We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff need better training”
Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliffs Hotel
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Staff need better training”
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Good value for money rooms were clean. Pool was nice and quiet because we went just before the Easter holidays. The dining room not as nice. Our tables were far to close to the people next to us I could hear there conversation a bit awkward at times. My cutlery had food debris on it that you couldn't miss, my glass had bits of food on it that I could feel and it had lipstick marks on so it took it up to the bar were the rude assistant bar manager Mandy pored my Malibu and coke into another dirty glass I mentioned this to her and she told me it was just water marks. I am a bar manager myself and know the difference between a watermark and food debris. It wouldn't of harmed her to give my glass a quick wash and polish and apologise but I guess that would of have taken up to much time and resources. I would return to the hotel as had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abz111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    694
    203
    95
    72
See reviews for
753
647
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The hotel has been refurbished in the coffee lounge and the restaurant.what was Dolly's Bar is now part of the restaurant.It is now Buffett style breakfast and evening meal.The food was excellent and have had to go on a diet to she'd the pounds off that I must have put on.The only problem was the waiters serve your tea and toast and were always bringing them out when you have finished eating your cooked breakfast.To be fair it was there first week doing Buffett so your bound to have teething problems.Otherwise well done Cliffs

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dympnafoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Well first impressions last as they say......on arrival at hotel we approached the reception desk which was small but noticeable but they managed to get us checked in and off to our (small) room within 10mins. Whilst waiting at reception I had a wee peep through a set of double doors which was the cafe area for everyone to congregate and on further inspection I had to look twice to make sure that we were actually in the Cliffs Hotel and not the Cliffs Residential Retirement Home, anyway it was the Hotel afterall. The Hotel itself looks pretty run down in some parts, but to be fair they had decorators in and were actively freshining the place up. My opinion on the Hotel overall is that it would be fine for Families and the older generation and this may be the cliental that they aim at. One big positive was the Breakfast, it was plentiful and very nicely cooked.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justaweeclue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Just spent a long-weekend at the Cliffs and was very pleased with the hotel. The food is very good considering the reasonable tariff we paid. Help yourself to starters and sweets, with waiter service for the main couse. Good choice of items on the menu. Breakfast equally good too. Disappointed with the room, very small, with views out of the window of the back of the hotel and fire-escape. Had been what appeared to be newly decorated. I suppose if you want a reasonable size room at the front - just pay the extra. Entertainment a bit hit and miss. Usual singers, singing to backing-tapes far too loud; Bingo, and comedian who was just about o.k. All in all a pleasant stay

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

stayed two nights Newly refurbished restaurant great choice of food i felt that food could have been hotter and it would have been nice to see the food with labels so that you got the right item. staff very helpful and the room was nice but the bathroom leaves a lot to your imagination . it was cold and so hard to sit on the loo see the photo and you will see what I mean. good location for the trams and sea front and the price is very good

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I would really not pick this hotel to stay in again.. The door of the room wouldn't lock properly, it was like sleeping above a nightclub, & the bathroom was that cold with that much of a breeze coming through windows that I couldn't go to the toilet without wearing a jacket!!! When the porter came to check the door, we asked for another heater, which he said he would bring, but instead had to ask again the day later! Not to mention the rude receptionist on check in-customer service rings a bell!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We have stayed yet again at the Cliffs, the second time in two months, and we had a really enjoyable stay. The room was good, we stayed in it last time, the food was excellent. Our compliments to the chef, everything was cooked well, and served hot. We found that if you have any complaints, the ladies on reception do their best to have it dealt with as soon as possible.
My husband uses the swimming pool and sauna twice a day and enjoys it immensely.
We will be back again later this year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeKenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,036 reviews
2.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#20 of 73 in Blackpool
1,501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
498 reviews
3.3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Property: The Cliffs Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 163 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel. All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six. The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing