We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit and looking forward to the third.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Friends Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #208 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our second visit to The B and B and even better than the last one ! The owner has clearly spent a huge amount of time and effort over the Winter months, with further enhancements including flat screen TV's (with DVD player) in the room and also freshly decorated rooms and hallways. John remembered us from our last visit (which is always a nice touch) and feels like 'home from home'.

A cooked breakfast was also included in the price, with the added choice of a 'lighter option. I opted for a sausage and egg sandwich on the second day which hit the spot perfectly and clearly all of the breakfasts were cooked to order, which avoids the awful experience of food being 'warmed up'.

If your looking to stay somewhere in Blackpool which provides great value for money, with a perfect location then stay with John at 'The B and B'.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5. Lovely large and bright room at the top of the building with a view of the Blac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkyMark56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDoctorIsIn2010, Owner at Friends Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Guest - thank you for your review and I am delighted that you had an enhanced stay at the B&B. You are right that much work has been done to the B&B since your first visit and I am glad you approve of all the upgrades. The lighter 'Breakfast sandwich' option at breakfast has been proving popular - just choose a couple of cooked ingredients to go in fresh white or brown bread. Your room is one of 3 that has had flatscreen TVs installed with built-in DVD players. Both family rooms have them. The other two rooms have standard flatscreen TVs. It was a delight to see you again at the B&B and I very much look forward to visit number 3 :-) Regards, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

We Recently visited blackpool and stayed at the B&B. Great little find, very near to the centre of town. We stayed in room 5 at the top, which had a comfy large bed and a view of the blackpool tower, flat screen telly and en-suite. The room was fresh and clean and very large ! It was also very quiet, thanks John we had a great time and look forward to staying with you again soon.

Room Tip: If you want a larger room with a view of the tower choose room 5 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDoctorIsIn2010, Owner at Friends Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and the 5/5 scores in all areas - I do appreciate that very much. As you say room 5 (2nd/top floor) is the largest in the B&B with King bed, en suite shower room and even room for a small sofa and an extra single bed. The B&B is on a quiet side street but only 5 minutes walk to the Tower, beach, Winter Gardens and town centre shops. I am pleased you found the room fresh and clean and it does indeed have a great rooftop view of the Tower. Good 'traveller tip' too. I very much look forward to seeing you again at the B&B in the future. Regards, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My partner and I stayed in March for the weekend and we were both so impressed. John made us feel so welcome and comfortable and cooked us a great breakfast. The room was fresh, clean, comfortable,recently painted and represented great value. Location is great, very central to all the main attractions. We were very pleased he had on site parking too, most of the surrounding guest houses didn't appear to have this. Excellent experience and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaun travels e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDoctorIsIn2010, Owner at Friends Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Guest - thank you for your review and I am delighted that you had such a good stay at the B&B Blackpool. Thank you also for your comments about the rooms and the breakfast (and the owner!) - much appreciated. As you say, the B&B is very central so it is quick and easy to get to all the attractions, shops, beach etc. I am glad you appreciated the parking. Though there are only 2 spaces (please book parking in advance! LOL) it is certainly helpful as there is no free parking in the road outside. I am glad you concluded with 'Excellent experience and will definitely be staying again' as I would certainly be delighted to welcome you back here any time. Regards, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Visited the B and B in Blackpool for a friends birthday. A lovely traditional seaside bed and breakfast which offers excellent value for money. A warm welcome awaited us by John the owner where we were shown to our recently redecorated and re carpeted room. Breakfast was cooked to order and spot on with various choices available, I would certainly recommend the scrambled egg on toast. A great location close to all attractions and the seafront. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDoctorIsIn2010, Owner at Friends Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Reviewer - thank you very much for your excellent review - much appreciated. I am glad you had such a good stay at the B&B Blackpool. As you say your room has recently been refurbished and recarpeted. I am delighted you enjoyed the breakfast so much. I very much hope to be able to welcome you back to the B&B is the future. Regards, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Thank you for such a great stay, this is our second visit and will be back again later this year. As normal room was amazing, bed was lovely and comftable and breakfast made to order. Great job done by John who is friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDoctorIsIn2010, Owner at Friends Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Hi and thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the B&B Blackpool and I am really pleased with your comments. It is all about BED and BREAKFAST and you have praised both - much appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back with your children later in the year. Thank you again. Regards, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

With there being so many b a bs in blackpool its hard ti tick every box. Location. Parking. Breakfast. Comfortable bed and reasonable price. The b a b has just done them all. Close to tower. Parking. Great breakfast. New beds. Great price we will be back and don't need to go anywhere else. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDoctorIsIn2010, Owner at Friends Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your review - much appreciated :-) I am pleased the B&B was able to tick all the right boxes for you. As you say, the location is central but quiet, there is (limited) on-site parking and your bed was nice and comfortable. I aim to keep the prices competitive with a cheaper rate for the Winter season and weekdays. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast - it's a hearty start to the day (though lighter options remain available). Thank you again - and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. regards, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My Husband and I stayed for 2 nights in February. John was very friendly and welcoming. Room was spot on, lovely and clean. Breakfast was cooked to order so nice and fresh. The hotel is in an ideal location so not far to all local attractions. We will definitely staying with John again in the near future :-).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDoctorIsIn2010, Owner at Friends Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast. I believe I have sourced good fresh ingredients including tomatoes on the vine. Thank you for your comments regarding the room cleanliness and the location. My most frequently-asked questions before booking are: how close are you to a) the Tower b) the town centre and c) the beach. The answer to all of those is '5 minutes walk'. Although central the B&B is on a quiet side street up from Central Pier so it is ideally situated. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the B&B next time you are heading to Blackpool and thank you again. Regards, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Address
The Address
#145 of 863 in Blackpool
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#86 of 863 in Blackpool
214 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,338 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
577 reviews
1.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Bed & Breakfast

Address: 32 Reads Avenue, Blackpool FY1 4BP, England (Formerly The B&B Blackpool)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £40 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Friends Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned and run B&B in the heart of Blackpool. The B&B has been undergoing refurbishment during 2018 with decorating taking place in the breakfast room and all bedrooms plus the fitting of new bedroom carpets. There are 5 double bedrooms, 4 of which have en suite shower rooms. Room Two has additional beds if required and making these ideal family rooms or space for an additional adult. Room Two also has a walk-in bay window with chairs and a coffee table, ideal to watch the world pass by. All rooms have new flatscreen Freeview TVs and tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms Two, Four and Five have TVs with built-in DVD players. In-room tea/coffee facilities are provided to all B&B guests. White bedding and towels have been bought for all rooms. Limited off street parking is available please book. Full English Breakfast is included in the standard room rate. Lighter options and children's breakfasts are also available. If you have any dietary needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Friends Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing