We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliffs Hotel
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have just returned from another week-end away to The Cliffs and once again had a great time. Some things have changed since our last visit but definately for the better. The restaurant has now adopted a self service for breakfast and also for starters and sweets in the evening which suited better. The meals are still of the same excellent standard and cannot fault the service from the waiting staff. Our room was to the rear of the hotel but that didn't bother us as we only use the room for sleeping. The room was very comfortable and clean as was the en suite. All in all we had a lovely relaxing time and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elainemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,207 - 1,213 of 1,965 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel in July this year and had no complaints until our room was broken into whilst we were down watching the entertainment. The front doors were left open and someone wondered in after eleven at night and broke in to our room and took some stuff belonging to my daughter. The hotel are taking no responsibility for this and are refusing to replace the items or let me claim their insurance. I feel that it was their fault as they let someone in and wonder about the hotel unchallenged, a man was caught on camera wondering about and trying another door, they say they have security yet this happened. They have washed their hands of the matter. I would think twice before I stayed here and I would make sure you had insurance for your items as the hotel certainly won't take any responsibility!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann Marie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just got back from five days at the Cliffs Hotel, never having stayed there before. I have to say that everything was first class, especially the food. We weren't particularly looking forward to buffet style meals, but it was fantastic. The selection of food was extensive. The hot food was always piping hot, not lukewarm, as we have found with other buffet style meals. The hotel was busy, but we never had to queue for food and all dishes were kept well stocked - never any empty trays on display. The quality of food was excellent too. I only have one small criticism, regarding the evening entertainment finishing too early. I would think 12 midnight would be standard for hotel entertainment to finish, but here it seems to finish at around 11pm. The bar shutters were closed by midnight - we were asked if we wanted more drinks before it closed however. It just seemed a shame when there was a room full of people enjoying drinks and entertainment, to be told that everything was closed at midnight. Having said this, it did not spoil our holiday and we are already planning to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is our second stay at the Cliffs, the other time was about 15 years ago. The food was excellent, plenty of choice and good quality. The only downside to our stay was our room, the room was small, but we were prepared to put up with that, the problem was the bathroom, the toilet was squashed between the wall and the bath and the sink was squashed between the door and the bath, to exit the bathroom when using the sink you had to back up the space next to the bath and then open the door. I have never seen such a small bathroom! We should maybe have asked to change rooms, but as there was a wedding on that weekend we thought there would not be any other rooms. So if you stay at the Cliffs make sure you do not get room 208. I was considering bringing my grandchildren back to see the illuminations, but will look for another hotel. A lovely old building that needs a lot of money spending on it to modernise it, they have done such a good job of the dining area that they should consider spending money on the rooms, maybe they would then get a 3 diamond rating from the AA.

Room Tip: rooms on the front have a lovely sea view, but are noisy from the traffic going past all night and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hotel was fine for what we wanted. The service was excellent and the self service meals were more than adequate. Given our rooms were facing the promenade we found the rooms remarkably quiet, in fact the hotel generally seemed well insulated. The tram and bus service was literally a few yards from the hotel and made getting around easy particularly as,once parked, I was reluctant to use my car. Parking at the hotel is not the easiest and on street parking nearby looked a bit hit and miss but if you are blocked in then staff normally have the keys to the relevant cars and promptly make your exit possible.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra to have a room with a sea view and, in our opinion it was worth it...... not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowden39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel is fabulous! There is no request too much to ask, the staff will accomodate any needs. My son is disabled and every request I made in advance was met. The new buffet style restaurant is wonderful. If you dont find food you like here then there is something seriously worng with you! The quality and variety is superb. The kids facilities are great with the "base" for them to partake in activities,. The leisure facilities are great and the pool a good success for daily "cooling off" during the past warm spell. Entertainement every evening or if you want a quiet relaxation in the coffee shop area then that is available too.
Definitely recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chatter19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Just back from our annual trip to Blackpool and the Cliffs Hotel,our 8th year in a row,and we wouldn't go any where else! Meals are now buffet-style and are as good if not better than any Hilton Hotel we have stayed in. Leisure facilities are spot-on,with a gym which would give Duncan Bannatyne a run for his money! Rooms spotless as usual and very pleasant,helpful staff make the Cliffs unbeatable! Only small complaint would be that the function hall and kids area could do with air-con,entertainment in the evenings was good,and would gladly pay to see comedian Carl Schofield!

Room Tip: Try for a sea-view room,to try and get a sea-breeze when it's hot,rooms can be stuffy in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#19 of 73 in Blackpool
462 reviews
3.3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#16 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £62 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 163 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel. All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six. The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing