We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not perfect but................”
Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliffs Hotel
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not perfect but................”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Return visit to the Cliffs with our grandson the major change being the new system of dining but more about that later.
We were lucky to find a space for the car under a front window which was a bonus and were efficiently booked in and had lunch in the Café Bar while waiting access to our room. The meals were OK but I wasn't impressed with the chips.
Our room (331) was a family room with a sea view through a large porthole, it was comfortable and reasonably spacious with the usual amenities although the en suite just large enough not to be a problem.
Given that our grandson was the main focus of our holiday the Cliffs was ideal, he thoroughly enjoyed the pool, the base and the games & disco. The adult entertainment was also very good, the duo Oxygen were superb.
Now to the buffet system which given the previous comments suggests that we went on a bad week, the service was abysmal. The buffet style starters and sweets were plentiful, tasty and well presented, the main courses were good once you had found a waiter to provide them.
Breakfast time was even worse. There was an excellent selection of both hot and cold items but a word of advice don't collect your hot breakfast before you have your toast delivered, 20 minutes was the longest waiting time. On a personal note, I am sure I am not the only diner that doesn't like underdone bacon. A tray of well cooked would have been nice.

The new eating system is good but let down by having insufficient staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    671
    195
    92
    70
See reviews for
732
631
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have just returned from a four night stay at the cliffs and I have to say it was the best four nights ever! The room was spotless, comfy beds, clean and tidy. The food was AMAZING!! Eat as much as you want. So much food to choose from and the staff were very helpful. I took my 3 kids and they had a ball! They loved the kids entertainment and the club and disco and the pool. Evening entertainment was great. Loved every minute of my stay and will definitely be staying there when I go back. Won't stay anywhere else!! Great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzynalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for our second visit - for a 2 night stay on 4th Aug this year. It is an excellent hotel! We are a family of 4 - with our 2 children loving the Kids Club downstairs (especially the ever helpful Edward! The kids all love him.) We had a family room - very clean and comfortable, only problem was the view of the inner 'courtyard?'
The food is an excellent system. You are able to eat a huge starter from the buffet area..then you are served with a huge main course by your waiter...then you go back to the massive array of desserts for a 'selection' of puddings!! Great! I have never been so full!
We first came to this hotel as a party of 14 people last year for my father's 70th birthday, and finding it so good - we came back for a weekend this summer. We have just booked to stay a night on 23rd Aug because my daughter's Man City Girls' team has a game against Blackpool FC that weekend!
We are looking forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: Family rooms are a good size, but unfortunately don't have any with a good view - so I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSpeakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Once again a value for money break at the Cliffs. Recent refurbishments have enhanced the property. Revised Dining Arrangements considered a success. Starter / Salad Bar gives a good selection of hot and cold starters. Consider to be on par, if not better, than that well known "Adults Only" chain. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan-slee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have just returned from another week-end away to The Cliffs and once again had a great time. Some things have changed since our last visit but definately for the better. The restaurant has now adopted a self service for breakfast and also for starters and sweets in the evening which suited better. The meals are still of the same excellent standard and cannot fault the service from the waiting staff. Our room was to the rear of the hotel but that didn't bother us as we only use the room for sleeping. The room was very comfortable and clean as was the en suite. All in all we had a lovely relaxing time and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elainemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel in July this year and had no complaints until our room was broken into whilst we were down watching the entertainment. The front doors were left open and someone wondered in after eleven at night and broke in to our room and took some stuff belonging to my daughter. The hotel are taking no responsibility for this and are refusing to replace the items or let me claim their insurance. I feel that it was their fault as they let someone in and wonder about the hotel unchallenged, a man was caught on camera wondering about and trying another door, they say they have security yet this happened. They have washed their hands of the matter. I would think twice before I stayed here and I would make sure you had insurance for your items as the hotel certainly won't take any responsibility!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Marie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just got back from five days at the Cliffs Hotel, never having stayed there before. I have to say that everything was first class, especially the food. We weren't particularly looking forward to buffet style meals, but it was fantastic. The selection of food was extensive. The hot food was always piping hot, not lukewarm, as we have found with other buffet style meals. The hotel was busy, but we never had to queue for food and all dishes were kept well stocked - never any empty trays on display. The quality of food was excellent too. I only have one small criticism, regarding the evening entertainment finishing too early. I would think 12 midnight would be standard for hotel entertainment to finish, but here it seems to finish at around 11pm. The bar shutters were closed by midnight - we were asked if we wanted more drinks before it closed however. It just seemed a shame when there was a room full of people enjoying drinks and entertainment, to be told that everything was closed at midnight. Having said this, it did not spoil our holiday and we are already planning to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
0.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#20 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
3.3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
2.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#17 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Property: The Cliffs Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#16 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 163 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel. All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six. The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing