We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #135 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Linlithgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great deal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Booked a last minute night away reception guy very nice and so helpful rooms fine although beds very hard breakfast great selection.
lovely hotel highly recommended for short stays even has a happy hour in the nicely sized bar

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debi_borst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and please accept my apologises over the firmness of your bed, if you had mentioned anything I could have replaced it with a softer mattress, we look forward to welcoming you back, Once again thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    189
    70
    35
    38
See reviews for
129
247
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

room was nice and clean, bit on small side but adequate for a 1 night stay,
check-in was very good ,very pleasant receptionist,
bar was nice and barman welcoming
breakfast was delicious,,cereal,toast and preserves,full english plus other options,tea or coffee,and fruit juices
would stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duffyspireite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, myself and all the staff really do try to make guests stay most enjoyable, and if we can be of any assistance we will do our best to help. I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and found we had a large selection on offer. I will pass on your kind comments on to members of staff. We look forward to welcoming you back. Once again thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My best friend was having his 30th birthday party in the bar, unfortunately I could not stay as they we're full with a lot of darts people so stayed in Hotel next door, however I have stayed in the bedrooms before and they are comfortable , clean and great value, anyway back to the party! What a great evening , Dave the barman and his assistant were welcoming , warm and friendly , the bar had a great selection of drinks and the evening entertainment turned out to be a great crowd pleaser , after some amount of feedback on his playlist lol, great night , thanks guys x

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, myself and all the staff do try our best to make a guests stay more relaxing and enjoyable, I am pleased you enjoyed your friend’s birthday celebrations, and I will pass on your kind comments to Dave and Kevin, thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights and found it to be very good value for money. the staff are very friendly and are always at the front desk ready to answer any questions or recommend local restaurants. the breakfasts are tasty and served at a reasonable hour. would definitely stay there again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, I am pleased the guests enjoyed their stay at the Bedford and they found us a very friendly hotel. We really do try. If there is anything we can do to help make a guests stay more enjoyable, we are only happy to be of assistance, if we can help we will. We look forward to welcoming you back and once again thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We booked a little weekend break (friday - monday) arrived at the Bedford hotel friday evening, the receptionist was friendly. our room however was very small and there was a lot of dust in some parts of the room which is to be expected in certain areas e.g.: under radiators etc however there was dust on the frames of the chairs next to the bed, around the light fixtures which did not have covering on it. Our room was a sea view room however was very small and felt claustrophobic... when the window was open it would lift the polyester celling up a substantial amount, not feeling very safe.

We informed the gentleman on reception of the ceiling being lifted thinking that it would be under his interest under the health and safety regulations however he replied with "how about you keep ya window shut?' - We would have however the room was claustrophobic enough and full of dust. To be fair to the gentleman he did move us to a different room and upgraded us to a family room (accidentally... as he thought that we were booked in under a different name) that was more spacious than the previous however the same problem persisted with the ceiling lifting whenever someone opened a door next to, below or above us.

The room we vacated was occupied fairly quickly so I assume that this hotel is quite popular with certain individuals.

We travel quite a lot so are used to not having our own bed to sleep in, however the beds in this hotel were very hard, when coupled with the ceiling being lifted contributed to a very broken nights sleep indeed.

The breakfast is served 830 - 930 daily, very friendly people serving bringing you toast tea and the "full english" with a choice of egg fried, poached or boiled... however unless you ask they will not offer and bring you a fried egg as standard. choice of cereal, juice and yogurt in the centre of the dinning area.
the hotel is located about a 15 min walk from the north pier main attractions such as sea life, madam tusaudres and the town centre.

For the price it was a very basic somewhat run down hotel however friendly and chatty non the less.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandE8893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Bars Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
As a humble Lancastrian with a rather broad accent I can never recall using the word “Ya” in my life! But I do recall dealing with your concerns at the time, as a Victorian building with very high ceiling most of the rooms have suspended ceilings. These are made from a modern fire retardant materials and not one polyester tile exists in any ceilings. At the time of your observations the Fylde coast was being battered by 80 mph gales with gusts up to 110 mph. When I suggested moving your room to a more sheltered side room, I choose the room that was most convenient for you, as you accidentally gave me the wrong room number (206 not 208), which I only realised when you eventually returned the key some 3 hours later, it was not until the evening of the second day that you brought these matters to our attention, as all our full time day staff and managers had finished I dealt with this as best I could. The hotel menu is comprehensive and our waiting staff are very efficient and polite. At the time the hotel was festooned with notices asking guests to keep front windows and doors closed. With houses, trees and railways being tossed like matchsticks by mother nature perhaps a little common sense should prevail, the room was not re-let until the following Monday, when all the sand and brick dust etc, which had been blown in was completely cleaned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at the Bedford from Friday until Sunday and we couldnt fault our stay. From walking through the doors the customer service and welcome we received was top class. The room was of a good size, lovely and warm and spotlessly clean. The swimming pool and sauna were an added bonus. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice. All the communal areas were spotless and the bar even had happy hour. Thank you for a brilliant weekend, the only thing that let us down was the weather(unfortunately out of the hotels control otherwise im sure they would have sorted that for us)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allyson_stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, myself and all the staff really do try to make guests stay most enjoyable, and if we can be of any assistance we will do our best to help. I am pleased you used and enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna and you found our breakfast brilliant with plenty of choice. We look forward to welcoming you back and we will do our best with the weather next time. Once again thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Went for a cheeky weekend away and stayed at this hotel. Bedroom and bathroom were quite small but still plenty room for everything to go...lots of wardrobe space. Plenty coffee and tea in room, breakfast was superb, full English plus cereal, fruit, yogurts and fruit juice. The swimming pool and sauna were fab, everyone visiting this hotel should make use of these facilities, very relaxing. Overall a great stay, would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruther5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordBlackpool, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we do try our best to make guests stay more enjoyable, I am pleased you had an Brilliant Weekend and enjoyed you stay and especially enjoyed our Breakfasts, If we can be of any assistance we will try our best to go that little bit further. I am please you took full advantage of our indoor swimming pool and sauna. I will pass your comments onto the members of staff. We look forward to welcoming you back, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#55 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Baron
The Baron
#256 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Property: The Bedford Hotel
Address: 298 - 300 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the finest positions on Blackpool's exclusive North Promenade, the 42 bedroomed Bedford is the ideal base for your holiday, just a short walk from the Town Center, North Pier, Blackpool Tower, and within easy reach of Blackpool Pleasure Beach. The Bedford hotel has been awarded a Quality Plus status, Blackpool's highest quality standard, an has been family run for over 50 years, establishing itself as one of the areas best. We have a enviable reputation for first class food and service. Sea view rooms, luxury sea view lounge and a well stocked bar with live entertainment throughout the main season. Whether your visit is for pleasure or business, take a well deserved swim in our indoor heated pool, or sit back and relax in the turbo spa or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing