We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really not too bad.”
Review of The Headlands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Headlands
Ranked #38 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
266 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Really not too bad.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We normally stay at the Hilton or Imperial, so fair to say that the Headlands wouldn't normally be our first choice and I was pleasantly surprised.

The staff were all very friendly and the hotel is clean. Our room on the first floor had a lovely sea view and a balcony which was great. The room was a good size and the bedding and towels were pristine white. It's fair to say that the rooms have seen better days and for those that are really picky there would be a lot to mention. But, the room was clean, well laid out and suitably appointed so nothing at all I would complain about.

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal and breakfast was also very tasty. Although the waitresses were all extremely friendly, the service could be hit or miss and often tea and coffee never arrived or took a while to be delivered.

The hotel bar is pleasant enough, but does lack a little atmosphere. The prices are quite steep too for what they offer.

The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to the pleasure beach and there is a tram stop about a five minute walk away. Of course, the beach is just across the road and the rooms at the front have great sea views. I didn't notice any shops, bars or restaurants nearby - but then I wasn't really looking.

While this wouldn't be my first choice of hotel, we had a pleasant stay and wouldn't be scared to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwagsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    94
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
102
70
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed in The Headlands on visit to Blackpool, a nice comfortable hotel, rooms very clean and food excellent,it is in a convienient location near the start of the illuminations. The staff were very friendly and when we unfortunatley had to return home early we received a great deal of help and support. Can highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed there for the weekend to see the lights.Really friendly there and the breakfast was lovely! Clean rooms,comfy bed! Would stay there again no problem.The situation of the hotel could not be more perfect,on the front just down from the fairground,with the illuminations right outside the doorstep.Plenty of parking outside on the driveway meant we didn't have to park on the side roads.All in all,an excellent place to stay for those who like a hotel with a bit of atmosphere not found in the faceless hotels of nowadays.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon grimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I would like to thank everyone at the Headlands for a lovely stay the last few days. Food was great and rooms comfortable. I especially was very impressed with how the staff handled our individual needs and the gentlman we support for his holiday. Everthing was done to ensure he was comfortable and happy, Thank you :)
The hotel is ideally situated for all the attractions and the trams and buses and has a real home from home feel about it. I would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

they said,staff very friendly,and good standard of cleanliness,I disagree on all points,after making my comments know to the Manager he did try to rectify,but the hotel is tired and dated and in need of some remedial work to the general property

Room Tip: i really can only say,choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We are a family of five -mum,dad and three children, our children are young and we needed the right place for a family accommodation and i am glad to say this hotel was the right place for us.Its location is quiet and the sea view was fantastic its also close to all the major attractions that we wanted to visit.The staff were all amazing and each one of them made us feel so welcome.The hotel is clean and the white spotless bedding were reassuring.The food was good and we all enjoyed it. The entertainment was good for both adults and kids. It was our first time there and we spent four nights, we will not hesitate to go back there ,it was a very ideal hotel for us as a family and we were well looked after.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karim282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

just spent a mid week brake at this hotel the staff were very pleasant helpfull and friendly rooms very clean and tidy good entertainment meals where great hotel gets the thumbs up will go back again fantastic place to go and enjoy blackpool

Room Tip: sea views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davewatson359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 70 in Blackpool
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 70 in Blackpool
970 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#43 of 70 in Blackpool
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 70 in Blackpool
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headlands

Property: The Headlands
Address: 611-613 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#23 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headlands 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a quality yet affordable hotel in Blackpool, you can't go wrong at the Headlands Hotel. The Friendly family run hotel with traditional values offers you a warm welcome and comfort ideal for any Holiday in Blackpool. With friendly long standing staff who will make your stay as enjoyable as possible.With a seafront location, next to the Solaris Centre with its large gardens, The Headlands is a 5-minute walk from the Pleasure Beach, Sandcastle Waterpark and South Pier. The beach is just across the promenade where you can see the biggest Glitterball in the world, part of Blackpool's regeneration of the seafront areas.The Headlands is on Blackpool's New South Promenade, with a tram stop and bus stop right outside it is ideally located to access all of Blackpools attractions. It has free on-site parking for those travelling by car.The Headlands hotel has a range of facilities designed to make your holiday in Blackpool as enjoyable as possible. With 41 bedrooms, a lift to all floors, free wifi internet access available to all guests, and a free guest car park, we're dedicated to helping you enjoy yourself in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Headlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Headlands Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing