We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Relaxing Time”
Review of Canasta Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canasta Hotel
Ranked #266 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Relaxing Time”
Reviewed 28 August 2010

The waitresses very friendly, polite & obliging.
The room were ideally for our purpose.
The location was good, the bus & tram stops are outside the hotel or if you feels like walking, it only 15 minutes to the North Pier.
The highlight of these few days were the choice of breakfasts & the free tea & coffee. We cannot find any fault in your hotel during our stay. The lift is a Godsend as I have a heart problem and cannot use the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniels54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2010
Thanks very much for the glowing review Daniels54. I'll let the girls know they're doing just fine!! Hope to see you next time you visit Blackpool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    79
    17
    17
    16
See reviews for
90
141
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stayed here for the 2nd year in a row, and once again excellent, nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff, and everyone one of the staff is friendly and tea or coffee is offered the minute you walk through the door (free by the way). The young waitressess at breakfast are very attentive and the breakfast is lovely, tasty and not made with cheap ingredients. If you want a four star luxury hotel then you will have to pay the price, however, if you want an excellent, clean, comfortable B and B then look no futher. It is a short walk to the town or a tram ride, but far enough away so you don't hear the noise of the clubbers etc at night.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightowl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2010
Thanks NightOwl for the excellent review. I'll let the girls know they're doing a great job. Yes...I love our sausages (a bit too much...need to cut down!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Excellent service throughout the stay, friendly staff always on hand to help. Good clean rooms with sea views. Fantastic breakfast, plenty to eat and something for everyone. Good location, tram stop right outside and only a short walk to the center of Blackpool. Had a good time and would reccomend the Canasta Hotel to anyone. Will call again in future. 5 Stars!
Many thanks to Doug and Swampy and all the staff. Cheers Ray and family and baby Osian.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymondo_gwelfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2010
Thanks Raymondo!!! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Good points - Free car parking, tea or coffee when you walk in the door, nice/helpful people, good breakfast, comfy bed, lots of tea/coffee/sugar/biscuits in the room, great shower.

Bad points - Had an internal room which looked straight onto another bedroom window. Bedroom was quite small as was the bathroom; walls are VERY thin - you can hear EVERYTHING that goes on next door. Mould on the bedroom walls and one of the rooms smelt extremely damp.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emerald37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2010
Hi Emerald37

Naturally we were horrified to read this as cleanliness is high on my list of priorities. BUT...I have to hold my hands up and say ..yes..there was mould on the coving in one of the rooms. We've identified a problem from outside and have fixed that so no more damp will be getting through. I agree it's not good enough. Room get cleaned by staff, housekeper checks them and we do a last minute check when we take your cases to the room. So if all goes to plan the rooms are checked 3 times before you get any keys...and STILL this was missed. I can only apologise about that. If you had pointed it out to us when you were here we would have sorted it within an hour.

We don't hide the fact that the bedrooms on the rear facing rooms and toilet/shower en-suites are compact. This is the first complaint we have had about the walls being too thin in the 10 years we have run the Canasta. They have standard studded walls with two sheets of plaster board between them (building regulations). They are all double rooms for couples. Occasionally, I guess, some more amorous couples can get carried away. I'm sorry you were disturbed. All the double rooms at the rear have net curtains as the view is quite boring...I can't do much about that apart from state that the prices for the rear rooms are cheaper than the sea views.

Thanks for listing the good points as well and I am genuinely sorry you had a bad experience with us. Have a great trip next time you come to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

our stay was only for 1 night and that was the only fault it should have been more ,The room was great the staff helpful and polite and as for the food wow superb

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grotty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2010
Thanks "Grotty" for taking the time to make the review. We hope to see you next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Checked Trip Advisor first and all the comments seemed good.
It was OK...best bit was the breakfast..nothing short of excellent and the staff were friendly and extremely efficient.
Don't book here unless you want to be quite secluded..good 10 minutes to any amenities or bars/cafes(decent ones any way - at late 40's in age i don't do loud music anymore)
Cleanliness of public areas was very good but bedrooms although surface clean were quite shabby. Furniture looked like revamped second hand and shower cubicle could have done with a good bleaching. The bed had also seen better days.
Alright i suppose for a couple of days in Blackpool but I wouldn't rush back...saw many better located B&B's and popped in to get an impression which was initially good...£18 cheaper per night too.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyGoLucky1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2010
Thanks for the feedback HappyGoLucky. I'm obviously very concerned that you found the shower needed bleaching. We take cleanliness very seriously and check rooms twice before we pass keys on to the guests.
I have to disagree about a few points. I think we're in the best location in town. Near enough to walk to town but far enough away not to be bothered by stag and hen parties. All matresses get changed every two years. They are currently 7 months old. We turn them regularly also. I'm puzzled why you said the bed had seen better days but rated us 4 out of 5 for sleep quality? You stayed midweek in one of our standard doubles. We charged 84gbp - thats 21gbp per person per night so I'm flabbergasted that you thought we were expensive.
I'm pleased that you enjoyed our breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port talbot
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2010

excellent hotel for those with young children, close enough to the attractions but far enough away from the bustling nightlife( stag & hens not allowed) , the staff are superb and the breakfasts excellent,the accomadation was the best we've stayed in blackpool . will definately use the canasta next time we go to blackpool and would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gizmo2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Thanks, Gizmo2805 for taking the time to rate us and a BIG THANKS for such a wonderful review. Yes - we are child friendly. I'll let the staff know they are doing a fine job. Hope to see you all next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#9 of 73 in Blackpool
1,237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
1,504 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canasta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canasta Hotel

Property: Canasta Hotel
Address: 288-290 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canasta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 en suite bedrooms (10 with sea views) located on the seafront within 10 minutes walk from the Blackpool Tower. Family run hotel - very friendly and meticulously clean. No stag or hen parties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing