We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money”
Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliffs Hotel
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
jmayuk
1 review
“great value for money”
Reviewed 6 February 2010

I have stayed at choice hotels for the past 6 years and will continue to do so, it caters for all my family one eight year old and one eighteen year old and both choose to come with me each time as their is someting for everyone keep up the good work choice hotels!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmayuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    694
    204
    95
    72
See reviews for
755
647
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We find all the choice hotels to be comfortable, clean with excellent food
and wonderful well trained staff who are always pleased to go out of their way to meet guests needs. Our favourite hotel is the Cliffs, it is like going home.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilco_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Excellent choice of meals served by attentive staff
Our bedroom had colour TV, tea/coffee making facilities, comfortable beds, en suite etc.
Evening entertainment was excellent
Bus/tram stops are outside the hotel entrance giving easy access to Blackpool, Cleveleys and Fleetwood.
We used the swimming pool and sauna - very good with clean changing facilities
Would definitely return to this Choice Hotel

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyacinth540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Good value for money especially with discount for being a member
good food and entertainment
had a disabled room this year ( although not disabled) was better has had more room
nicely positioned - near enough to lively pubs however also far enough away for peace
my neighbours and myself have had this time of year as an annual trip - instead of spending a fortune new years eve we now use that money for the annual weekend tripn in Jan or early Feb dependant on your offers

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyBBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2010

The only problem I can pinpoint is the duplication in songs during the entertainment spot. It appeared there was no communication between the different female singers and therefore, there were a number of songs duplicated.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldengirlshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We have just spent 5 nights at the Cliffs. Everything good I say about the hotel is in the context of the price. I will not quote what we paid because the price may not be available to all. It must also be more expensive in summer!
Let's start with the food. Superb variety, quality and attractive surroundings. Staff everywhere, in fact some duplication of asking for orders etc. Perhaps in winter a reduced number of guests means that waiters do not have dedicated tables?
We had a sea view room. It was clean, tidy and even the bathroom was big enough for a six foot man. We had a slight toilet malfunction. This was fixed withing hours of reporting.
The location is fine for car/bus users. The bus stop is right outside the door. The trams were not running during our stay. It would be a longish, but flat walk for the elderly, to the centre of Blackpool.
For those who want it, there is bingo and entertainment most evenings. Again, it is all included in the price you pay. Bar prices are reasonable for a hotel. Reception staff were courteous and helpful.
My tip would be to remember what type of holiday you want. Monday to Friday is mainly elderly guests. My guess is that weekend are given over to younger guests. I would imagine it will be two different hotels, depending on when you visit.
All in all, as good value as you will get anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsOldertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

My family and I have stayed at the Cliffs Hotel many times, we find managers, Paul, Jayne and Marie extremely helpful as are the some of the staff. We enjoy the nightly entertainment and the food is always good. To stay over Christmas as we have done for the past 9 years or so, is good but very predictable. Some negative points are the disc jockey does not play music to suit the audence, he cannot get people up to dance with his choice of music and the music stops far too early for Christmas time, the concert room is usually very cold during winter times, the price of the drinks are very expensive £2.70 a pint of bitter, the Christmas decorations are the same ones used for many years and are very poor. Table cloths are no longer used in the large dining room, I'm told this saves the Choice Hotel Group many thousand pounds yearly, but the dining room even with new dining tables and chairs now resembles a transport cafe, a chocolate on your pillow at Christmas time as now like the table cloths been withdrawn. How many cut backs will Choice Hotels make before we regular guests stop going back to the Cliffs year after year?

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegularLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,037 reviews
0.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
499 reviews
3.3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Property: The Cliffs Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 163 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel. All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six. The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing