We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY DISAPPOINTED!”
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #157 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Just returned back from the Bedford after having spent a holiday weekend there. Was very disappointed in this hotel, although to be honest, it's probably not the worst in Blackpool, depending on what your expectations are. Very basic hotel. Our room had a separate toilet and then a separate bathroom, both very dated. There was a step up to the level of the beds which was particularly dangerous in the middle of the night for the elderly and children who forgot it was there. Lift is very cramped and gets stuck if the wooden door is not closed properly and has no alarm button to make people aware of this when they do get stuck which is scary for anyone who does gets stuck inside. The stairway is very narrow too. Food left a lot to be desired. Children's meals are non existent apart from chicken nuggets being served up that looked as though they had been scrapped off the kitchen floor after a couple of days. I wouldn't feed a dog what they put down to the kids and they had no menu choice either. It was as if they couldn't be bothered feeding the kids and just gave them any old rubbish! The swimming pool is incredibly small, suitable for only young children and the entertainment was, well....non existent. I could have had done a better job of that myself. Starts at 8 and finished for 10 p.m. Hello, I mean even a bit of background music or something would have sufficed. Can't believe they pay people to endure customers that suffering! Definitely looks nothing like what the brochure advertises. Blackpool Promotions should be ashamed to charge £99 per child to suffer that. NEVER AGAIN!!!.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank hellobud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

I am sorry to hear the guests did not enjoy their stay, we try very hard to make everyone’s stay an enjoyable experience, but as always if you don’t let us know what your problems are during your stay we are unable to rectify them for you, Large Family rooms where the en-suite facilities are split in the bedrooms are very popular as whilst in the bedroom the toilet can be used separately to the shower/bathroom. The lift is serviced monthly; as the hotel is a Victorian Building we are limited to the size and type. A gated lift is the most suitable model for the building; also the lift has never broken down while in service and does have an emergency button. Children have the full choice of the 4 course table d’hôtel menu, with the extra daily choice of small type meals (i.e. Sausage, Mash & Beans, Chicken Nuggets, Macaroni Cheese, Fish Fingers, Chicken Teddies, Turkey Dinosaurs, Burgers, Chips & Beans) The Swimming Pool is 15 meters long and is set to a temperature of 32oC, but as none of you used the leisure facilities I again cannot understand your comments, and as you informed myself you wished you’d brought some swimming costumes. As you booked through a coach operator we cannot control the price you pay and especially what you pay for the children. I feel the service; facilities and standards of accommodation we provide far exceed the guest’s basic comment! If the guests would like to return to the hotel, I will ensure their stay is to our highest of standards and receive our up most attention and service. Once again I apologise the guest did not enjoy their stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

This is the second time we stayed at the Hotel due to a competition our daughter was competing in. This is ideally situated within walking distance of the town but far enough out to avoid loud crowds! There is a large room at the front with views out to the sea. Parking available immediately out the front, however once we parked the car we had no need to use it again until we went home.

The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and glad to see the same faces there. Staff were very accommodating and families are made to feel welcome.

Food is fine and plenty of it! Rooms are clean and provide what you need but don't expect total luxury however how many people stay in their room all day! The pool is enjoyed. Dave the barman is a legend!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NEAVSIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, myself and all the staff really do try to make guests stay most enjoyable, and if we can be of any assistance we will do our best to help. I am pleased you used and enjoyed the swimming pool. We look forward to welcoming you back. Once again thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

great time had by all 54 of us, no complaints staff were fab thanks to adrian for his fast service , his willingness to help , to david at the bar great fun guy always up for a laugh, food was always good rooms were basic but clean and warm all the boys loved the poola nd the snooker table , entertainment was good and karaoke was fun, it helps when your friends all want to star , fairmuirboysclub.com boys weree 10/11 years old and would go back tommorow if they could , no kid ever said he was bored

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve17_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, myself and all the staff really do try to make guests stay most enjoyable, and if we can be of any assistance we will do our best to help. I am pleased you used and enjoyed the swimming pool. We look forward to welcoming you back. Once again thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Went on a re-union and stayed in this hotel. The room was basic but clean. Small en-suite, which could do with updating. There is a lift to all floors. We were disturbed in the middle of the night by whoever was upstair doing a 'highland fling' but other than that we had a decent nights sleep. Breakfast was fast and excellent. We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: take your swimsuit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandyjenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I apologise for the noisy neighbours, and if you would have informed me I would have certainly mentioned it to them. We look forward to welcoming you back, Once again thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

could not fault it brilliant room good food lovely staff very helpfull nice warm swimming pool and good sauna we used both on our stay their.
will be stopping their again one off the best we have stopped at in blackpool keep up the good work

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayne076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us; we look forward to welcoming you back, Once again thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Loved it guys, who are the idiots who wrote that rediculous feed back about your hotel, Comfortable rooms, adrian and the barman, both great guys. Be back to work in Blackpool in 2011, Will be sure to come book back in with you guys.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy030177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us; we look forward to welcoming you back, Once again thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Have just returned from a one night short break and this hotel offers excellent service and accommodation. Good location - close enough to the town centre to be near anything you may want to do, but just far enough away to be quiet on an evening.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Blackpool.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsmeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for your kind comments, we try our best to make guests stay more enjoyable, We look forward to welcoming you back, thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,259 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,597 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#20 of 73 in Blackpool
432 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Address: 298 - 300 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £36 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the finest positions on Blackpool's exclusive North Promenade, the 42 bedroomed Bedford is the ideal base for your holiday, just a short walk from the Town Center, North Pier, Blackpool Tower, and within easy reach of Blackpool Pleasure Beach. The Bedford hotel has been awarded a Quality Plus status, Blackpool's highest quality standard, an has been family run for over 50 years, establishing itself as one of the areas best. We have a enviable reputation for first class food and service. Sea view rooms, luxury sea view lounge and a well stocked bar with live entertainment throughout the main season. Whether your visit is for pleasure or business, take a well deserved swim in our indoor heated pool, or sit back and relax in the turbo spa or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing