We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year 2013/4”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“New Year 2013/4”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Started going to the Queen's for New Year 1995, it has been like one big family, the floors creeked and the food was generally excellent, with well known stars to entertain even though they returned ever other year [ you new what was comming next]. This year the creeks have subsided the entertainment was the best there has ever been well done to the organiser, we haven't had as many meals but we ate too much anyway. The food for the first 2 days was not up to standard as though it had been standing in the kitchen how can you spoil a bacon and egg breakfast but they did. the last morning I complained and got a perfect breakfast, should have spoken out earlier. I have rebooked for next year, don't be put off going, speak up.

Room Tip: Excellent lift facillity to all floors and when the hotel reopens in Feb,. the top 3rd floor should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    138
    104
    77
    72
See reviews for
133
171
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Happy new year to you all at the queens for 2014..

This was our fifth visit to the queens new-year bash ( 5years on ) including two friends with us ..

As normal all staff are great / helpful / polite / well done all :)

Our room looked over the sea and the room was tidy .. it was the same room as last year and has some things changed new shelf above the sink & new mirror but still needs a bit of TLC ...

The hotel has two very modern lifts which are great . as they said will be working this year and are :) Within the lounge area new chairs have been supplied.. Some décor has changed and looks good - it will take time as it had been left alone for many years so will take time.

This new-year was not like last years. The new owners leisureplex have changed the format of the entertainment. WHICH WAS FANTASIC .. as the entertainment is in the big room ( where you have your meals ) from the first night to the third night it was very very good entertainment.
This was down to a Guy called Mike Rossi WELL DONE - Mike this is what the hotel needed for years within the main room having this we have paid our deposit and will be back again for the 2014 /15 bash ..

To be honest the one thing missing on the champagne reception new - years eve was all people in the hotel were told different meal times so less people waiting around in the lounge area . the piano that is normally played was not :(

The hotel will take a lot of money and time to get to a super standard of décor / modern bathrooms etc and creaky floorboards . BUT note its a 2 star and to be honest the beds are new the rooms are clean the food has changed for the better . Well done.. The main part of a new-year event is the entertainment and this year was the best WELL Done ..

See you all again newyears eve 2014/15 ..

Room Tip: Ideal for a new- years entertainment we have been for years - rooms need tlc but beds new - new two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north of england
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

just returned from 1 night stay at this hotel on an Alfa travel bargain. Surprised at the bad reviews, Had sea view room, small but clean and comfortable. The food and entertainment were value for money, staff friendly and efficient. would definately choose this hotel again

Room Tip: seaview room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bulavinaka_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Paid for a twin room with evening meal had no choice of food given beef even tho I was a veggie room was dirty no hot water appalling service would never stay there again disgusting hotel staffed by disgusting people

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Finscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeronicaGorman, Guest Relations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
I am sorry that you were offered Beef for your evening meal when you are vegetarian. We have a complete vegetarian menu and had you asked you would have been offered a choice of vegetarian dishes. The hotel is not dirty and there is plenty of hot water. If you do not speak up at the time and advise the staff of anything that is not up to the standard you are expecting, then go home and complain it is too late. In any hotel it is advisable to raise any concerns with staff as they arise, then they can be resolved leaving you to enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed for one night when we went to see Bill Bailey.
Great to have parking available.
Was a little surprised when we checked in to be told that we would be attending for breakfast at a specific time - not something I have ever experienced before when staying in a hotel, hostel or even holiday camp.
The room was a bit basic - although I didn't expect much more so do not say this as a criticism. I was a little perturbed by the exposed junction boxes in the light fittings and the thermostat which was falling apart in spite of the tape holding it together.
On the whole, we enjoyed our night in Blackpool until breakfast which completely ruined my mood and the trip:
We arrived 10 minutes before our allotted breakfast time - the restaurant was still closed and there were a number of people waiting in the lounge to go in for breakfast. Once the restaurant doors opened, people began to go in to the restaurant and sit at their tables - they were all greeted warmly by the restaurant manager who walked around ensuring everyone was at their correct tables. Our ticket clearly had our table number on it and our table was very close to the restaurant entrance so we went to it. To stand in the entrance would have meant everyone pushing past us to get to their tables. As soon as the restaurant manager saw me, he broke off greeting everyone else, rushed up to me, looked me up and down with utter derision, asked what I was doing and demanded to see our breakfast ticket - which I already had held up in front of him to see. I explained we were at our correctly allotted table which he ignored and demanded to know my name in an overtly disdainful manner. I pointed out that my name was written on the breakfast ticket he was looking at and, in spite of my skin colour, I was able to read English. He then moved off and continued to greet everyone else warmly, make small talk and interact with children. He never once subsequently made eye contact with us - let alone spoke another word to us. We spoke to the duty manager over our experience - indeed, my partner was unable to eat her breakfast and was stunned to the point of tears.
My partner has already posted a review from her perspective - indeed awarding 3/5 so, I think, a very fair review. She also formally complained in writing. The response was utterly unsympathetic and essentially blamed her/us for writing a negative review on Trip Advisor, not requesting a different room, not requesting an alternate time for breakfast, not waiting to be shown to our table (not one other guest waited to be seated in the time we were in the restaurant) and defending the restaurant manager because he has worked at the hotel for many years and has received many compliments over that time. There was no recognition that his behaviour was in any way unacceptable nor that this may have had any negative impact on the experience our trip to Blackpool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SupeRak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYNE&WEAR
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

2 adults 2 kids large family room.
Our room was spot on with an adjoining room for the kids with separate bathrooms all lovely and clean.
The hotel is getting a bit rundown. On an evening it would be nice to sit and look at the lights and people passing but the front conservatory area had a broken windowpane so it was freezing.
We attempted to watch one of the acts but the kids are only allowed in one area that is tiny up away from the stage and unless you get right at the front you can’t see the entertainment.
And not letting the kids on the dance floor is just mental?
So we had to sit in total silence in the lounge area full of OAPs who scowl if the kids make a noise.
The Swimming pool: Very rundown and the Men’s changing area didn’t smell good. The pool itself is ok, but on our first visit a lady turned up who was giving some kids swimming lessons made us feel as though we were in the way of her session with constant staring a shaking of the head. Then a dozen parents stood leering through the windows (not nice) Luckily it didn’t happen again.
The food is ok. Its intended for the older generation, bland and boiled is what you will get. Its edible and fills a hole so to speak. My wife is vegan and they sorted her out no problem. (The waiters and waitresses are great)
Breakfast was good, we like our fish so Kippers Pouched eggs, smoked haddock n eggs was lovely. The full English looked poor.
Overall we got our money’s worth due to the room, food and location. Probably would try and stop somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NO5HIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have just returned from a turkey and tinsel with Alfa to the Queen's. Have to say from some of the write up's we were not looking forward to it. How wrong we were.

Yes it does need up dating in bedrooms but it is an on going project (so be patient Rome wasn't built in a day). The staff are brilliant friendly, welcoming and helpful, the pool is first rate and as for the entertainment best we have encountered in an Alfa Hotel .

Give it a try forget a bit of chipped paint and not quite up to date bathroom and bedroom furniture (except beds that was new and good).This will come in time .
Thanks for a great time see you again in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRIPPERManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#17 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
2.8 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#9 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 467 - 469 South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queens Hotel-Blackpool (3 alpha grading AA 3 star) ideally situated on South Promenade, the Queens is one of Blackpool's larger hotels overlooking the Irish Sea and only a ten minute walk from the famous Pleasure Beach and Sandcastle waterpark. The Queens hotel is the newest addition to Leisureplex Hotels and is a perfect base to explore 'Britain's most popular holiday destination' with its prime location between Central and South piers. 111 Bedrooms have central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, internal telephone, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Generously sized public areas including cocktail bar, recently refurbished theatre bar with superb entertainment, attractive lounges and an indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Extensive coach and car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Hotel Queen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing