We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind, courteous, wonderful food, and very resourceful!”
Review of The Brayton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brayton
Ranked #623 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kind, courteous, wonderful food, and very resourceful!”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife and I have felt bad for not having written a review long ago, but we stayed at The Brayton near the end of June in 2011 and very lucky that we did. The food was wonderful and the manager was very kind, but what sold us was when I requested help with my passport. While in London, my passport had been stolen but we went forward with our travel plans anyway (who was going to throw away reservations, tickets, passes, etc.?). The chef was very computer savy and helped me to get online with the US Embassy and I was able to contact someone who I could meet back in London to sort things out. It turned out that the thief had tossed it into the trash (amazingly) and someone else found it and turned it in! Wonderful news! However, the staff at The Brayton ensured that while we were in Blackpool, that we could enjoy ourselves carefree. They helped us to find the local transportation (my wife's family is from Garstang and we wanted to visit the town), and they helped us enjoy some of the local attractions. We could not recommend The Brayton more highly!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPatrickMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    36
    10
    12
    14
See reviews for
59
24
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gloucester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This was my first trip to Blackpool for 22 years. We had booked this hotel as it is a little way out of 'the thick of it' which was exactly what we wanted. I must comment on Gloria who served our breakfast nothing was too much trouble for her, she was always very cheerful. This a very good value for money hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Arrived after a five hour drive where our youngest had been sick all over himself and the car seat. Asked where the nearest laundrette was, only for Lawrence to insist on putting it in with the hotel wash (free of charge) plus making us a tray of tea and coffee. Rooms and facilities were as described. Flatscreen TV with all the Freeview channels. A long walk or a short tram ride from the centre of town, which meant it was quiet at night, suiting us. Very family friendly, all the staff spoke to the children and there was a tray of free sweets on reception (we limited the boys to one a day).

Stayed with a three and a four year old. They hadn't had bunks before and they couldn't climb the ladders unaided, but slept fine.

Debbie was also really helpful when we needed to borrow some bits for an impromptu birthday party - we had planned to have this at home but staying an extra night is what Owen wanted most for his birthday - that says it all really.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The Brayton Hotel is very disappointing. The welcome was very luke warm from a rather a scruffy gentleman. The staircase was very steep and very narrow. The room was dingy and in need of refurbishment. In fact that was my impression of the entire hotel.
The paintwork in my room was chipped and tired and the shabby wallpaper is curling at the edges. The whole effect was tired and dull. There had been roof problems and there were signs of damp and decay. There were even holes in the pkterwork. It was also probably the smallest hotel room I've been in for years. Especially since it was supposed to be a Family Room!
I left before breakfast but the manager did not offer anything to replace it with a tray or similar.
I think the Brayton Hotel is very poor value for money and I'm very grateful that I only spent one night there. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brayton-hotel-owner, Manager at The Brayton, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
We are sorry that you felt the need to post such a poor review without either making your feelings known or speaking to us at the time. I will address the points that you raised in order.
1.You arrived after Reception had closed at 10pm and my husband had to dress quickly to answer the door as we had already gone to bed for the night - we had assumed due to the lateness of the hour that you were not going to arrive.
2. The building is over 100 years old and staircases to upper floors are not of a modern design in that they can be steep but this is simply the style and character of the building
3. The photo that you have chosen to post showing the room size only shows the single bed by the window and is misleading
4. There had been slight damage to the ceiling area caused by the previous guest's child the night prior to your stay - these were very small areas of damage and not the size that your pictures imply as they give no idea of scale. We had been unable to get a contractor to carry out repair work that day but the flaws were rectified the following day. I acknowledge that the paintwork is in need of renovation, but we are in the middle of an upgrading programme and this room will be renovated fully in the very near future.
5. When you booked in at Reception, you stated that you were leaving at 6am and did not want a breakfast! We would happily have provided a breakfast tray
6. The booking that you made was for two people sharing a twin room and the cost reflected this - a single room would have been charged at the corresponding rate for one person
Our prices are clearly stated on the booking information, along with details of check in times etc. Had you expressed your dissatisfaction on your arrival, we would have happily moved you to an alternative room but you did not give us the chance to rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

we booked this break at the last minute,and couldnt have got a better place. generally a nice welcoming place to stay, the hosts, lawrence and debbie, went that extra mile to make sure you enjoyed your stay.the hotel is very clean and comfortable,towels shower gels,and shampoo all provided at no extra cost, tea and coffee and biscuits in your room, what more could we have wanted? it was like being in your own home. the breakfast was excellent, highly recommend this lovely hotel............thankyou, we will be coming back.

Room Tip: no faults whatsoever,our room at the back of the hotel was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classykriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

We booked last minute for may bank holiday weekend. We stayed in a family room with our 10 year old daughter, the room was clean and big enough for what we wanted. Towels, shower gel and shampoo were provided, a very nice touch. Tea and coffee and biscuits where also provided in the room. Breakfast was lovely, pre ordered the day before however we were told we could order at the table if we wanted. The bar was well stocked and reasonably priced and bar meals and snacks were available if you wanted them at a very reasonable price. We really enjoyed our stay and will definatley return.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank honestsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had a great weekend at the Brayton. The owners really made us feel at home and there were lots of thoughtful touches to make our stay special. The rooms were comfortable and quiet and the breakfast was excellent. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
1,007 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#95 of 128 in Blackpool
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#232 of 856 in Blackpool
145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#296 of 856 in Blackpool
119 reviews
3.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brayton

Property: The Brayton
Address: 7-8 Finchley Road | Gynn Square, Blackpool FY1 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #623 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brayton 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the quieter North Shore area of Blackpool, the family-run, The Brayton overlooks Gynn Gardens a grassy park with childrens playground, and the Promenade. During the Illuminations, a stretch of the lights are visible from the hotel (2011 - 2nd September - 6th November inclusive). There is free on-street parking, generous cooked breakfasts and cosy en suite bedrooms. The individual rooms at The Brayton each have a private bathroom, and hospitality facilities with mineral water and biscuits. A ground floor room is also available. Many rooms have LCD TVs with Freeview, and all feature complimentary toiletries. Travel cots and bedding are available on request for the family rooms at a charge of £3.50 per cot per night. High chairs and baby/toddler cutlery are also available in the restaurant. Delicious full English breakfasts made from locally sourced fresh ingredients are served daily, with lighter options and childrens portions also available. The well-stocked bar offers beverages and snacks, and a selection of freshly prepared light meals are available from noon until 9pm each day. A 2 or 3 course dinner menu is also available by prior arrangement. Packed lunches can also be arranged. Just a 20-minute walk or 5-minute tram ride from Blackpool's lively centre, The Brayton Hotel is a mile from Blackpool's North Pier and is handy for Blackpool Tower, The Winter Gardens and a number of the major conference venues. The Hotel is ideally situated for Promenade access by foot or tram or car - one minute's drive so ideal during the Illuminations. On request, a free shuttle service to the town centre is available for large groups. The Brayton can also offer secure covered storage for bicycles/motorbikes for guests. The Brayton caters for single travellers, couples, families and group bookings but regret that stag and hen parties can not be accommodated. The maximum number of adult occupants in a family room is 2. The Brayton is strictly non-smoking - if guests do smoke in a room, then the total cost of deep cleaning the room will be charged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your The Brayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing