We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 night break”
Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliffs Hotel
Ranked #22 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 night break”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Arrived early on Sunday and were able to leave our cases and go out for a couple of hours. On return they had been taken to our room which made a very pleasant start to our break. All the staff were friendly and helpful. As a vegetarian I liked the buffet style starter for evening meal as there was a good selection to choose from. I would like vegetarian option on breakfast bar but overall a very good selection. I enjoyed an afternoon in the in the leisure centre and the trip to Freeport and Clevleys. The hotel is away from the town centre but near enough to walk or the tram stops outside. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 589eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    689
    199
    94
    72
See reviews for
748
641
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here for three nights recently. The rooms are very small with paper thin walls and are extremely hot ( although there is a small fan in the wardrobe ).The beds are the most uncomfy i have ever slept on in a hotel. This hotel is no doubt good if you have kids, but is terrible if you dont. Twice we had to complain about extremely loud groups of kids. On the positive side the location is good, breakfast was good and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flintshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

just returned after a extended weekend stay at The Cliffs 1st class service room was lovely and fresh and spotlessly clean, got to say the new plan in the dining room was excellent and the waiting on staff could of done no more than they did excellent in general fantastic stay, entertainment was very very good no complaints at all, if I could suggest 1 thing its an adults hour in the pool as not the biggest and children love water so could understand why they filled the pool :) thank you to all the staff who made our stay brilliant thanks again, m.robinson north wales

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

First thing I need to say is customer service excellent all staff are pleasant,polite and helpful.
It is all clean and tidy. Hotel not for me, but that is not to say, I would not put anybody off going.
Evening meal again for me average. I found breakfast not very good as the food was not very hot. There was a nice lounge where you could have an alcoholic drink. There was also a very good coffee shop, that served snacks throughout the day. I just cannot put my finger on it but, it was just alright for me. But please people try for yourself and see what you think. All in all we had an enjoyable couple of days. Would I go back, jury is out on that !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had a front room with a sea view, but found room to be very very hot, but when we went, it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda2360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Although we have visited the cliffs hotel lots of times, and we have always had a fantastic time, I must say that this time was an extra treat. re-decorated cafe bar and revamped resturant and dinning experince, My family and I really enjoyed the help your self service for the resturant. My niece esecially enjoyed the desserts for the ice cream as it has her favourite flavour of ice cream and he favourtie sweets to put on them Absolutely wonderful. If you have a young family then the base is a childrens club downstairs where the children can go at all ages and you can have your free time, down in the base is an Adventure base for the smaller children up to 10 and the teen base is for children who want to just relax as they have computers tv with music and there is a game room where you can play games such as car racing ect the base is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife recently had our wedding ceremony and function here and we couldn't have asked for it to go any better,the staff were brilliant in ensuring the whole day went smoothly,the recently updated decor made the room loom beautiful and the way we were made to feel at ease throughout made the day go without a hitch! The room we stayed in was spacious and comfy if a little warm but good nonetheless! All in all we had a day we will never forget thanks to the help of all the staff at the cliffs and we fully recommend using the cliffs to anyone planning a wedding or party :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stewart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Having stayed in the Cliff's Hotel some years ago we decided to visit Blackpool for the illuminations and booked into the hotel for a two nights stay. The hotel was much the same as previous but the whole ground floor area of the hotel including the dining room, the bar/lounge and the entertainment area had got a make over and was very impressive. The dining experienced was much improved, with a mixture of buffet for starters and deserts, while the main course was served to your table. In general terms the standard and the range of food was good and value for money. We stayed on a half board basis. The bedroom had been re decorated and while small was adequate for us, it was very clean and fresh linen was provided everyday. One negative with the bedroom, there was no map of fire escape routes on the back of the room door which was a worry because of the different routes to rooms on each floor and the stair ways not adequately signed. The hotel is in a good location on the sea front with a bus and tram stop directly outside. It is worth while to get three day travel ticket for unliminated travel around because the hotel is about one and a half miles to the centre. Overall a good visit and will be back to hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front of the hotel overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,971 reviews
2.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#17 of 69 in Blackpool
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#19 of 69 in Blackpool
1,489 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 69 in Blackpool
484 reviews
3.3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Property: The Cliffs Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#16 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 163 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel. All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six. The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing