We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cliffs Hotel
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just returned from my 2nd stay in the Cliffs Hotel this year and it did not disappoint. Took my elderly mother and two daughters on a midweek break. We had twin rooms, with the girls rooms next door to ours, both spacious and scrupulously clean. Staff are all extremely helpful a special mention to Kim our waitress in the restaurant, no request was too much trouble. Cannot fault the food, a great variety and plenty of it, the dessert table is to die for. Entertainment to suit all ages and the leisure facilities are great. All in all it was a fantastic relaxing break for all of us, Thanks Cliffs, already looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    659
    188
    90
    68
See reviews for
718
615
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have just stayed at The Cliffs with my partner and our little 1yr old little Boy. Could not fault it at all, Rooms were basic but very clean. Food was excellant and always something different to choose from. The childrens pay area was fab for my 1year old he loved it. Its about 20mins walk to the central pier which was a lovely walk along the beach front. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaddyNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My first impression of the Cliffs wasn't good - the entrance doors to the hotel were grubby and full of dirty finger marks, I wanted to wash my hands as soon as I arrived.

Anyway, grubby doors forgotten, I found the welcome and check in very good. On arriving in the room I was pleasantly surprised, it was a good size and had a lovely view of the sea. However, the bathroom was a different story. I have never struggled so much in a bathroom - I'm a size 8 so I can't imagine how anyone bigger would manage. There was nowhere to put any toiletries or hang anything up, very impractical.

I found the food to be OK and quite enjoyable (the lamb shank was delicious, but the steak was tough and tasteless), however paying for drinks whilst eating your starter wasn't very nice - why can't you pay after your meal?

The entertainment was fine - the adult entertainment doesn't start until 9pm. An elderly member of our party found it too loud so retired early to bed. I think maybe this is more of a family orientated hotel and it would have been ideal for me when my children were young.

The hotel is well placed for the trams, and even for a nice walk towards the tower and central pier if you are fit enough.

I probably wouldn't return to the hotel, but not because I didn't enjoy it or don't recommend it, but mainly because it just wasn't my scene.

Room Tip: Ensure your bathroom isn't the size of a postage stamp!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunandmoon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for the weekend recently great value for money good food clean and comfortable room friendly and helpful staff It most certainly is not a "Dump" with mould on the walls and rude staff it knows what it is. !!! I would not hesitate to back again. Its a family hotel lots a kids about

Room Tip: get a seaview rooms at the back are a bit gloomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This place is situated at the far end of the promenade towards Fleetward end. It is served by both bus and tram stops. The hotel is old traditional, parking is limited to a few spaces out the front. The rooms are clean and the bed was really comfortable. Room 107 however had the most ridiculous space for à toilet I have ever experienced. If you are older than 6 years of age you will struggle to sit on it as it is wedged between the wall and the bath. I don't know if all rooms are the same or not.
The breakfasts here are superb. It's buffet style and all fresh. The service for tea and coffee was quick and the staff were polite and courteous. The bar area was pleasent and staff friendly. The hotel has a pool area but I didn't see this. Overall I was pleased with this hotel and all it had to offer.




Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ell1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 kids aged 8 & 4. We stayed for 5 nights at the Cliffs Hotel, Blackpool and could not have enjoyed it more. The hotel is really well set up for kids, with a swimming pool and kids club. The staff at the kids club were very helpful and energetic, in particular Edward who was brilliant. The food at the hotel is excellent for all the family and again the staff, in particular Marius, our waiter for the duration, was particularly friendly. On returning home I realised that I had left my hair dryer and hair straighters, on phoning the hotel reception, Julie, the receptionist could not have been more helpful. She packaged the items, contacted me with the weight and dimensions of the box and suggested a courier company. All in all we had a great family holiday made even better by the excellent service and value for money of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Second time stay in this hotel, this time payed extra for sea view room, don't be fooled rooms at the front are very small with a corridor bathroom, between the bath and wall it was aprox 20inches, ,the food is very good and not bad entertainment, the only place in the day to sit and relax is the cafe bar, very little comfortable seating , it's mainly for dining at lunch , pool area very nice and pool bar had got aircon which was very welcoming during the hot humid days that we have just had , I would stay again but ask for a better bathroom (if there is one)'if not then I would look else where.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazzer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
0.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#19 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
2.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#16 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Property: The Cliffs Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#16 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 163 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel. All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six. The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing