We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Norwood Hull Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Norwood Hull Road
Ranked #18 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We booked for a 2 night stay at The Norwood after reading the glowing reviews and I am certainly glad that we did. After 10 years of coming to Blackpool, staying mainly at some of the bigger hotels, where we had watched the decline in standards over the years, we decided to try a smaller establishment as our 2 children (8+11) love coming as there is so much to do. From the moment we arrived, Lorraine and Geoff made us feel extremely welcome. Explaining where everything was, how to work keys, switches etc and making sure that everything was ok. Geoff gave us very easy to follow directions to a secure car park which had 24 lighting and cameras and was cheaper than the council one, it was roughly a 2 min drive and five minute walk from the hotel.
The location could not be more perfect, settled just behind the tower( which can actually be seen from some bedrooms) and within a minutes walk of coral island which our son just loved! Although extremely central, it was very quiet at night. The new trams are fantastic and just added to our experience this time. Worth looking into saver passes if you are there for a few days as they will save a lot in fares.
The hotel itself is spotlessly clean both in bedrooms and in the public areas. The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and had everything that you would need from tv with freeview and a hairdryer, to tea and coffee making facilities, with biscuits, mints and juice and sweets for the kids. There was also a safe which was great for leaving car keys etc in. The bathroom was equally good with a large shower cubicle and lots of little extras like shampoo, shower gel, cotton buds and plenty of towels and face cloths which were changed after our first night.
We had a few drinks in the hotel bar on the first night. Our son absolutely loved playing with zack ( Geoff and Lorraine's lovely dog) and while chatting with Geoff and Lorraine, we mentioned that we were going to the pleasure beach the next day, they suggested that we buy the tickets online ( you can do this until midnight of day prior to visit) as it would be cheaper. We are very glad we took their advice as it saved us £60 on gate price.
Breakfast was superb and really sets you up for the day. There was a vast choice of cereals, small pastries and fresh juice to help yourself to. You could then follow this with a cooked breakfast of your choice, either the full monty, or just pick and choose which items you would like. These were freshly prepared and absolutely delicious. When your last mouthful of breakfast is still piping hot, you know how fresh it is.
Overall, we had a fantastic time in Blackpool and would more than recommend a visit to Geoff and Lorraine at The Norwood as you will not be disappointed. We will definitely be back - The Mckissack clan - room 6.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LittleBoJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    30
    4
    1
    6
See reviews for
212
239
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

Visited Geoff and Lorraine yet again at the weekend and after welcoming us as the family from hell cheers Geoff lol it was superb yet again can't fault the hotel one bit you are made to feel part of the family straight away from the fantastic breakfast to start the day off to a relaxing drink and a chat in the lounge with them both at the end of the day will certainly be back very soon thanks a lot Geoff and Lorraine Chris,Kelly and the girls x.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chriswilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

I stayed at the Norward with my partner and we both felt it was was by far one of the loveliest hotels we have ever stayed in.
The hotel was spotless and our room was perfect in every way, i was particularly impressed as face clothes were provided, a small thing but big to me.
The owners Geoff and Lorraine are just lovely and made us feel so very welcome, nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was fantastic, along with a wide selection of cereals, toast and orange juice came a cooked breakfast that couldn't be beat, just delicious.
The location is spot on, very central and just a couple of minutes walk to the tower.
Staying at the Norwood made our stay in Blackpool absoloutly perfect and we can't wait to visit the Norwood again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carstairs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

i cannot praise the norwood highly enough geoff&lorraine the perfect hosts nothing to much trouble the hotel spotless, i mean super clean every sort of extra touch tissues shampoo you name it its there for you breakfast superb sets the day off nicely hotel very central 2 minutes from tower but very peaceful at night the norwood made my visit to see the lights perfect i will go back to blackpool straight to the norwoood thank you so much

Room Tip: from what i saw all rooms perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williamw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I dont need to say too much about the Norwood as everyone else has already said it. Spotlessly clean rooms with lots of nice touches. The best breakfast in Blackpool, Perfectly sited for all the central attractions and excellent hosts! What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

the norwood is very handy for central pier and other tourist attractions. very clean, lovely food an the rooms are great. service was always with a smile and even though i was only there 2 days they remembered wot i rank at breakfast giving it the personal touch. the room i stayed in was clean with tea, coffee and even hot chocolate,cappuccino, latte and a bottle of water as well as biscuits and mints. i would def reccomend the norwood and will b staying there again next time i'm in blackpool. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmoore1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights arriving 27th September. Received a warm greeting from Geoff and Lorraine! The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms very modern. Great shower and the small extras in the room such as tissues, mints and bottled water were nice touches! Fantastic breakfast...choice of cereal, porridge, fruit and fruit juice to start followed by a cooked breakfast of your choice (the fussy ones like me are catered for no problem!) with toast and tea/coffee. Hotel is in a great location, 2 min walk to coral island and 5 min walk to tower, dungeons, madam Tussauds and sealife centre. Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannec1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Craimar
The Craimar
#10 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trentham Guest House
Trentham Guest House
#41 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Return Hotel
Happy Return Hotel
#31 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grange House Hotel
Grange House Hotel
#34 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#27 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaplins Hotel
Chaplins Hotel
#28 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norwood Hull Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norwood Hull Road

Property: The Norwood Hull Road
Address: 35 Hull Road, Blackpool FY1 4QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norwood Hull Road 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorraine and Geoff, your hosts, have a warm welcome awaiting you along with the highest levels of comfort and relaxation. We are very central and convenient for all of Blackpool's major attractions, like The Tower, Winter Gardens, Grand Theatre and The Piers. We have a selection of modern, recently refurbished rooms available on a bed and breakfast basis for your needs and we look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Norwood Hull Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Norwood Hull Road Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing