We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovley time”
Review of The Brayton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brayton
Ranked #581 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Huddersfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovley time”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have just read the last two reviews and am a bit shocked to be honest. We have just come back form a 3 night saty at the Brayton I found the staff to be friendley. The room was spotless it was a family room as we took our Grandaughter. She took her doll with her and a blanket that she likes to sleep with. When we got back after our days out the girl who cleaned our room had wraped the doll in the blanket and my Gradaughter was chuffed to bits. Little touches like this make a diffrance. The Breakfast was lovley and we didnt bother with dinner as we were still full. The location was good although a little out of the way with a little one when the weather is bad as it this weekend.Although the tram stop is accross the road. All in all we had a lovley time and will be going back to the Brayton when we visit Blackpool again

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 with a single bed and a double. large room ideal for a family of 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    37
    10
    12
    14
See reviews for
60
24
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This has to be the worst B&B experience of my life. Hostile and unfriendly proprietor who lacked any customer service skills, grubby hotel and the worst of the reviews on here really don't sum it up.

It is in a great location, across from a little park and near to Gynn Square tram stop. I think that's the only positive thing that I can say about this place but it is a definite 'no return' for me.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vpds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here with my partner and three year old daughter. We were welcomed on arrival and given basic information regarding keys, breakfast etc. the room was extremely clean and modern. There was a small television with freeview which suited my daughter for cbeebies etc. the mattress was at the end of its life as we could feel the springs a little although we still slept fine. Very quiet area and handy for tram stops etc, expect to walk some distance before reaching the first pier though, with hindsight I would've taken a stroller for my daughter. The towels were changed when asked and the breakfast area was well stocked with various cereals and fruit juices etc. the cooked breakfast was tasty and well prepared. The guest bar was well stocked although wasn't used at all by other guests which is a shame, it is in need of some modernisation and maybe this was the reason. Our family enjoyed having the room to ourselves most nights to play some pool and for our daughter to play some of the puzzles and games that were provided. We would definitely stay at the Brayton again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 but I'm sure the other rooms are of similar quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stopped here for four nights, a bit of a treat to see the local sights and the illuminations for my old Mum!! We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived, and until the moment we left. Loved the breakfast order slips each evening, made things so much easier and a great way on cutting down on wasteage. This is an old building that's very well looked after, it's clean and tidy, and in the quieter part of town, it's got bumps and bruises here and there, but it's loved and lived in. We were very impressed with the groundfloor room too as Mum cannot easily use the stairs. We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diskmandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leixlip, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

just like to say big thanks to owners and great staff at the brayton.we stay in room 8 13-8-13 to 21-8-13 which has great veiws.its was very clean and tidy and There was always fresh towels available if we required them, also the room was always kept maintained with all facilities such as teas and coffee' and kids had great fun with owners dog.would defo recommended this hotel as would definitely go again,The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: room 8 has great veiws to start each morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here with my husband and little boy who is 3. We stayed Wednesday to Friday. When we arrived we were made to feel really welcome. The owner went out of her way to make sure my son was at ease. We stayed in room 10 and the room was very clean and looked as though it had been recently decorated. Breakfast was fab a great start to a busy day in Blackpool. This hotel is ideally situated for the tram stop at Gynn Square and a bit quieter than the south shore with ample on street parking. Excellent hotel and reasonable we had a great stay and we will be back when we visit Blackpool again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Anne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel was spectacular, Myself and my family stayed there for a weeks break. I felt that it was worth every penny I spent.The staff were very welcoming,understanding and helpful. The room was kept very clean and tidy the hygiene standards were fantastic. There was always fresh towels available if we required them, also the room was always kept maintained with all facilities such as teas and coffee's. Overall, I felt that it was a very homely hotel and I felt comfortable staying there and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a nice family place to stay or even those without a family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.9 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 129 in Blackpool
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,032 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#312 of 859 in Blackpool
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#277 of 859 in Blackpool
147 reviews
2.0 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#159 of 859 in Blackpool
142 reviews
3.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brayton

Property: The Brayton
Address: 7-8 Finchley Road | Gynn Square, Blackpool FY1 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #581 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brayton 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the quieter North Shore area of Blackpool, the family-run, The Brayton overlooks Gynn Gardens a grassy park with childrens playground, and the Promenade. During the Illuminations, a stretch of the lights are visible from the hotel (2011 - 2nd September - 6th November inclusive). There is free on-street parking, generous cooked breakfasts and cosy en suite bedrooms. The individual rooms at The Brayton each have a private bathroom, and hospitality facilities with mineral water and biscuits. A ground floor room is also available. Many rooms have LCD TVs with Freeview, and all feature complimentary toiletries. Travel cots and bedding are available on request for the family rooms at a charge of £3.50 per cot per night. High chairs and baby/toddler cutlery are also available in the restaurant. Delicious full English breakfasts made from locally sourced fresh ingredients are served daily, with lighter options and childrens portions also available. The well-stocked bar offers beverages and snacks, and a selection of freshly prepared light meals are available from noon until 9pm each day. A 2 or 3 course dinner menu is also available by prior arrangement. Packed lunches can also be arranged. Just a 20-minute walk or 5-minute tram ride from Blackpool's lively centre, The Brayton Hotel is a mile from Blackpool's North Pier and is handy for Blackpool Tower, The Winter Gardens and a number of the major conference venues. The Hotel is ideally situated for Promenade access by foot or tram or car - one minute's drive so ideal during the Illuminations. On request, a free shuttle service to the town centre is available for large groups. The Brayton can also offer secure covered storage for bicycles/motorbikes for guests. The Brayton caters for single travellers, couples, families and group bookings but regret that stag and hen parties can not be accommodated. The maximum number of adult occupants in a family room is 2. The Brayton is strictly non-smoking - if guests do smoke in a room, then the total cost of deep cleaning the room will be charged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Brayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing