We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend...”
Review of Hotel Viagra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Viagra
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Got back from a memorable weekend in Blackpool, made all the more special by all the staff at the Vidella. Communication with the hotel regarding booking and requests was first class, giving a very professional impression of the place before even arriving. The girls in the party arrived early by train and they said they had the warmest welcome, with the staff showing genuine interest and making them feel very welcome. Upon my arrival, I had a parking space which is a nice touch (even though not guaranteed they do have 6 spaces) and check-in was easy, and witnessed first-hand the welcoming staff. Our rooms were all together on one landing which was great, and whilst some may find the rooms basic, I was pleased with the rooms which provided everything necessary for a short stay. The bar was much bigger than anticipated, and again the staff could not do enough to accommodate - a nice atmosphere, music on request, pool table, games machine. Breakfast was great available in a clean, nicely decorated room -full English, cereal, fruit, juices and being buffet style it was a nice relaxed affair, made all the more enjoyable by Greg and his girls who were on hand to ensure everything was alright. Would definitely stay here again - Thanks to all at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Four In A bed is not a high rating show here but it seems to be popular in the UK.
Never the less we saw it on late night TV and we loved the owners. They were so refreshing. We knew we would not be getting the Ritz. We were actually angry that they did not get fair treatment!
By English standards its cheaper than most but still think its a little expensive.
A delightful young man called Mark helped us with our bags and went to a great deal of trouble. He was utterly brilliant.
We were hoping to meet the two now famous hosts but we did meet Neil. What a gorgeous young man! Neil just sparkles and what I really liked was his warmth and affability. I notice in many gay hotels if one is cute or rich you get special treatment. Neil and his staff are kind and caring to everyone. A rare quality sadly.We just wished we could see the two guys more but Neil was great fun! There was a lovely girl too and she was fabulous. I forget her name which is a pity because she was brilliant.Made a very good breakfast.
We had Mark the next day but he battled with breakfast. Had trouble with urn, things just not going well. He will get better because he is so eager to learn. He takes feed back and will improve. Bacon never seems to be crisp in England!
I am afraid we found the shower confusing but the room was basic and satisfactory. The room next door smelt a bit like wee. I guess all hotels have guests who get up to strange things.
Its very central and the atmosphere at breakfast is lovely.
OK it needs a bit of TLC and polish but because of a brilliant staff I must say we enjoyed the Vidella. Neil also kindly arranged our washing done. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: If you have special needs the staff here are superb, let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank petersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We arrived at the Vidella hotel onfriday the 15/11/2013 (i will just add we arrived late as the picture on the website of the lovely LED lit up sign is Non existent) instead we were greeted by a sight I can only describe as a YMCA we were led up to our rooms by a very friendly lad when I say led it was 6 flights of threadbare stairs as you pass a broom cupboard with ex lesbians room on it you then reach the penthouse rooms when those doors opened after the heart attack walk it wasn't worth waiting for no ceiling tile in the room heating switched off freezing cold. We then read the hotels welcome book which was the highlight of the stay where we found a pointless story containing the reference "drinking from the furry cup. And the cocktail list contained named like alistairs leaking cream completely vulgar and pointless. We them went down for a breakfast which consisted of freezing cold undercooked bacon and salmonella eggs. Good luck Vidella but we won't be staying at this dump again you get what you pay for in Blackpool

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here for my sisters wedding weekend, And everyone involved had a fantastic time. The Hosts John, Neil and the rest of the staff were very accommodating, very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The wedding reception was done to a beautiful standard, the food was lovely, and it all went smoothly. The 70's disco entertainment night was brilliant, everyone had a great laugh. Fully recommend if youre looking for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here in September for a random weekend away. We booked last minute the say we were going. When I called to book I spoke to a lovely man (who I later found out was the barman) who was so welcoming and friendly and told me they had a room left and gave me a good price on.
When we arrived at the hotel, some work was being done on the front, but this didn't bother us at all! Don't judge a book by its cover! The only bad thing about location is parking! It is very hard to find somewhere to park but after a look around we found a pay and display car park, as the hotels car park was full. Once arriving we were welcomed by a nice gentleman who was also soaked with a water gun by another gentleman, it was very funny and made us feel relaxed!
Our room was amazing! Actually spotless and so homely and modern! Only thing that let the room down was the shower- wasn't the best! But that isn't worth complaining about as everything else was amazing! The view was not good from our room! But We did not plan on sitting in the room for our stay so again this didn't bother us! Tv was fab and working, kettle and tea and coffee facilities and wardrobe space for clothes! And my lord! The bed!! I wanted to take it home it was that comfortable!!
Breakfast was also amazing! Continental breakfast and hot breakfast was on offer! My boyf and I got a full English and we're not disappointed! It was fab! Filled me up for the day anyway!!

We did have an incident where at 3am the fire alarm went off and no staff where in the hotel- this was quickly resolved and did not impact on our stay at all! We are planning to go back! Great value for money! I had a lovely stay!

Thanks everyone that made us feel welcome!

Alex :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0zza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Went to hotel for a family wedding. Can't praise the staff enough. They are fabulous hosts and really pulled out all the stops. The entertainment on the eve of the wedding was a real plus. The wedding day itself ran smoothly and the reception food was lovely, not to mention the amazing room decorations. The 70s disco on the wedding night was brilliant. The whole family had a fantastic weekend,so much so that a yearly reunion has been mentioned! Special thanks to the staff for the missing purse saga!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Durham76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and we were not disappointed.The staff and owners were very friendly and could not do enough for us.The room we had was room 7 which is pet friendly and it was spacious enough for the us and our dog and was very clean.The bar downstairs was nice clean and comfortable and the cocktails went down a treat and bar staff were fab.The breakfast in the morning is from 8.30 - 10am and was great as a buffet style as you could get whatever you wanted and the wife even got her scrambled eggs she just had to ask ,and it was no trouble at all.We had our breakfast in the bar area in the morning so we could have it with our dog and he even got his breakfast also [bacon and sausages] at no extra charge.I must also mention that when we booked the hotel there was no charge for the pet. We really enjoyed our stay and we will be back.Thanks again to all

Room Tip: If you want to take pets away with you room 7 was big enough for a small or medium size dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delboylee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#41 of 73 in Blackpool
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 73 in Blackpool
754 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,329 reviews
2.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viagra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viagra

Address: 80-82 Dickson Road, Blackpool FY1 2BU, England (Formerly Vidella Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £28 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Viagra 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP - March 2015 At the Vidella Hotel we offer a range of different room types. We have a selection of single, double, twin, quadruple and family rooms. All are en-suite and are equipped with TVs, freeview and tea and coffee making facilities and other services can be provided on request. We are a new team reviving a once popular hotel. We are trying to provide a service to suit everyone's needs. We are introducing new ideas and events as we follow our strategic plan to re-market The Vidella Hotel into a fun and friendly hotel ​We are proud to say that we welcome everyone from every walks of life. We have recently just restructured the Vidella Hotel and we offer a variety of different services. We also accept large groups as well as families and Stags and Hens. We are only a short distance from the beach and a 5 minute walk from the train station. The Vidella Hotel also is central to all off Blackpool's nightlife and piers. There are also a large range of shopping and souvenir shops and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Hotel Viagra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing