We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliffs Hotel
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Even better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Our recent visit to the Cliffs Hotel was one of many we have enjoyed over a number of years. The welcome at reception was warm and informative,rooms are available at 2 pm but check in starts at 12.30 to avoid a mad rush.You can also select your table in the dining room and as the sunsets from this hotel can be quite spectacular a table near or in the window is important to us. Dining has changed recently with buffet breakfasts and starters/deserts at dinner. Thankfully the food is still of the same very good quality and the choices are also very good.It is still nice to have waiter service for the main courses as the staff are so friendly and also very professional. Many of them have worked at the Cliffs for a number of years.Rooms at the Cliffs are well furnished and clean.Our bed was comfy,we had a full bath with shower although some rooms only have a shower.The sea view rooms are excellent and worth the extra.Fresh towels are provided every day and there are tea and coffee making facilities.
Public areas at the hotel are spacious and warm and the hotel does cater very well for children.
There is entertainment every night at the Cliffs.We stayed over the weekend and enjoyed an excellent comedian, singer, and compere each night.
We like the hotels situation away from all the hustle and bustle of Blackpool but near enough for a pleasant walk into town or a lovely cliff top walk the other way towards Clevelys.It wont be long before we are back at the Cliffs,it is outstanding value for money and has a lovely welcoming atmosphere.

Room Tip: There are lots of room options but a sea view is a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    663
    194
    91
    70
See reviews for
726
625
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed at the cliffs on the 16th april for 3 nights.On arrival the receptionist was welcoming and helpful we found our room (107) easily it was a little small and the bathroom was tiny but it was spotlessly clean and you only sleep there so no problem for us.We stayed for evening meals in the restaurant these were superb compliments to the chef and the waiting on staff efficient and freindly special mention of Andy who seems to have his own little fan club in the name of a lovely couple called Sylvia and Tom all in all we had a fantastic time and would recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview as view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosalind p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester le Street
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We visited during school easter holidays from Sunday night (which was a free night with meal) to Friday. Bed breakfast and evening meal. We have stopped here 3 times in the last 5 years, always with my parents and daughter (now 8 years old) and always a friendly atmosphere and welcome. Sea view rooms are clean and functional and fit for purpose but some bathrooms are on the small side for some elderly people. Ask for a bath mat on arrival as the showers can be very slippy without them.

Food is now buffet breakfast and evening meals and the choices available are excellent. Quality of food very good. There is an excellent kids club available during school hols which my daughter absolutely loves and a pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Entertainment every night which is very high standard and enjoyable. Singers and comedians for family ears.

All in all a thoroughly good value for money hotel and holiday and we would have no problems returning again. Its not the Ritz but not the pits either and the whole hotel has a very roomy bright feel to it. Tram and bus stops right outside the hotel door and only a 2 min journey to the town centre and the Tower. You'd be hard pushed to finds better value for your money in Blackpool imo.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We have just returned from a lovely two night break at the Cliffs. The dining room service has changed since our last visit and you now help yourselves to breakfast and starters and puddings at dinner - very much in the continental holiday style. It is tempting to eat too much as the food remains excellent and enjoyable. Part of the dining room has already been refurbished and a start was being made on another area during our stay, but this did not detract from our holiday in any way. We loved our room - 305 and happily recommend it if you love a sea view and want to watch the world go by. The layout of the room does not make the most of its attributes (- I would love to style it myself to make the most of the space!) However, it was comfortable enough, with plenty of room and a lovely bay window, together with an additional porthole style feature window. The bed was comfy. The bathroom was very snug. All in all, it cost a bit more, but was worth every penny. The hotel are obviously in the process of refurbishing some areas, which is very tired in places, but it is hardly surprising given that the hotel is so well used. People obviously come here because it represents great value for money and is in a fabulous location. If you want a traditional sea side holiday, this is definitely the place to come. Be prepared for expanding waistlines!

Room Tip: Room 305 was in a fabulous corner position, overlooking the sea and the north pier - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planeteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Following two recent visits to this hotel we have found that this hotel provides excellent service in all departments although we did not attend the evenings' entertainment. Our fellow guests spoke highly of this entertainment. We found the quality of the rooms and cleaning service to be excellent. The dining room was still in the course of being altered but that did not prevent the staff from providing the best of service. The reception staff were also extremely helpful with a special mention of Stephanie Roberts a senior receptionist whose advice and consideration were both most helpful. We feel that this hotel provides excellent value for money and the food is most acceptable with a good range of options. We have already booked for two further midweek breaks this year and look forward to these.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms facing on to the promenade are large and comfortable especially those on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Returned to The Cliffs after a three year break from Blackpool. Delighted to have the same family room as before. There have been major improvements to the Promenade Cafe & the Dining Room. We wern't too sure about the self-service for starters & desserts, but were very pleasantly surprised by the choice and quality of the food. Breakfast now follows same procedure.
As always the staff were friendly, attentive and efficient. The bedrooms could perhaps do with refurbishing, but were spotlessly clean. This hotel is ideal for all age groups and the provision of a Tram stop directly outside is such a bonus.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a supplement for a front room, or for families we we would say room 323, dual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midlands Family A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Again had an exelent stay at the cliffs. Had a sun - fri half board with no single suppliment with a sea view for £150 in april. Room was exelent and kept very clean - bathroom tends to be a bit on small side and would sugest for next part of any renovations is to take out baths and put in decent size showers which would enhance the en suite tremendously. Congratulations on the new dining room food very good although i do miss table service but only because i tend to over eat when it is buffet style.For what you pay you will not get any better in Blackpool. On top of all this there is pool/sauna & gym cabaret in the evening and 2 free trips if you want to make use of them. Will be back again for what must be my 20th visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TONY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
0.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#20 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,971 reviews
2.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#17 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Property: The Cliffs Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#16 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 163 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel. All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six. The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing