We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very noisy night ”
Review of Danescourt Lodge

Danescourt Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Danescourt Lodge
Ranked #256 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very noisy night ”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to take our 8 year old son and 6 year old daughter to blackpool for a weekend break. We left it pretty short notice and after reading pretty good reviews for danescourt lodge we opted to book for the Saturday night. Now when we got here we were greeted by a young man who was pleasant enough and who showed us to our room. Our room was number 6 and to be fair was pretty clean although very small. Now this is where things started to go downhill. My wife spotted stains on the bedding which wasn't very attractive and when asked to close the open window because of the cold coming in I found out that the casement stay was hanging off and therefore I could not close the window properly. This was an old single glazed casement type window and was probably in need of replacing. Apart from the young man whom we met on arrival we never seen anyone else which was extremely strange as we heard plenty in fact the noise from above us was terrible banging,shouting,crying etc.
We had all spent the day at the pleasure beach and decided we just wanted an early night so we could do something together the next day so we all went to bed early but by midnight we were all awakened by the noise from above and an absolutely horrendous drunken karaoke from which we could not source where it was coming from the noise was terrible we also heard beer bottles being put into bins several times.The singing, swearing ,banging and shouting from the room above the doorbell ringing and the wind rattling the broken window. All this noise meant there was no way any of us were going to sleep. In the end up at 1.45 am we made the decision to leave and just go home, sounds crazy but an hour and a half drive to a decent nights sleep was definitely the best option. My wife did try to contact the hotel staff to let them know of our plan but despite all the noise within the place we couldn't get a hold of anyone. The service has to be questionable and I will wait and see if they take full payment even though we never had breakfast or even stayed the whole night. I can't really comment on the staff as like I said we never seen anyone. And to be fair the place was clean and tidy with minor things like stains to bedding and broken windows but if you have young children this place maybe isn't suitable if you are looking for a quiet nights sleep. The danescourt lodge is very close to the pleasure beach and right over the road from the south pier so location wise is good and maybe some noise is to be expected but the drunken shouting singing and swearing which wasn't coming from our hotel but must have been next door was to much to take. When we left our car was parked further down the street and as we walked down a shady looking guy was coming toward us as we passed him he turned and followed us until we reached our car then he ducked into a nearby doorway all very strange and a bit scary. Definitely not a place to be walking around late at night ! Anyway this has no relevance to this particular hotel but all in all we won't return here as we just didn't find it met our expectations and found no one of whom could help with the situation. This experience probably ruined what had been a great day all round . Can't comment on food or staff but do have to question the service of the staff. Definitely not a place for a quiet night especially with young kids.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We booked a last minute break as my son (13yr) wanted to g t the pleasure beach, We actually stayed in Danesloge (same family wner next dr but 1). We were graciously & warmly greeted by owner David. He showed us the facilities (bar with pool table , comfortable quiet sitting room, etc...) as he took our bags to the room. His excellent local knowledge was as helpful as it was impressive, making our stay even better.
The small en-suite twin room was petite practical perfection ideal for short break. It was a tad compact but we knew that when booking so no complaints here, More importantly it was immaculately clean. lovely & warm, bright, had a well stocked in room tea & coffee tray, nice clean white towels in the spotless en suite with complimentary toiletries & comfy beds! The free wifi was a fantastic bonus.
Breakfast was excellent. The service came with a cheery good morning -no lukewarm service or food here, Everything was cooked fresh & service with a smile. It was a great start to the day.
The hotel itself is well placed for all the main attractions with free parking opposite if you can get it, if not there is a pay & display a bare stretch of the legs from it. No need to take the car to sandcastle or pleasure beach paying for parking because you're so close staying here..
We enjoyed it so much we booked a second night!
The steps down to breakfast are quite steep but given the level of customer service this hotel delivers if these might prove too difficult I would suggest ringing the hotel & discussing things with them.
Thank you David & staff for a lovely break- your excellent hospitality encouraged us to extend our Blackpool stay. A certain big hotel we recently had the displeasure to endure in Manchester could learn a lot from you.

Room Tip: Ring up & talk to them - based on our experience they will do their best to accommodate your nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have just returned from this hotel after only staying one night. We found the hotel to be very clean and had everything we needed. Our room was of a decent size with 5 beds and had a modern decor. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was really nice and set us up for the day. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeEag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Spent a great weekend here for our sons 7th birthday. Close to the Pleasure Beach, Sandcastle and South Pier. Very clean rooms, friendly attentive staff, a great choice of breakfast. Would recommend a stay at this b and b ( I am quite funny about accommodation and beds my husband found Danescourt Lodge deffo a good choice).

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank andieaandshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have now been stopping with Andrew and David on and off for the last six years at there sister hotel the danescourt which is just two doors away from the lodge..due to the hotel been full we was offered a room in the lodge.....and wow we was given one of the newly renovated rooms which they have made a flipping good job of large comfy beds feather duvets white fluffy towels very cosy....we have always enjoyed our breakfast at the hotel and so we was a little dubious if the standards were going to be the same.....again no worries there they have suppassed there self yet again yummy hot and plenty of choices on the menu to suit everyone.....only problem now is which one do we book next time...cheers guys see you in February....I'd better flip a coin lol xxx

Room Tip: As most hotels in Blackpool are Victorian don't expect huge rooms but we find this hotel to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

On arrival waited 5 minutes for bell to be answered,then taken to extremely small room whereby two people could not stand up together and a double bed was only 4 foot wide.
Breakfast very average and had to ask for condiments on table.Only ones staying at hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edderglen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We are a family of 5 and stayed on Saturday 9th November. The rooms are of a decent size with enough space considering how many beds we needed in our room. It's not always easy for us as 5 to be accommodated in one room. The room and en suite were immaculate.
The bar on site was great and suited us as children were allowed in. Very family friendly.
David was very helpful and the perfect host.
Breakfast was gorgeous and just what we all needed.
We would recommend Danescourt to anyone and we will definitely be staying here again when we go to Blackpool again. Fantastic - thank you the kids loved it as well. The Radcliffes, Halifax.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriandPaulRadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Granville Hotel - Guest House
0.0 mi away
Danescourt Hotel
Danescourt Hotel
#92 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#227 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Minotel Lucena
Minotel Lucena
#92 of 126 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danescourt Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danescourt Lodge

Property: Danescourt Lodge
Address: 14 Station Road, Blackpool FY4 1BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Danescourt Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Danescourt Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing