We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the bad reviews”
Review of The Waldorf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waldorf
Ranked #46 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2008

When booking a hotel I always consult TRIPADVISOR and probably, like most of you, I am sometimes confused by the conflicting reviews I see on some hotels; some love the place, some absolutely detest it. I think some of the travellers have expectations far greater than my own. I tend therefore to give the benefit of the doubt to the premises where there are at least some positive reviews posted.

After my trip to the Waldorf recently however I will be far more cynical and suspicious. This place was everything the poor reviews claimed. Firstly I must state I was not seeking top of the range accommodation, I simply expected reasonable quality and decent service for the money I paid.

On arrival the hotel was deserted, there was no one at reception to book us in. The hotel itself had a dismal atmosphere about it; a kind of run down feel as if it was being run with the minimum of expense. We chose what we believed to be the best room in the hotel, the bridal suite, which turned out to be a huge disappointment; it was simply a very average, smallish room with a four poster bed. The room was clean however, which was a small mercy. What we didn't know at the time was that the room leaked like a sieve. When we returned after a walk through Blackpool, admittedly after an incredibly wet day, we found water dripping down the walls and onto the furniture.

We were given a choice of alternative rooms and we picked the lesser of the two evils. The bedroom itself was clean but the toilet / shower room was a bit on the grubby side and freezing cold into the bargain.

Breakfast was a challenge. The dining room was busy but there was no member of staff to tell us what the procedure was; help yourself or wait to be seated etc. We got conflicting advice on this from the waitress I did manage to intercept and from reception.

Service was poor. Milk, orange juice and butter were left to run out with no one apparently noticing that these needed replenished. There were three waitresses, one who was dashing about everywhere trying to cover all bases, the second one trying hard to assist and the third drifting aimlessly around the dining room at a pace a tortoise could easily best, and a manner of sullenness and complete indifference.

The food, when it came, was adequate; some guests, including ourselves, spent more than twenty minutes before having their breakfast orders taken. The tablecloths were grubby and needed changed but this did not seem to be on the agenda. If it hadn’t been for the priceless humour of some of the guests in the face of this debacle it would have been absolutely unbearable.

Servicing of the rooms was minimal.

On one day of our stay the shower ran just above tepid; something a number of guests complained about as part of the breakfast conversation. I don't believe anyone raised this with the hotel management. You got the feeling there wouldn't be any point. You paid in full at the time of arrival therefore you are in a position of weakness right away.

I wish I had believed the poor reviews this hotel received and booked somewhere else to stay. The experience has turned me against returning to Blackpool in the near future. By all means, try this hotel if you must, but be warned, banish all expectation of a pleasant, value for money experience; only that way will you avoid extreme disappointment.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Aberconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

I think this review is for another hotel.
My partner and I believed four poster beds by theri very nature to be dust traps and as such when we refurbished all rooms in 2005 the four poster beds were removed and consigned to a skip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2007

this was one of the worst hotels i have stayed in the man on reception was unhelpful and unproffesional the room was very small the vtew out the window was of a metal fire escape and many soil pipes from outside it looked shut

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank marshallSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Sadly all hotels have front and rear views ..

When booking through an agency there is no guarantee of sea view rooms or any other special requests, if you have specific requirements it's always best to book directly with the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007

we have just returned from a great honeymoon at the waldorf hotel , in Blackpool . we had a warm welcome by all the staff , the honeymoon suite was really nice with a plasma tv , 4 poster king size bed , there was a bowl of fruit , large bunch of flowers , box of chocolates and a bottle of chilled champagne which was a lovely suprise . The meals were very good . We also had a box of chocolates and a bottle of wine every day . we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a special holiday . We will be returning to the hotel in the future . A* rating!

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank goodtimeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

JUST GOT BACK FROM A STAY AT THIS HOTEL WITH OUR TWO GRANDCHILDREN AGE 4 AND 9 iT WAS VERY CLEAN AND THE ROOM ALTHOUGH QUIRKY IN SHAPE WAS ALSO CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE.But only use this hotel if you intend to be out all the time as there is nothing going on at all . although okay if you want complete silence all the time. on the websit it looked as though they had entertainment but there was nothing. I actually e-mailed the hotel several time about wether there was anything going on but they did not answer.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank maddy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

We are truely sorry that you felt dissapointed at the lack of entertainment in the hotel, as with all hotels in Blackpool we do state that entertainment is subject to numbers.

Regrettably with more and more people booking at last minute it is impossible for us to arrange entertainement at short notice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank j66kos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MazSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chester, Cheshire, UK
121
Reviewed 6 September 2004

21  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#49 of 73 in Blackpool
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stuart Hotel
Stuart Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headlands
The Headlands
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Stretton Hotel
Stretton Hotel
#42 of 73 in Blackpool
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#2 of 73 in Blackpool
539 reviews
1.5 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#51 of 73 in Blackpool
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf

Address: 591-593 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#26 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#26 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £46 - £958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waldorf 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from the M55 motorway and within half a mile of the Squiresgate Lane dual carriageway, The Waldorf is ideally situated for both business travellers and tourist alike. We are situated atthe southern end of The Goulden Mile, 2.2 miles from the Airport, a five minute walk from Blackpools Pleasurebeach and 2.7 miles from the World Famous Blackpool Tower and its amazing Ball Room.We offer clean, comfortable tourist class accommodation at reasonable prices which vary by season and availability, (early booking discounts may be available for bookings made directly through our reservations line), from time to time special rates may be seen on partner and affilliates sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Waldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hotel Blackpool
Waldorf Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing