We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of McHalls Bistro

McHalls Bistro
Ranked #1 of 713 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$14
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opening Hours: Friday and Saturday: Serving 5pm - 10pm (food orders 5pm - 7.3pm) Sunday: 1pm - 5pm (last orders3pm) Reservations not always necessary.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked based on the recommendations on Trip Advisor and weren't disappointed. Beautifully cooked food combined with Dannys charming hosting made it a great night. We will definitely be going back. Thank you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    25
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top banana!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We visited this restaurant purely on the recommendation of TripAdvisor and we were very impressed and had a great night. Although is was the annual Punk weekend and the place was empty apart from us which I understand is unheard of as tbe place is so popular, both the food a service were second to none. The place has a very welcoming atmosphere and makes you feel at ease from the moment you walk in. We will definitely visit Mchalls again in the future and strongly recommend a visit. Cheers lads your were great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daveburgess21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“2nd and 3rd visit.... Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We went for our anniversary meal at McHalls, service and food was excellent that we have now been 3 times. Danny is warm, funny and an excellent host. Gavin's cooking is sublime. Would highly recommend to anyone, can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J0anne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great service. We will definitely be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I came up to Blackpool from Wiltshire with friends to celebrate our wedding. Our friends had booked McHalls based on tripadvisor reviews and we didn't really know what to expect. Our table was booked for Friday 8 August at 7pm. On our journey up it was apparent that we would not make the booking due to long delays. Danny was very understanding and accommodating and reserved us a table for the Saturday night instead. We are so pleased he did. On arrival Danny was friendly and welcoming and made us feel at ease straight away. He was funny, attentive and helpful and we had a brilliant time in his company. So much so, we decided to stay for drinks at the bar once the meal was over.Galvin's food was simply amazing. The best meal we had all had for some time. Based on our visit to McHalls we are coming back to Blackpool and intend to stay at McHalls as well as eat there. Thank you so much Danny and Galvin.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MWic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Anniversary meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We postponed the celebration of our anniversary as McHalls were fully booked for the night we wanted, so we waited an extra week. We weren't disappointed, from the minute we walked in we were made to feel at home. Service was excellent, even taking the time to learn our first names. I have a food allergy and I rarely, if ever, get the chance to actually eat what I want when I go out for a meal, but not here~I had my own special menu.
Nothing was too much trouble, I would happily recommend this lovely bistro to anyone; I can guarantee once you've tried it, you'll be back.
Thank you to our hosts Gavin and Danny.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McHalls Bistro also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to McHalls Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing