We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast”
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #140 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Five days at The Bedford with my daughter.We were initially delighted at getting a seaview room.Sadly the rooms cleanliness wasnt up to scratch.Breakfast was the best meal of the day as the evening meals were poorly prepared.I would recommend The Bedford as a B+B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizB552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for your comments, I really wish you had mentioned something to a member of staff then we could have rectified or at least been given the opportunity to rectify the problems. We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back, and give us the chance to provide our normally high service. Once again thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for The Bedford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just back from a week's holiday at this hotel. We were in a ground floor room which had it's own wee lounge with a fantastic view of the Irish Sea. The hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable. The food is excellent and plenty of it, they don't skimp on the portions. Every member of staff is pleasant and helpful, they made you feel more than welcome. My only grumble was that the pool was a bit on the cool side, another couple of degrees wouldn't go amiss. If we go back to Blackpool then it's the Bedford for us. Thanks to all the staff for a great holiday

Room Tip: Room 4 has it's own wee lounge overlooking the Irish Sea
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amp58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, we try our best to make guests stay more enjoyable, I am pleased you used and enjoyed the facilities and apologises if you found the pool a bit cool, I have turned the temperature up to 29 degrees now. I will pass on your kind comments to all members of staff. We look forward to welcoming you back, thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable weekend at the Bedford Hotel. Sea view rooms were clean, spacious, comfortable and reasonably priced. Food was very good and plentiful, bar prices very reasonable. The hotel has a very pleasant atmosphere and all staff were helpful and approachable. For a small hotel the pool was a good size providing good fun for little ones. Good parking and easy access to the town centre.Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bedford Hotel and will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are very spacious/ Lift to all floors
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we really do try to make guests stay most enjoyable, and if we can be of any assistance we will do our best to help. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Once again thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We found this hotel after a nightmare experience with another one close by. We were given a discount, For which we were very grateful after throwing money away on the 'disaster down the road'. The room was clean, the food was very good and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We were amazed at the size of the pool for such a small hotel. It was quiet and seems to attract a nice sensible type of guest. We have every intention of using the Bedford much more in the future. Perhaps when we go to town on shopping trips or to the theatre and most definitely for their bargain price winter breaks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay again with us, myself and all the staff really do try to make guests stay most enjoyable, and if we can be of any assistance we will do our best to help. I am pleased you took full advantage of the indoor swimming pool and you enjoyed our food. We look forward to welcoming you back. If you telephone me before your next visit I will allocate a sea view at no extra charge if available and offer you our best possible tariff. Once again thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

just back from a 3 night stay at this hotel and would like to say that it was excellent value updated on arrival to half board food great staff cannot do enough for you will be going back the pool was very good and very clean tram stop just a short walk from hotel if you want a good hotel then this is the one

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay again with us, myself and all the staff really do try to make guests stay most enjoyable, and if we can be of any assistance we will do our best to help. We look forward to welcoming you back. Once again thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

this hotel is just ok stayed here for 3 nights,couid do with a revamp very much out of date but on the poss side does have a car park the staff are very nice and the food is good,will stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

I am sorry to hear the guests only thought their stay was ok; we do try and make guests stay most enjoyable. We completely redecorate the whole inside and outside of the hotel every couple of years and make repairs and touch ups as an when needed, New Bedroom Carpets are laid every couple of years also! I am pleased the guests found the food good and the staff very nice. If the guests would like to return to the hotel, I will ensure their stay is to our highest of standards. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend break August bank holiday 2013. The hotel was fully booked and car parking was a bit like musical chairs but thanks to the receptionist acting as a parking valet, it wasn't a problem. The hotel is situated right on the promenade about a 10 min. walk to the tower. The room we had was small but clean (top floor facing inland) with a flat screen TV. and tea/coffee making facilities. The dining room and bar are situated in the basement and the lovely heated pool is on the ground floor. Breakfast was good and the bar comfortable to relax in. Enjoyed stay at hotel, The only slight negative being the small lift which could be a problem for elderly or very young as the sliding metal grille door has a strong spring,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, myself and all the staff really do try to make guests stay most enjoyable, and if we can be of any assistance we will do our best to help. I will pass on your kind comments to other members of staff. I am pleased you took full use of the swimming pool. I apologises over the Lift grille, this has to be quite strong for safety reasons, children are not supposed to be allowed in the lift without being accompanied by an adult and we do assist the elderly where possible, but please accept my apologises. We look forward to welcoming you back. Once again thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#53 of 73 in Blackpool
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#13 of 73 in Blackpool
890 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Address: 298 - 300 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £44 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the finest positions on Blackpool's exclusive North Promenade, the 42 bedroomed Bedford is the ideal base for your holiday, just a short walk from the Town Center, North Pier, Blackpool Tower, and within easy reach of Blackpool Pleasure Beach. The Bedford hotel has been awarded a Quality Plus status, Blackpool's highest quality standard, an has been family run for over 50 years, establishing itself as one of the areas best. We have a enviable reputation for first class food and service. Sea view rooms, luxury sea view lounge and a well stocked bar with live entertainment throughout the main season. Whether your visit is for pleasure or business, take a well deserved swim in our indoor heated pool, or sit back and relax in the turbo spa or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing