We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Christmas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cliffs Hotel
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

Just back from a stay at the Cliffs over the Christmas period, and just wanted to say how wonderful it was. Everything was spot on the room, food, service and staff, fantastic value for money and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajfamilyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    659
    188
    90
    68
See reviews for
718
615
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

I have been a frequent visitor to this beautiful north west coastal area for many years, and Blackpool is my favorite destination.
Over many years of my fequent visits I have stayed at numerous hotels in Blackpool, Including the Hilton Hotel, Imperial, Norbreck, Savoy, Carlton, South Shore and the 'Cliffs Hotel.'
This hotel is unique in the overall value for money which includes, well positioned on the north quiet side of Blackpool, but within easy access to all the gayety of Blackpool itself.
This hotel has a wormth of heart that is due to the excellent management and friendly staff.
If you want all the amusements, then it is a short bus ride along the promenade, and the bus stops outside the hotel too. ''This hotel is good value for money', and I would always stay here''.
If you want coastal walks you can cross the road from the hotel, then, there is eight miles of uninterrupted walking to Fleetwood.
I would choose this hotel in preference to the Hilton Hotel for its table service and its none protentious staff and customers.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celia186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

Have visited this hotel annualy for many years, the staff are excellent, the beer is cheaper on weekdays, the entertainment is what you make it - go for it. Never been dissapointed.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerryfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

We have stayed at the Cliffs Hotel many times and we have never been let down. All the staff are very knowledgable about all aspects of the staff, no waiting around for answers as the staff member you ask will be able to answer your query. The food an resaurant service and staff are second to none. The atmoshere is so relaxing, the rooms clean and comfortable, plenty of storage. The location of the hotel is ideal, buses, trams and taxis all availble in front of the hotel and within easy reach of teh attaractions Blackpool has to offer. I would highly recommend a stay - value for money, relaed, confortable and friendly without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hiya1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

lovely hotel, all staff very friendly and helpful, location lovely for the lights and for the big working lights which are at bispham which are great for the younger children, hotel entertainment was good although the comedian was a little rude, didnt bother us but there were young children there, perhaps parents should have been told he was a little rude. the singing act was good too, our only critisism was the 1st night we arrived we just wanted to chill out in our room and we were directly over the entertaiment room so it was very noisy and went on until 12pm when i asked the following morning if it was possible to be moved the did this so we were more than happy,

the pool and jacuzzi were excellent
parking bit of a nightmare as its a large hotel, i would suggest arriving before. the 2pm check in to try and get parked
we had a lovely time and would definately go again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxxscarletxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

Everything looked good so far until we got to our room the door was jammed and everyone was holding there suitcases we only got into our room at 6pm when we checked in at 2pm. In our room was spider webs. The food was desguting. The first night we stayed there we saw everyone getting nice beautifull food insept from us we got burnt. When we left we found out my car was had a dent on it now im paying 500 pound to get it fixed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bethany1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

arrived here for a late booking overnight stay to show the children, aged 10 and 12, the famous lights and sights blackpool has to offer. Our booking stated a 2pm. check-in, so was pleasantly suprised to be told on arrival at midday that we could check-in at 12.30pm. we duly hung around, got our bags from the car and went back to the desk to check-in at 12.30pm. well, we filled in the form, and got told to come back at 2.00pm for the key? I can honestly say I have never before checked-in and not got a key, I thought that was checking-in? So, bags back in the car, and away into town we went. The hotel is a good walk out of the central area, but the tram stops right outside, and runs every 10 minutes or so. I liked the location away from the bussle, especially with children in tow. The room we had was excellent, a bit dated but clean and warm, with a separate room for the children attached to ours, all through 1 front door, which gave the children some independence but kept me happy with the safety aspect. In the basement they have really good facilities for youngsters, incl. computers, nitendo Wii, table tennis etc. when we booked in we enquired about dinner, but £17.50 a head seemed a lot, especially when we could of added it to the booking for £5.00 each. the breakfast was well cooked, with a reasonable selection, waitress service to the table. we used the cafe bar for drinks and bedtime hot chocolate, the service was good, fast and friendly.
For what we paid, the same as a good 4 star, I would say it wasn't as good, but for a blackpool seafront hotel, it was probably amongst the better ones.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
0.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#19 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
2.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#16 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Hotel

Property: The Cliffs Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#16 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliffs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffs Hotel in Blackpool offers its guests 163 comfortable and pleasantly decorated bedrooms, all with the privacy and comforts you would expect from a hotel. All with en suite bathrooms and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool promenade and beach plus the famous Blackpool Illuminations. There are a range of room sizes sleeping from one to a family of six. The facilities available at this fine early century hotel range from the swimming pool, leisure centre with gym and sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room making it the ideal hotel venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing