We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont be back”
Review of Canasta Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canasta Hotel
Ranked #301 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Forest of Dean
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wont be back”
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in the Canasta. Room very small and tired. The breakfast was very good and dining room staff were very friendly which is more than can be said for the reception. On our first night stay the fire alarm was activated at 06:45, we made our way to the assembly point with what seemed like 30% of the guests. There was no roll call to see if anyone was left in the building, when we asked the 'owner' what had happened he stated it was not a test but no explanation for the alarm was given. When we checked out the key was taken from us but there was no 'Cheerio, thanks for staying with us etc' not very good Customer Service and with the choice there is in Blackpool surely the Customer should come 1st!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Forest_Travller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
I'm sorry you were disappointed with the room. They were decorated last year, had new Egyptian cotton bedding earlier this year and I think you stayed the day after we installed new TV's with freeview installed in all rooms. We advertise the rear facing double rooms as compact. We also price these accordingly at 21gbp per person per night. We do have larger rooms.
Yes - the fire alarm went off at 6:45 in the morning - somebody decided to light a cigarette in their room. I'm sorry you didn't get a full explanation of why the alarm went off at that time but I'm not very chirpy at that time in the morning and felt my responsibilities lay in making sure the guests were not at risk. When we established that it was a smoke detector that went off and there was no fire I invited those guests who did leave the building to come back in. I decided a roll call wasn't required as there was no risk to anybody.
I can't believe that you were not thanked for your custom ...all our reception staff are courteous and polite and more often than not we ask departing guests if they want a cuppa before they go. I just cannot believe that you handed your key in and nothing was said.
Anyway...I'm genuinely sorry you were disappointed. Have a great trip next time you come to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    78
    17
    17
    15
See reviews for
89
133
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Have just returned from 4 days stay in the Canasta Hotel. Upon arrival to the hotel, staff could not have been more polite and helpful, going out of their way to help with any enquiry, Website advises that the room may not be ready until 14.30, however we arrived at 10.30 and were given our key straight away. Complimentary tea/coffee was offered throughout our stay. We found the room to be more than adequate, with all the usual amenities, tv, welcome tray etc, as well as a four poster bed and a trouser press. Location of the hotel is close enough to walk to the attractions, but far enough away so you can get a decent nights sleep. Breakfast was fantastic, not just the usual cheap n chearful full english, but kippers, mackrell, fruit, cerial, as well as a massive full english made with quality ingredients. Not bad at all for £21 per person a night. We will be staying here again next time we go to Blackpool.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2010
Thanks for the glowing review Gareth and Gary. The pleasure was ours in looking after you. Hope to see you next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

The waitresses very friendly, polite & obliging.
The room were ideally for our purpose.
The location was good, the bus & tram stops are outside the hotel or if you feels like walking, it only 15 minutes to the North Pier.
The highlight of these few days were the choice of breakfasts & the free tea & coffee. We cannot find any fault in your hotel during our stay. The lift is a Godsend as I have a heart problem and cannot use the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniels54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2010
Thanks very much for the glowing review Daniels54. I'll let the girls know they're doing just fine!! Hope to see you next time you visit Blackpool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stayed here for the 2nd year in a row, and once again excellent, nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff, and everyone one of the staff is friendly and tea or coffee is offered the minute you walk through the door (free by the way). The young waitressess at breakfast are very attentive and the breakfast is lovely, tasty and not made with cheap ingredients. If you want a four star luxury hotel then you will have to pay the price, however, if you want an excellent, clean, comfortable B and B then look no futher. It is a short walk to the town or a tram ride, but far enough away so you don't hear the noise of the clubbers etc at night.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightowl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2010
Thanks NightOwl for the excellent review. I'll let the girls know they're doing a great job. Yes...I love our sausages (a bit too much...need to cut down!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Excellent service throughout the stay, friendly staff always on hand to help. Good clean rooms with sea views. Fantastic breakfast, plenty to eat and something for everyone. Good location, tram stop right outside and only a short walk to the center of Blackpool. Had a good time and would reccomend the Canasta Hotel to anyone. Will call again in future. 5 Stars!
Many thanks to Doug and Swampy and all the staff. Cheers Ray and family and baby Osian.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymondo_gwelfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2010
Thanks Raymondo!!! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Good points - Free car parking, tea or coffee when you walk in the door, nice/helpful people, good breakfast, comfy bed, lots of tea/coffee/sugar/biscuits in the room, great shower.

Bad points - Had an internal room which looked straight onto another bedroom window. Bedroom was quite small as was the bathroom; walls are VERY thin - you can hear EVERYTHING that goes on next door. Mould on the bedroom walls and one of the rooms smelt extremely damp.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emerald37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2010
Hi Emerald37

Naturally we were horrified to read this as cleanliness is high on my list of priorities. BUT...I have to hold my hands up and say ..yes..there was mould on the coving in one of the rooms. We've identified a problem from outside and have fixed that so no more damp will be getting through. I agree it's not good enough. Room get cleaned by staff, housekeper checks them and we do a last minute check when we take your cases to the room. So if all goes to plan the rooms are checked 3 times before you get any keys...and STILL this was missed. I can only apologise about that. If you had pointed it out to us when you were here we would have sorted it within an hour.

We don't hide the fact that the bedrooms on the rear facing rooms and toilet/shower en-suites are compact. This is the first complaint we have had about the walls being too thin in the 10 years we have run the Canasta. They have standard studded walls with two sheets of plaster board between them (building regulations). They are all double rooms for couples. Occasionally, I guess, some more amorous couples can get carried away. I'm sorry you were disturbed. All the double rooms at the rear have net curtains as the view is quite boring...I can't do much about that apart from state that the prices for the rear rooms are cheaper than the sea views.

Thanks for listing the good points as well and I am genuinely sorry you had a bad experience with us. Have a great trip next time you come to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

our stay was only for 1 night and that was the only fault it should have been more ,The room was great the staff helpful and polite and as for the food wow superb

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grotty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2010
Thanks "Grotty" for taking the time to make the review. We hope to see you next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
1,514 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#9 of 69 in Blackpool
1,211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#37 of 69 in Blackpool
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 69 in Blackpool
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockcliffe Hotel
Rockcliffe Hotel
#194 of 858 in Blackpool
221 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Mardonia
The Mardonia
#128 of 858 in Blackpool
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canasta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canasta Hotel

Property: Canasta Hotel
Address: 288-290 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canasta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 en suite bedrooms (10 with sea views) located on the seafront within 10 minutes walk from the Blackpool Tower. Family run hotel - very friendly and meticulously clean. No stag or hen parties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing