We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Would go again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Oakwell Hotel
Ranked #126 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I Would go again.”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I went on a stag weekend and i stoped in the royal oakwell hotel.This hotel would be somewhere i would go and stop in again would recommend it to anyone who is stopping in blackpool, There is nothing bad to say about the hotel everythink you need is in there even the bar (Y) , number one hotel in my eyes.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddycleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    26
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We booked this hotel for a stag weekend and could not fault the place. The staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms were all clean. Good breakfast served every morning. Will definetly be returning the next time we visit Blackpool.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanJ1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2010

This is our 3rd time to Blackpool in a year, what a great time never been to blackpool before this and was not to sure if i wanted to, the 1st time we stayed at b+b on some back street but last time i went to this hote,l one of my mates said he was going to write a review after..he never did it...so this time i said i would...ok it took a week or so but here goes.
The hotel is run i think by Franco...top bloke...very straight forward. He signed us in and took our bond both times. The rooms are basic, but very clean...the only problem we had from 7 rooms was the tv didnt work......Angelo, another owner came straight up and sorted it.....helps if the plug is switched on..haha.
We spent most of the day out around blackpool...My mates who have been there before told me how much blackpool has changed in the last few years and i must admit the new sea wall and walkin area looks great...although its still a building site in areas.
Anyway....both nights at dinner time we went back got changed and went to the bar....there were 20 of us on both trips to this hotel mainly blokes....Franco worked behind the bar each time....you really cant fault him 20 of us plus another 8 or so girls and he coulnd of been nicer...attentive and friendly.
Both mornings i came down for breakfast ....cereals..juice....full english...coffee....just what a hangover needs...haha...the food was good....And Marie who served with Franco was very pleasant.
All in all we had a great time and the place is nice...the staff are good and friendly....and the hotel is fine.....Were planning our next weekend already and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjm1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I have just returned from a weekend at this hotel. It is in a great location and we couldnt fault the cleanliness. We did however, find the older owner (Not sure if it was Angelo or Franco) extremely rude and abrupt. The younger owner however was brilliant and very friendly. We specifically booked this hotel because they accepted hen parties so we didnt expect to be treated like small children. We were hardly a rowdy bunch but were being constantly told to keep the noise down, all we were doing was chatting!! It felt as though we couldnt even cough without being told to keep the noise down. 2 of the girls were talking in the early hours whilst outside having a cigarette, who were then moaned at the next morning by the old man. Even i myself, was told rudely to "shut that door now" when i had propped it open for literally 1 minute whilst waiting for our taxi.
I would definately not recommend this hotel if you are planning on celebrating any occasion... maybe a wake.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugarplum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I'm writing just to say how great it was stopping at The Royal Oakwell hotel. The Owners of the hotel were very friendly and helpful they couldn't do anything wrong they were perfect hosts. You can diffrently tell it was a family run Business because it was so warm and welcoming. Angelo, Maria and Franco were amazing and so polite. Me and my Sister stopped for 3 nights and was very confortable in our room its very pleaseant and roomy. The room was colourful and there was plenty of space. Its was nice that we had a freeview box and T.V so we could watch our missed Telly programmes. The bar was well stocked and was fairly priced we come from Yorkshire and was cheaper there than it is here. Franco who was the barman on when was in the bar was very polite and if we asked for drink that they didn't already have in he would make sure it would be in the next day. Me and my sister got chatting to the family and we must have been talking for about 2hours it was very pleaseant. The breakfast was very nice can't say a bad word about it you could have full english or cereal or both. We stopped in on our last night and had a three course meal and i must say it was brilliant it was so nice. In whole we have had a wonderful time and i have personally talked my friend into going and staying there. If i could say anything to get people to come here i would but hopefully this as helped make there mind up.

Best Wishes and Hopefully a great hoilday...

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I have just returned from a one night stay at the royal Oakwell. I was part of a group of 31 ladies all there to celebrate my daughters forthcomming wedding( Henparty). I had checked the reviews before going and was happy to see all said much the same.
The hotel was spotlessly clean the rooms very much in need of updating. The bar was very expencive ( it cost £10 for 2x bacardi and diet coke and my daughter was charged £11 for 8 packets of crisps).
The rules were barked at the group on their arrival, all were asked to hand over a bond that would be returned the following morning when all guests had handed in their remote control and keys( not sure what they thought we were going to do with the remote controls for the TV though?)
We were told any one bringing anyone back to the hotel would be charged £25.00? surely no one should be bringing unregistered guests back?.
I know several of the ladies sat outside when they came back from the show. They were talking to a couple of young men from the hotel next door when the owner rudly came out and ordered them to go away. The whole party found the owners to be rude and confrontational. We certainly wouldnt go back....
Anyway....
We had a good time in Blackpool and on getting up Sunday morning we went down for breakfast....and queued!!!!
We had been told breakfast was served at 9am prompt....what they meant was you came down and queued until; 9.10 ish then they let in all 50+ rooms and then 2 people started to cook and serve breakfast...
I expected more, i left disapointed. I certainly wont recomend this hotel to anyone i know.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetancaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Have just returned back from a two night stay at the Royal Oakwell Hotel. There were 11 ladies in our party for my best friends Hen weekend. The hotel was immaculately clean although the decor in our room was a little dated the cleanliness more than made up for it. We had four rooms in total and they were all lovely, if you dont mind walking up stairs request room 30...its huge! The beds were very comfy as was the bedding and the towels provided were also soft and fluffy just how i like them. Angelo and Franco are just wonderful and could not do enough for us. They really go out of their way to ensure that you have a comfy stay. They always seemed to pop up whenever you needed a hand with something. They seem like a really lovely family. Even returning in the early hours of the morning we would be greeted by Angelo or Franco (not to moan at us) but to ask if we had a nice evening and it really felt like that wanted to make sure that all their guests were home safe and well. Breakfast really was the best ive had at a hotel. We didnt eat dinner at the hotel but when i return (i will be returning) I will definately give their evening menu a try. The Bar area is also immaculately clean and has that warm cosy feel of a great pub.

Overall a fantastic stay and i will definately be returning to the Royal Oakwell but next time with my husband and two children.

Thanks Angelo and Franco for a fantastic stay x

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hodgkiss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#12 of 70 in Blackpool
858 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 70 in Blackpool
1,277 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 70 in Blackpool
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,074 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headlands
The Headlands
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#740 of 858 in Blackpool
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oakwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oakwell Hotel

Property: Royal Oakwell Hotel
Address: 17-19 Barton Avenue, Blackpool FY1 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Royal Oakwell Hotel is a family run establishment located in South Shore Blackpool. We are 100 yards from the beach and close to all the attractions and amenities. Each room now boasts new mattresses, bed linen, flat screen freeview television and dimmable lighting. Free WIFI is also offered in public areas. A full hot and cold English breakfast buffet is also included in the room rate. Our cosy and welcoming bar is the perfect place to relax after visiting the sights. The children will be occupied for hours on our brand new free retro games machine. We pride ourselves on our service and always willing to accommodate any special requirements. Book through our website for our very best prices. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Royal Oakwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing