We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Farnborough”
Review of The Farnborough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Farnborough
Ranked #773 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Nothing special, but great for a couple nights stay. Could do with updating, modernising but you get what you pay for. Myself and friends paid £15 per night with breakfast, so we couldn't complain. Didn't have hair dryer as stated, and no door number on my room door, but clean. Just needs few touch ups, owners were friendly.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Georgia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Firstly I'd like to say the reviews are not all what they seem.
I stayed here as a single male for a week , the hotel looks very respectable from the outside compared to others I've seen
On arrival I was greeted by the manager , and checked in , I was upgraded from a single bedroom with shared bathroom , to a twin room with fully working en suite .
The room was clean the bed was clean and comfortable .
The bar . It was quite social with lots of other holiday makers (but not over priced)
Great for having a few drinks before heading into town
Breakfast was good . Didn't taste cheap
All in all I had a great stay and would defiantly go back ..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for a few days with my partner and our two children. We had the family room on the first floor which was a lovely bright room with pine furniture. The bathroom looked brand new and the shower was great. Breakfast was a real treat and set us up for the morning. We thought the place was good value and will definitely go again!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

There was 11 of us staying here altogether. Bar was never open games room was closed and when it was open the only working this was the bandit. Rooms were disgusting one of the rooms didn't have a shower another the shower was over flowing. The beds were uncomfortable springs sticking out of the mattresses carpets were dirty and thick with dirt. Windows were covered in grime and bird poo. We were charged or a family room for 4 and only giving a triple. Charged for breakfast twice which was then freezing when it was giving to us we were charged for an extra glass of orange juice. The whole place was dirty damp and smelly. We were giving 2 towels between three people. I can safely say all 11 of us will never be staying in this hotel again it is horrendous that the place is still open. I would not recommend staying here don't believe the good reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaiicee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights and can honsetly say was one of the worst hotels i have stayed in as soon as we walked in the front door we could tell it was not the cleanest of places it had a stale smell to it the rooms were very small the shower did not work properly so had to get a cold one the best ting about it were the beds they were really comfy you only had half an hour for breakfast wich left a lot to be desired it wasnt a bufffet you helped yourself to cereals but whilst you were eating them they were bringing your breakfast to you so you had to eat them quickly we had to ask for more toast as we onlt got 3 slices between 4 of us and same with the coffee and tea there was tea and coffee ect in the rooms on the first day but it never got replaced so had to ask for that too so be warned before you consider booking this hotel i certainly will not be staying there again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel was awful. I have never stayed in a hotel like this before. The one and only staff member was very nice maybe a bit to nice for some. When we arrived the rooms we wanted were not available and we were moved several times. I wouldn't even sleep there if it was for FREE. The bathroom was awful like it was from the 20s it was so bad I stayed out in the cold all day and left early in the morning. The smell was enough to knock you out please don't believe the good reviews about this hotel

Room Tip: Tip is not to book here!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyLouGuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Myself and my boyfriend booked the farnbrough for 5 days, we arrived here and the mangers firt reply was "oh I forgot about you two" then infromed us that there is electric work going on and that we would have too move down to the other hotel the greenmount, so we went along with it the room that we got there was stains on the towels, both lamps in the room didnt work aswell as the shower didn't have hot water, , I asked to speak with the manger his reply was are you two not happy I can refund your money there was no apologly so the manger moved us to a different room also we heard the manger say to his staff why do they have to be so misrable about, which I don't think that wanting a shower that has hot water is asking a lot ,, the room we moved to hae an electric shower although if u moved the shower head it would come out the wall . Don't stay here

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.8 mi away
The Headlands
The Headlands
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
301 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,171 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Greenmount Hotel
The Greenmount Hotel
#592 of 861 in Blackpool
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aberford Hotel
Aberford Hotel
#292 of 861 in Blackpool
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Croft
The Croft
#47 of 133 in Blackpool
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farnborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farnborough

Address: 13-17 Bairstow Street, Blackpool FY1 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #773 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £47 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farnborough 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Farnborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing