We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value stay in Blackpool”
Review of The Waldorf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waldorf
Ranked #46 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We booked our stay on the Agoda website and got a good price for a room only at the back of the hotel (not seaview). This was ideal for us as we had lots planned over the 3 days we were there and all we wanted was somewhere comfortable and clean to stay, This is what we got. The rooms were cleaned each day. The owners of the hotel are very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. There was no draft beer but I was still able to get a few cans from the bar at reasonable prices which is probably better anyway. The lift did not work whilst we were there but the hotel is only a few floors so that was no problem for us.

Breakfast was good. Cereals, toast, full english - the works. It was a bit more expensive than what you would pay in a cafe but it was fresh and plentiful so I don't mind that.

The hotel is ideally situated for the trams and only a 5/10 minute walk to the Pleasure beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LankaManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here in the middle of June and had a great time in Blackpool for a change.From them moment we arrived the service was 5 star,admittedly the decor is dated but in keeping with the period of the building.We were helped in with our bags and offered a drink in the pleasantly surprising bar full of character. Tom and Steve both advised places to visit with vouchers that saved at least 20 pounds each on the attractions we visited. They even booked our pleasure beach tickets online from for us so that we saved 25%, the hosts were friendly and were happy to accommodate us. The room we stayed was a sea view double with a reasonable sized bathroom that was clean (even smelt clean) a major positive compared to the last smelly dirty hotel we stayed in on our last visit. The bedding was clean and white just what you need. The room it self had a tv and dvd player, a dressing table, a wardrobe ( with coat hangers) , a kettle with;milk, tea, coffee,sugar and biscuits. We also had breakfast which was a delight, a cooked to order full English and a variety of cereals, fruit and juices. A pot of coffee appeared on arrival to the restaurant a perfect start to the day. The location of the hotel for me is prime away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre and drunken idiots, a short
walk towards St Anne's is a sandy beach with dunes to explore. All in all a great stay thanks tom and Steve for making our stay so enjoyable hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JemRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

best hotel in blackpool . Steve and Tom make running a busy hotel look easy nothing was too much trouble for them .The room was very clean and very comfortable ,the breakfast was the best we have had in any hotel we have stayed in before , great location for pleasure beach and tram stop just a two minute walk away . We cant praise the Waldorf enough . thanks for a great time and we will definately be back soon

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Just returned from 2 nights stay with elderly mother with walking difficulties, was told on arrival that lift out of order !! and would be repaired asap.Still not working on departure. This was very hard work helping my mother up and down several times a day and was not offered any help !!!
Also would recommend that they cleaned the windows to allow us to get the sea view that we paid for :( I did read some the reviews which led me to think this was a good hotel, but honestly this was very poor and in need of updating and a lick of paint.Also don't expect to to get a pint as all the draft beer and cider was again not working. Very disappointed with the over all cosmetics the walls had holes In them, both bedroom and stairs. Carpets mix and match, the 'en suit' was dirty with tiles cracked and falling off the walls. Good points- beds were clean and fresh, the Gentleman at reception was welcoming and friendly. On arrival my first impression was tired, dirty, and dated this was reflected through out my stay. Very disappointed with trip advisor awarding this hotel with a certificate displayed on the from door and lounge. Will not trust trip adviser reviews again!

Room Tip: Book else where!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawrielandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf_Blackpool, Owner at The Waldorf, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us but as you can appreciate it is difficult to remedy this post departure.

Sadly it is true our lift did break down and was out of service during your stay. Have you ever had a washing machine or car break down, the engineer tells you what the problem is and orders the part - then you wait - nothing you can do without the part. In this instance a door safety interlock which is a fail safe device to keep doors from opening between floors.

On arrival we did inform you that our lift was out of service and offered to find you an alternative hotel but were told "its alright - its only for two nights", we carried the luggage upstairs and advised you that when you were ready to check-out we would be happy to bring their luggage down (no call received).

Being on the sea-front we are subject to wind off the Irish sea, one of the consequences of this is that damp sand is blown off the beach, hits the windows and sticks even after the window cleaner has just washed them.

As to the decor, we are sorry that it did not match your taste, the building was built in 1934, and public areas are decorated to reflect that. The rooms are of neutral colours (walls country cream, carpets, sand, crisp white cotton sheets and a green bed throw)

Should you wish to wish to call us on 01253 341143 we would be more than happy to discuss your issues with you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and can honestly say its the best hotel we have ever stayed in for service and customer satisfaction.

It is a little further out compared to other hotels, but is only a 10 minute walk to the pleasure beach and is in a lovely quiet area away from all the Hen & Stag parties. A tram stop is only a few hundred yards away so we never felt out of the way.

Plenty of free parking available at the front of the hotel as well as at the rear.

Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff: We were met at our car on arrival and helped in with our bags. After a quick check-in our bags were taken up to our room for us.

Our triple room was on the 2nd floor and had a beautiful sea-view.

Okay so the decor & en-suite were a little dated but it is immaculately clean with really comfy beds & pillows, a tv with DVD player & freeview and a well stocked hospitality tray. Fresh white fluffy towels were supplied daily. Perfect!

Our every need was catered to: We were given a fan for the room on request, we borrowed their mobile charger, my Gran's mobility scooter was brought into the hotel by Steve & Tom each night, charged up and taken out again each morning for her. Nothing was too much trouble, they really bent over backwards for us which we really appreciated.

There is a bar area with TV and pool table and large dining room. There's plenty of comfy chairs in the sun room overlooking the sea at the front of the hotel. There's even recliners if you fancy an afternoon nap...

If you want to be a faceless hotel room number, then stay at one of the many chain-hotels, but if you want the best hospitality, clean rooms, comfy beds & pillows, the best breakfast in Blackpool and the most hilarious host then stay here. We won't be staying anywhere else when we're next in Blackpool.

Thanks Steve, Tom and team, it was an absolute delight to stay in your lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcgrooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Quick check in on arrival, friendly and welcome.
Fresh and airy feel through out the hotel, nice size rooms, very clean, comfy beds and pillows.
Nice breakfast in the morning's.. good choice of foods.
No evening meals but plenty of places to eat out.
Small well equiped bar with pool table and TV.
Great staff , always friendly nothing wasnt to much trouble...Thanks to Steve & Tom and staff.
Parking at the rear of the hotel and also at the front also.
We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ambbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

It was a great stay, Steve and Tom are friendly and make you welcome, would stay again and a lovely breakfast. Very clean. Close to the pleasure beach and to transport into the centre. Nice and homely hotel. Would recommend for people to stay at the Waldorf.

Room Tip: Great view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ciera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#49 of 73 in Blackpool
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headlands
The Headlands
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 73 in Blackpool
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
526 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stretton Hotel
Stretton Hotel
#41 of 73 in Blackpool
51 reviews
1.5 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#51 of 73 in Blackpool
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf

Address: 591-593 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#26 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#26 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £48 - £929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waldorf 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from the M55 motorway and within half a mile of the Squiresgate Lane dual carriageway, The Waldorf is ideally situated for both business travellers and tourist alike. We are situated atthe southern end of The Goulden Mile, 2.2 miles from the Airport, a five minute walk from Blackpools Pleasurebeach and 2.7 miles from the World Famous Blackpool Tower and its amazing Ball Room.We offer clean, comfortable tourist class accommodation at reasonable prices which vary by season and availability, (early booking discounts may be available for bookings made directly through our reservations line), from time to time special rates may be seen on partner and affilliates sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Waldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hotel Blackpool
Waldorf Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing