We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Coach House
Ranked #56 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“fabulous stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for one night as a getaway - couldn't have picked a better bed and breakfast! Jack & Kelvin were so welcoming - as were all the staff we encountered and couldn't do more to oblige. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed extremely comfy. Great selection of tea/coffee to get you started before breakfast which was fabulous! The quality of the food was second to none.
The location is perfect, just minutes away from the sea front & its attractions. Could not fault the stay in any way & would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah--X0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    24
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
161
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed for one night only,but given a very warm welcome by Kelvin and Jack, two genuine nice guys,accommodation immaculate and large double bed very comfortable.Breakfast very good,secure on site parking,giving extra value and peace of mind.Hotel very easy to navigate to. We will definitely return here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twodolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

First impression

The Old Coach House is a true gem. Large period building maintained to a good standard externally and very high standard internally. It has its own secure car park which can be difficult to get in Blackpool. There is a communal conservatory stocked with drinks and snacks so guests don’t have to be confined to their rooms. We were out most of the day/night this time but have vowed to make use of the conservatory on our next stay.

We had room 2 and wow I have never seen a room like this. Large spacious room with 4 poster bed. The decoration elegant throughout the room and very cosy. You wouldn’t be in a rush to leave the room unless you were out exploring (which we were!). The bathroom is immaculate and modern. You had a choice of corner bath or power shower. I enjoy a shower so was pleased to be able to have a shower that was both warm and powerful. A lot of b&b’s have something pretty pathetic but this is top end appliance. The room as a whole was amazing I couldn’t fault it in any way.

Our stay

We stayed 2 nights in May 2014. The location of the guest house we found very handy. Just five mins from waterloo rd tram stop, you could easily connect to any part of Blackpool. We were advised to go to local “gazette newsagents” and could get a day pass for £3.50. This proved cheap as single rides are £1.50 a pop. The nearest attractions would be the large indoor Water Park and Grosvenor Casino.

In terms of our stay I think it’s the best 2 night away we have ever had. The hosts Jack and Kelvin were very personable, offered to help us with our bags on arrival and were happy to explain what Blackpool has to offer. We were made to feel very welcome and could see from the outset that they both took pride in their establishment.

When it came to quality of sleep the accommodation again was excellent. The location is far enough away from the front strip to be quiet but just short walk to get to the action. The bed was very comfy so you felt refreshed and ready for the next day.

In terms of breakfast although small part of your stay again worth a mention. The choice has all the usual decent cereals but also croissants, chocolate bread, individually prepped yoghurts loaded with fresh fruit and muesli on top. In fairness it was better selection then what you would get in most hotels. The cooked breakfast itself was great. Decent standard food items, some places opt for cheaper brands but not here. It was impossible to fault!!

Final Thought

I wouldn’t normally go to this level of detail with a review but feel that Jack and Kelvin of the Old Coach House excel at what they do. I was told that this was a new venture to them but the level of service they provide, has exceeded anywhere I have stayed prior to this.

The last thing I’d like to say is that it was my birthday whilst we were in Blackpool, so whilst sticking a few cards up in our room it was noticed by one of the owners the next day and when we arrived back that night I had an extra card waiting for me. I was truly staggered that someone id only recently met cared enough to go and get a card to help me celebrate. The gesture spoke volumes to me. In closing, If you want to have a hassle free, relaxing break with a great night sleep then look no further than the Old Coach House. You will receive a service that is second to none!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ollie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

i have stayed in many b/b,s and hotels over the yr,s and we where made so welcome by jack and kelvin, it was like they had opened their home to us, they even catered for my cealiac and cooked me a separate breakfast and gluten free bread, nothing was to much trouble and I have never been made so welcome. our room was fabulous and spotlessly clean and the tea coffee tray was like I had never seen before, well done to you both and we will definitely see u again , 100 out of 10 guy,s Yvonne xxx

Room Tip: we had the roman room, it is very grand, we would like that one again it was quiet and the bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonneadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick F, Owner at The Old Coach House, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Cheers!! Don't forget to ring us direct for the cheapest prices in the future! take care and thanks again! Rick & Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarborough
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Comfy clean room. Great location. Friendly owner. Tasty breakfast and good value. Wont find better in blackpool. 100 yards from pleasure beach. 50 yards to the tram stop with 2 min ride to town. Also just round the corner maybe 200 yards is mcdonalds, yates and dutton arms(good steaks) what more could you ask for!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iainscarb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick F, Owner at The Old Coach House, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Cheers!! Don't forget to ring us direct for the cheapest prices in the future! take care and thanks again! Rick & Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned home after a brief 1 night stay at 'The Old Coach House'.After many overnight stays in Blackpool over the years we have finally found a little gem of a b&b.The room was spotless with a comfy bed and ample tea & coffee provided.Breakfast was superb and the hosts were very attentative without being too pushy.I would say if you are after a good clean establishment with a top class breakfast and nice hosts then look no further.We will be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clarky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Its lovely a hotel, very quiet and homely. Clean and tidy althroughout the hotel. The Owners are very kind and friendly. Often checking if anything is needed. Will be returning often. HIGHLY recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick F, Owner at The Old Coach House, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Cheers!! Don't forget to ring us direct for the cheapest prices in the future! take care and thanks again! Rick & Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#4 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Blackpool
Aparthotel Blackpool
#46 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hornby Villa
The Hornby Villa
#26 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Beaucliffe
The Beaucliffe
#11 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beverley Dean
Beverley Dean
#43 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.2 mi away
FouRooms Blackpool
FouRooms Blackpool
#1 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House

Property: The Old Coach House
Address: 50 Dean Street, Blackpool FY4 1BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Coach House is a 4 star detached Tudor style establishment and is the oldest building in south shore Blackpool, having been built in 1851. We are a family run business and have 11 rooms catering for couples and children aged 5-15. We do not cater for group bookings, or single sex bookings. All rooms are to a high standard with ensuite and flat screen TV's. Please ring direct for the best price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing