We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hosts and clean hotel”
Review of The Newlands Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Newlands Hotel
Ranked #363 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2012

phil and heather made me and my mother feel very welcome we stayed there in july was abit quiet bur suited us fine we each had aroom each the breakfast was second to none we told lots of people here how great the place was would stay here again the bedrooms where spotless and heather had fresh linen and tea and coffee out everyday nothing was to much bother for phil and heather p.s geraldine and her mum sarah thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: my room was to the back but they did have frontrooms but i loved my room being asmoker you where all...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Hi Geraldine / Sarah, thanks for taking the time to add a review, it is very much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have recommended us to friends and family. Hope to see you both again in the future. Take care, Phil & Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for The Newlands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed here this weekend and i would highly reccomend it, Heather and Phil were the perfect hosts, nice clean rooms,en siute and smoking rooms. excellent fresh cooked full english with unlimited coffee and toast, orange juice and cerials. will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xdeelightx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. We work very hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us and when we receive lovely comments it makes it all worth while for us. thank again & we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Phil & Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Just got back from my first trip to Blackpool, having stayed with Heather and Phil at their Newlands Hotel. Good food, the place was clean, comfortable and interesting, and everything catered for. Best of all, the hosts are really great; friendly, helpful and excellent company.
Went for a relaxing break, all went to plan until Phil got me blathered on the last evening.....

Dave and Pauline

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Hi Dave / Pauline, thanks for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If there's beer involved Phil always seems to get a mention somewhere ... funny that! We enjoyed your company immensly and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. All the best for 2012, Phil & Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed here last year and thoroughly enjoyed it. The owners were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. On a night we went into the bar area and had a chat with them. They even had toys for the little ones to play with. The reception was warm and remained that way throughout the stay. The rooms were clean and the food was lovely, couldn't fault either. Situated in an ideal location and brilliant for families. Would definitely stay here again and recommend. Would've stayed again this yr but tried months before we wanted to go and they were full...just shows how popular they are! Stayed Oct 2010

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_taylos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Hi Sarah, Thanks for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry that we couldn't get you in the last time, that's the downside of only having 8 rooms but the plus side means that we can do all the cleaning, cooking, etc. ourselves without employing staff, which ensures our high standards are maintained. Look forward to seeing you all again in the future, the little ones will love it now the promenade is about finished, it looks great! Thanks again, Phil & Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I booked by phone on the Friday & we arrived on following Monday,(26th) we were greeted with a most welcome cuppa. Phil & Heather both made my Sister & I very welcome.
Our room was a pretty twin bedded with ensuite - the shower was bigger than 'normal' - i appreciated that cos i am too lol. Towels & soap were supplied - this saved on the packing.
Our room was exceptional both in cleanliness, layout, decor & size.
We had BB & EM - all meals were hot and of excellent quality & portion size.
Nothing was too much trouble for Heather & Phil -- eg Phil fixed a broken brake on my walking (trolley) aid as soon as i mentioned it.
Heather & Phil are a lovely, friendly, pleasant couple they made our stay so enjoyable that we were reluctant to leave,.
The Newlands is Excellent value for money. I would not dream of going to Blackpool if i could not stay with Phil & Heather.
We will most certainly book at The Newlands again, and will recommend it to anyone.
We arrived as strangers and left as friends - and you cannot get better than that in my opinion.
3 Cheers for Phil & heather xxxx

Room Tip: Just ring up and Phil and Heather & they will accomodate you xx
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elljay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Hi Margaret / Lynne, Thank you for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the room & meals. It was no problem at all fixing your brake, if we can help at all , we will. We both enjoyed your company and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes to you both, Phil & Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The service was top notch Heather and Phil couldnt do enough to look after you and the room was 100% clean from bedding on the four poster bed to the clean shower in the ensuite the locatin of the Hotel was only 100 yards away from the sea we were only 10 min slow walk to the tower and town centre and The best part of the stay was the food heather does a fantastic breakfast and the evening meals are a must both Heather and Phil go out of their way to make your holiday very special from the breakfast to evening in their Bar They clean the rooms regularly through your stay and provide tea/coffee in you rooms... the worst part of the holiday was having to come home after a lovely and enjoyable holiday

Room Tip: Just tell Heather what room you would like and if she can will be glad to help
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junew_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the meals, etc. Glad to hear that you liked the Hotel's location, it is one of the things that made us buy this Hotel over others we viewed as it was ideally situated centrally off the prom & just yards from the beach.
Thanks again & we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Phil & Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The rooms were spotless, the food was fantastic, Phil and Heather were there the most welcoming people. The only downside was the noise at night, we were in room 3, it was unfortunately direclty over the bar and music room and at most nights we were not getting to sleep until at least 12 at night. Our last night was disturbed until 1.40 am. Good if you are night owls !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Hi Janice / Carl; Thank you for your comments, we are really sorry to hear that noise from the bar disturbed your sleep. As you know it isn't possible to please all of the people all of the time, despite us bending over backwards to try. If you had mentioned it to us when we asked if you had slept OK we could have tried to keep all of the other guests a little quieter for you. Anyway, hope it hasn't put you off visiting us in the future as we enjoyed your company and Carl is one of the most polite young men we have met in a long while. You will also be pleased to know that we managed to un-block the toilet you blocked without having to call anyone out over the Bank Holiday weekend so everything turned out OK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#33 of 73 in Blackpool
1,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#100 of 133 in Blackpool
146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#346 of 860 in Blackpool
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#281 of 860 in Blackpool
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#136 of 860 in Blackpool
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newlands Hotel

Address: 40 Bairstow Street, Blackpool FY1 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £17 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newlands is a small, friendly, licensed hotel, open all year. Most rooms en-suite; smoking & non-smoking rooms available. Unique 'Lord of the Rings' themed dining room & 'Music room' Bar. Situated 200 Metres from the beach and central pier - the ideal location within Blackpool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing