We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better places to go” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buccaneer Bar

Buccaneer Bar
Ranked #140 of 704 Restaurants in Blackpool
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better places to go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Visited the Buccaneer during the day for a bite to eat.
It had been highly recommended to us before we visited Blackpool, so we thought we'd wander in.
The service is strange (or different from what we're used to). You have to find a table, order and pay for your food at one station, telling them the table number you are at - we never thought and had to vaguely point out our table from the ordering point - and then the waitress instructed us to go to the bar, which is just the next till up, where she then served us drinks.
The food was prompt and I cant fault the quality of my steak, but as i didn't want veg, instead of an extra few chips, they substituted where my veg should be with a gravy boat (a little cheeky i thought!).
The atmosphere was OK but it wasnt enough to encourage us to stay for dessert or an extra drink.
The steak was of good quality, but the sauce was like water and all other aspects of the bar were simply average. Staff, service, portion size, and atmosphere.
I Would go back if I was starving and passing and simply couldn't wait for somewhere better on down the road.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    59
    29
    21
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abertillery
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

A great bar to eat inside or out in the arcade on the pier attached to the bar. Great food would recommend the Hunters Chicken or Sausage and Mash. Children eat free with a paying adult. staff friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NigAbertillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Found inside Coral island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great family bar inside the arcade Coral island. Kids eat free. One kids meal free with every adult meal purchased. Good variety of choice on the menu and food presented well. Great value for money, right in the heart of Blackpool.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The food was dreadful and cold the drinks top price and the staff, well the manager is a joke, told him the buffet was cold and he just said no its warm and dismist the subject. Not be returning or recommending to all our guests.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank therutland330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not impressed with food this time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We went in Buccaneer bar as been in on previous breaks with our son and grandaughter as it caters for children and have found it really good, this time however my husband and myself went in mid week at 5.45 for a meal and were told the kitchen was closing in a few minutes. We ordered and were quite disappointed with the food, as my husband ordered pork steaks with vegetables, but came with a huge pile of mashed potato which looked like something out of Close Encounters. I don't know if this was because of the late order but it wasn't up to scratch and the bar is usually open until 11.00, but they called time at 7.00. May be because it was mid week, but we were not impressed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank arcade186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buccaneer Bar also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Buccaneer Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing