We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn beyond repair”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Chorley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worn beyond repair”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This place is an absolute dumb. The room was small, dark and dingy.
The place in general was dated and felt worn down beyond repair. The food was a disgrace with food obviously being heated in a microwave. Every floor board in the place creaked and the walls were paper thin.

If you are younger then the age of 85 I would not recommend as at dinner I felt like I was in a retirement home.



  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LydiaNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeronicaGorman, Guest Relations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We are very sorry that you were so disappointed with the room you were allocated. Unfortunately if you don’t tell anyone of your dissatisfaction with anything then we don’t have the opportunity to resolve any problems. As you are probably aware, we bought this hotel two years ago and have already made some massive improvements to the public areas and third floor bedrooms. This winter we will be refurbishing the second floor bedrooms and next winter the first floor bedrooms. With regard to the food, it would be impossible to prepare over 100 meals in a microwave and can assure you that everything is cooked in the ovens on the premises from scratch. I am sorry that it was not to your taste.
It would appear from your ageist comments that you are a young person and the fact that older people frequent the hotel is surely not a bad thing. They are certainly not of the type who are in “retirement homes” as many are more sprightly than the average 20 years old.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    139
    105
    77
    72
See reviews for
134
172
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just back from 4 days at the QUEENS , glad to see the refurbished rooms that were mentioned last year, great job and very comfortable and as ever everything was spotless clean. The food was excellent as ever and the restaurant ran smoothly under the control of Jack the restaurant manager. Point to make , the tables were too close together this year in the restaurant and they really need to sort out the residents bar in the lounge as it was closed quite a lot which we had not experienced before and was most inconvienient for a lot of the elderly clientel. We still loved the hotel and the friendly staff and will be certain to return . Great value !!!!!

Room Tip: Aways explain you requirements and allow reception to recommend what is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed overnight. Had two twin rooms on top floor overlooking sea staying in rooms 320 and 326. These rooms must have been recently decorated. Every where was spotlessly clean and the carpets seemed brand new. Beds were comfortable and sheets and towels fresh and clean. Room and bathroom the same. Breakfast between 8 and 9 efficiently served and cooked breakfast was delicious. Pleasant and helpful staff in all areas. Children used the swimming pool which is not very large but fortunately was not busy and we were able to borrow armbands.
A five minute walk to pleasure beach and south pier and straight across the road for access to the beach and trams. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There is a lift to all floors. There was evening entertainment on but staying on the top floor we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynda o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having stayed at the Queens again this year there seemed very little change to the tired effect of previous years.

However I have been assured that some of the bedrooms on the upper floors have been refurbished and the rest of the hotel will be done over the next year.
I look forward to my visit next year to see the improvment.

The real shining light of my visit was the staff, who could not do enough and the manager Alex worked his socks off, starting at 7am and still going to 11pm. The whole team are a valuable asset to the owning company

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have been refurbished so should be really up to scratch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
rugby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

went to this hotel for 2 nights stay, had 2 rooms on the 3rd floor, one double and one single (great rooms), I think all the rooms on this floor have been refurbished.
great locations for pleasure beach and near to the south pier.
nice swimming pool but closes at 5:30, could have been open a little later.
breakfast at 8 to 9 and very enjoyable, again could of been later if you wanted to stay in bed latter, did not worry us as we went to the pleasure beach for 2 days.
All in all a very good stay and will check out this hotel in future if returning to Blackpool.

Room Tip: try and get rooms on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markhRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed as a party of 7 over the bank holiday weekend. Most of the staff very friendly, rooms in need of an update but comfortable. Stayed in room 117 and sleep was impossible due to creaky floorboards and the fact it was located above the entertainment room. Was told we couldn't move rooms due to having no more family rooms. Food was of a very very poor standard and very few choices. Saying that, breakfast was ok (ish). Will not be visiting again :(

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaJacko42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
u k
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Good hotel bar food very reasonable staff friendly rooms very clean entertainment good only down side evening meal not worth 15 pounds but complained and fair enough got a refund with no problems jaccuzzi needs cleaning full of grit but over all I think this a great find

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathyandyandgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#17 of 70 in Blackpool
1,117 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
1,498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#27 of 70 in Blackpool
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
1,007 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,094 reviews
2.8 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#9 of 70 in Blackpool
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 467 - 469 South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queens Hotel-Blackpool (3 alpha grading AA 3 star) ideally situated on South Promenade, the Queens is one of Blackpool's larger hotels overlooking the Irish Sea and only a ten minute walk from the famous Pleasure Beach and Sandcastle waterpark. The Queens hotel is the newest addition to Leisureplex Hotels and is a perfect base to explore 'Britain's most popular holiday destination' with its prime location between Central and South piers. 111 Bedrooms have central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, internal telephone, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Generously sized public areas including cocktail bar, recently refurbished theatre bar with superb entertainment, attractive lounges and an indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Extensive coach and car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Hotel Queen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing