We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap getaway, safe enough distance from the centre”
Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliffs Hotel
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cheap getaway, safe enough distance from the centre”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed in August in a group of 8 people, four kids and four adults.
The hotel could do with a revamp in pretty much every public area, however our room was spacious and looked like it had been decorated recently. The only compliant was from the kids over the (small) size of the TV.
Breakfast is served between 08:00 and 09:30, we found this to be very good and the hotel catered to our various requests. The evening meal was served between 18:00 and 19:30 which is earlier than we are used to. On holiday abroad we tend not to eat until after 20:00..... The first night was a bit of a nightmare as we managed a three course meal in under 30 minutes. Before we had finished what we were eating we were asked what we wanted for our next course. Luckily this didn't happen the following evenings otherwise we would have felt the need to complain.
As well as the kids disco, they also have two acts on every night with the majority being very good. Only the compere seemed to let the side down as he wasn't as funny as he thought he was :-(
Location is good as you are approx 1.5 miles from the centre of Blackpool, easy enough to walk or you can wait for a bus or a tram as there are stops right outside the hotel.
The hotel is on five floors but only has one (very slow) lift. Not a problem for us, however, if you have a pram/wheelchair/walking difficulties, you could spend an awful long time waiting to use the lift.
The pool is pretty small, however the clientele of this hotel aren't the active type so this usually isn't an issue.
There were plenty of things for the kids to do in the kids club, however we were out everyday and didn't make the most of this facility. They had table tennis, pool tables, TVs and PCs to help keep the kids entertained.
Car parking is an issue as the hotel only has about 45/50 parking spaces. We managed to find a space 50 yards down the road and were able to park in the hotel grounds on the second day.
Whilst in Blackpool we went up the tower, went to the pleasure beach and visited Madame Tussauds. The hotel was able to provide tickets for the tower and tussauds cheaper than any where else. Tickets for the pleasure beach were cheapest online.
If we were to come back, we would just have B&B as we felt 'tied' to the hotel in the evening. The times for the evening meal meant we were leaving Blackpool sooner than we would have liked to.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    694
    203
    95
    72
See reviews for
753
647
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Consett
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just returned home after spending the Bank Holiday weekend at the Cliffs Hotel. This was our first visit here, staying in a family room. Had read all of the recent reviews of the hotel, and had a pretty good idea of what to expect. A number of areas of the building do need redecorating, and modernised, but it certainly wasn't bad. Our bedroom was very clean and well appointed, as was our en-suite bathroom. Food was of a good standard, and enjoyable. Staff were all very nice and polite, and service was good. Evening entertainment was of a good standard in our opinion, with something for young and old. On the Friday evening we saw a duet called 'Oxygen' who were excellent!! Drinks prices are slightly expensive in our opinion, but i suspect that these will compare with other similar hotels?
The health club/pool is a nice benefit, and is another attraction for the hotel. We will probably return again in the future, and would recommend to friends. Thanks to all at the Cliffs Hotel, for a good Bank Holiday weekend!!

Room Tip: Ask for a recently decorated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andres1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My family stayed at the Cliffs last weekend and I just wanted to say what a fantastic time we all had, the modernised room was great, the food was amazing and all the staff were very helpful / friendly. My son loved the kids club and we really rated the evening entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajfamilyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in Blackpool with a young family, this is the place.
The sea just outside to front door. Just a bit North of the manic town centre, but a good bus and tram service right outside the door to take you as far as Starr Gate, which is just past the Pleasure Beach or as far as Fleetwood in the other direction.other way

The hotel has family rooms with lashings of hot water for baths.showers. Excellent food and a kids menu as well. They also have a leisure centre downstairs, with a health spa, pool and gym.
The have a kids club to keep the children entertained during the day finishing off with a kids disco before the nightly entertainment starts for the adults.
The one thing that lets it down are the ridiculous bar prices, but you can't have everything???.

Nothings seems to be too much trouble for the staff.

Room Tip: Just be prepared for a little noise as it is a family hotel, kids love to run up and down the corrid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATRICIA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband, son and I have just returned from a lovely weekend at The Cliffs! We were not sure where to go, but liked the look of this hotel. We were not wrong. The room was lovely and very clean and modern. The food was fantastic, clean plates all round! The service was great. Nothing is too much for the staff. They are so happy to help. We enjoyed the evening entertainment very much, whilst our 8 year old loved the kid's club. He spent his time either there or having fun in the swimming pool. We would recommend a stay here to anyone and will definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnsonsNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2012

What a lovely family holiday we have just had at the cliffs hotel. our room was fantastic, really impressed, food was excellent and the service was great, very organised and no waiting around for next courses. i like the fact that you get your own table for the duration of the holiday so there was no waiting about. well done to the chef the food was quality. the facilities are great for the kids, my toddler loved the disco and party games. the base was great lots of games and activities and a few computers for public use. the swimming pool was great my daughter and i loved it and was in there every day very clean and at the right temperature. the gym was also good. we managed to get a car parking space at the side of the hotel but did get blocked in on our day of departure but it only took 20 minutes for the hotel to sort this so wasnt a problem i would definetly reccomend this hotel, the service,facilities and food were the best iv seen in blackpool and we holiday in blackpool regularly. we are looking forward to our next visit. going half board rather than just bed and breakfast is better value for money and the food is fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at the Cliffs for a short break with our Grandaughter, unfortunately she was too young for the kids club but she joined in the kids disco which she loved. All the other kids seemed to enjoy the activities and so did their parents/grandparents!! We did go to their swimming pool and jacuzzi which was nice and relaxed. The Staff were all very pleasant and we all enjoyed the food the children can chose off the adult or children's menu which I though was really good. It is only a three star hotel and this shows in the decor of the place as it really does need a good revamp, but the rooms and areas are clean and the beds comfortable. We didn't get a parking place but did manage to park on the road side without any problems. We will be going back once our granchild is old enough to enjoy the kids activities on offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayned66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,036 reviews
2.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#20 of 73 in Blackpool
1,503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
499 reviews
3.3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Property: The Cliffs Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 163 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel. All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six. The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing