We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great stay”
Review of Canasta Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canasta Hotel
Ranked #234 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the canasta. Haven't been for a couple of years, but received a warm welcome. Tea or coffee offered straight away, this is free throughout your stay. Breakfast excellent, nothing was to much trouble. Doug took time to help us find a place we wanted to visit. Will definately be returning. Thank you to Doug, Mandy and your staff. Mandy your cakes are amazing.

Room Tip: Sea view room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thanks very much, Michelle. The pleasure is ours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel room was dirty and in need of modernisation. Breakfast was terrible the beans and eggs were cold both mornings and the breakfast staff had no clue what they were doing.

We've stayed in Blackpool on many occasions in cheaper & smaller b&b's with much better service. We won't be going back to this one!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Minimanmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

I'm sorry you felt the need to mark us down so poorly. Its hardly fair though is it? Hotel was dirty? I have 6 staff who are constantly cleaning it. I'd agree we do need to look at modernising rooms and will be looking at this over the coming months. Currently all rooms should be spotless and comfortable. Problem I have is that I havn't increased my tariff in 6 years. I need to so I can take care of refurbishments but there is so much competition I don't feel I can. Why would you accept cold beans and eggs? We are proud of our breakfasts and receive lots of compliments on it. You don't mention you have a choice of haddock or kippers, pancakes as well as the full English which is served piping hot. Cold both mornings? I find it very hard to believe. Staff don't know what they are doing? Most of them have been with us for 3 years or more. Anyway...if you DID stay with us then I'm sorry we didn't get it right for you. Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was our third stay at the Canasta and we once again had a brilliant time. It was my sons 30th birthday so altogether there were 13 of us, and everyone from the youngest (21 months) to the oldest (I can't possibly say!!) had a wonderful time.
All the staff are great, nothing is too much trouble, and of course Dougie and Swampy are simply the best, we will be back next year without fail.
Cheers everyone,

Dave and Linda

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Aww thanks Davey Boy and Linda :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just returned after a weekend staying at the Canasta Hotel in Blackpool. From first checking in to leaving the service was first class. Very friendly staff, very attentive to all guests. Free tea & coffee offered on arriving and throughout the stay, cant beat that really. By far the best breakfast we have had in a UK hotel, served with a smile. Karaoke on Saturday evening if that takes your fancy.Special mention to Doreen who was always on hand to serve drinks or have a friendly chat and a laugh. Rooms clean with a small TV if you want to catch up on the news or whatever. Hot water a plenty and clean white towels, which on our arrival had a touch of Egypt as they were on the bed in a swan shape, nice touch. Free parking albeit with limited spaces, although we never had a problem. I can see why people return on a regular basis and think we may be added to that list. Location about 20 mins walk to tower so away from the noise. Thank you to all the staff who helped make our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms available but they seem to get snapped up quickly. We did not have one but for the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyrical53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thanks very much Lyrical for your custom. Hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Julie and I stayed at the Canasta this weekend for our first wedding Anniversary. We have been going to the Canasta for a number of years of which we enjoy very much. The team always makes us welcome as they do with all their customers. A big thank you to Dougie and Mandy for the surprise Anniversary cake and to Karla, Daniel and Doreen for being great hosts see you all again soon.

Room Tip: Treat youself and stay in room 6 Honeymoon Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thanks David. Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Just spent the weekend at this Fabulous, fun and friendly little hotel. I can't think of anything negative. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Blackpool and we will defo be back again :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyL0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thanks Shelley Louise. Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed at the Canasta for a long weekend with family members. Parking, as described is at a premium, but is more than adequate. Staff were really friendly, especially Doreen who was a laugh a minute. Breakfast was fantastic, well cooked, well presented and will satisfy the largest of appetites. The karaoke night was so much fun, even though there weren't that many guests staying that weekend, my family had a great night.
The room we had was clean and comfortable, although turning the shower on and off did require some strength, overall, the room we had could use a redec. A nice friendly hotel which I would use again,

Room Tip: Seaview room on the top floor, nice wide windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thanks Ian for your honest review. Yes - we plan on refurbing as many rooms as we can this winter. Some have been done - with so many it an ongoing process. I'm pleased we're getting it right for you and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#53 of 73 in Blackpool
184 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stuart Hotel
Stuart Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
531 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
795 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canasta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canasta Hotel

Address: 288-290 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £38 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canasta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 en suite bedrooms (10 with sea views) located on the seafront within 10 minutes walk from the Blackpool Tower. Family run hotel - very friendly and meticulously clean. No stag or hen parties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing