimes I dont fell like lugging your BIG CASES up to your rooms...especially if you arrive after 5pm. Dan, my excellent number one, "Mini-Me", all round good egg, works until 5pm. If you arrive before 5pm we'll **usually** take your bag to the room.....if its after 5pm....its doubtful. :) :)

I felt like making this note as, to be honest, so many folk are mentioning that we do it, we're now startung to get gripes from folk when we DON'T do it. So...just so you get the picture. Its not something you should ....expect. :)

I hope this hasnt come across all "Basil Fawlty".....I just thought it worth mentioning is all.
Now I'm just wittering...

PS Oh....of course if you are struggling all you have to do is ask. If it's after 5pm I'll smile and say "of course" and run your bag up for you with VERY clenched teeth.

And...if we took your bag to your room.....keep it quiet....everybody will want it. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Arrived on 4th September for 3 nights. Parked up, got through the door and offered tea and coffee straight away which was a welcome sight after a 110 mile drive. Room clean and well stocked with tea/coffee and biscuits. We stayed in a rear facing room which was fine as we don't spend a lot of time in the room. Only slight criticism would be the seal had gone on the window giving an obscured view. Bathroom good and nice selection of shampoos/shower gels which was good as forgot my shampoo!. Now the breakfast is divine!. Choice of smoked kippers/haddock which was beautifully cooked. Pancakes were lovely, and a wide choice of cereals,orange juice and as much tea and coffee as you could drink. Full English breakfast was of a very high quality with thick rashers of bacon and very nice lincolnshire sausages. Choice of papers to read in the sun lounge and as much free tea and coffee as you can drink!. Location has got to be the best in Blackpool 15 mins walk to the tower keeps you away from the drunks at weekends, tram stop opposite and a 2 min walk to beach. Took the owners dogs for a walk 1 morning down the beach and had a great time throwing the ball in the sea for them! (Mr Bojangles and Bomber) very well behaved dogs and my 16 month old daughter loved them. Would definately reccommend and will hopefully be back next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Thanks very much for your kind review.
Not sure what room you were in - probably 17 - yes the double glazing had failed on that and we have since had it replaced. Marvellous sea views are now fully restored.
Hope to see you again next time in Blackpool

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Arrived on 7th September for 2 nights. We had 3 rooms and did take 2 disabled guests and 4 children, the oldest is 6. Staff were very polite, helpful and at times patient with 4 over excited kids. The rooms were very clean, the food at breakfast was first class and the location is handy for the central attractions without being smack bang in the middle. This was the second visit for most of our party and I'm sure it won't be the last (if they'll have the kids back?!?)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Thanks very much for your business and kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I've been coming to Blackpool every year for over 15 years now and have stayed in the north, south and central,on the prom and in the back streets - I have to say canasta is the best Blackpool hotel I have stayed in - I decided to treat my son and husband to a short break at the canasta as its a sea front hotel and the prices were very reasonable - none of us were disappointed- on arrival we were offered complimentary tea and coffee and I couldnt believe it when our bags were taken to our room for us! Unheard of in the other hotels I've been in! The room was immaculate, clean, copius amounts of tea and coffee in the room and beautifully decorated - and the beds were divine! Even my 3 year old woke up after the first and told me what a lovely night sleep he'd had! I've slept in beds in Blackpool before which felt like sleeping on a bag of bricks in comparison and being a pregnant woman sleep and comfort are very important to me! The breakfast staff were highly.attentive and the breakfast was too die for! Good quality ingredients obviously, and delicious- again passing the 3 year old test!! This hotel is everything a hotel should be - I was interested in reading the reviews about the lack of entertainment - your never going to.please everyone and there are 200+ other hotels which offer singers and cabaret- canasta had music playing at a nice level in the evening and was perfect for us - location wise it was lovely being just that little bit out but the tram stop directly outside made everything easily accessible - I will definstely recommend the canasta to anyone and look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckywhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thanks very much Becky, and family, for taking the time to make the review.

We're so pleased you found everything so comfortable. Especially about the beds - we do spend a little more than a lot of our competitors on mattresses.

Nope...we can't please all the people all the time :)

Hope to see you next time you all come to Blackpool.

High Five to the nipper again, sorry, forgot his name..:(

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews