We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve getaway”
Review of The Carousel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carousel Hotel
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here on New Years Eve and it was lovely, clean and comfortable. It was nice and we will return next time we want to stay in Blackpool .

One slight problem was that we went out for a walk in the afternoon and got very cold and wet - much to be expected in Blackpool in December. All we spoke about on the way back was how nice it wil be to get in the room and warm up in the shower. Sadly when we went for a shower only cold water came out. On complaining to reception a member of staff said 'I can only apologise, the pump has broke and it is being fixed'. Although we were pleased the problem was being looked at it was not good enough for us as we had to be ready for our gala dinner at 7pm so didn't have time to wait. We are not pushy people so just accepted the answer but it would have been a really nice gesture if the hotel gave us a free drink or knocked a bit of money off the bill.

The gala dinner was a bit cramped but that was not a problem when the drinks started flowing. It turned out to be a really fun night and great value for money. The food was nice. A Beatles tribute act played for a couple of hours followed by a disco, which was a good laugh. The guests were all nie people and in good spirits.

For four people who are normally in bed for 10pm we stayed up till 3am so I think that shows what a great time we had. Sadly with the hangovers we never managed to try the shower in the morning to see if it was warm.

It's a great place to stay so go and enjoy it - and I dare you to have go in the scary lift.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Thank you for your review of The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool. May I apologise for the initial problem regarding the hot water, this was a temporary issue and was resolved shortly after we became aware.

May I otherwise thank you for your kind words regarding your stay. We take all feedback very seriously & share this with our team. We are delighted you had such a great time on New Year's Eve and your comments are very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

938 - 944 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

Fab Hotel Lovely Spacious rooms and bathroom.Staff Brilliant Entertainment top class.My Husband and I was made so welcome on arrival. Carmen on reception was so friendly and professional. Staff at the Hotel could not do enough for you. Never been to this Hotel before but will definitely be booking it again. Big thank you also to Luci who is the Manager, Had a Brilliant Party Night well organised. Sorry could go on for ever. Mr A & Mrs L Smith. of Blacko

Room Tip: Do not book one over the kitchen if not an early riser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I liked it. Nice modern hotel with excellent breakfast. Would suit a businessmen or holidaymaker.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

stayed weekend 12th &13th October 1 double and 1 single room, As there was a function on we couldn't upgrade our double room to a sea-view but our friend in the single could. Rooms were clean and spacious but we were dissapointed that there was no entertainment because there was a private function on i think we should have been told as it was quite a walk to anywhere else with entertainment. We went down for our evening meal about7.30 pm after a long wait we asked a waitressif we could order she said no they were too busy! when asked when could we order she snapped "about 4 hours",we then went to reception to complain and told by receptionist we could order a meal but we were totally ignored so we went out for a meal elswhere. But the breakfast next day was very good .

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank drennski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorinneManzatucci, Sleepwell Hotels at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Thank for your feedback and may I firstly apologise for the delay in the restaurant service which you refer to.

With regards to you being told by one of our staff at 7.30pm, that the wait for food was 4 hours, this was certainly not the case and normal restaurant service resumed by 8.05pm. My apologies that the information relayed to you regarding service time on this evening was clearly incorrect.

We take all our guests compliments and critiques seriously and thank you for bringing this incident to our attention. We apologise for this occurrence and assure you we have taken the necessary measures to rectify the matter and thus prevent any future service issues of this nature.

May I thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel cleanliness and breakfast, your comments are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

just back from staying the night at the carousel, got to honest more 3star than 4. we are a family of 4, children 15 and 10 when booking we requested sea view,on arrival we were given a room with no view whatsoever lady on reception changed our room to sea view right away which was great. we were given room on first floor above function room, access to this area was through the function room ,bit of a pain when there was a function on, the other option was to walk all over hotel till found our room, the room its self had a double bed with a sofa bed when the latter was pulled out there wasn't any room to walk about, shower was great hot water plus it was a power shower, deco in room was not that good tired looking,carpets were disgusting stains all over the floor looked like sick stains,went to restaurant for a evening meal to which we were really looking forward too after reading the hotel menu, to our surpise after sitting down and getting our menu's and knives and forks plus the wine list we were told we had to wait for two hours as the kitchen was being used to cater for the function next door.having thought we were settled for the night we had to go into blackpool for something eat. breakfast was buffet style there was plenty of choice just what you want to set you up for the day, tip get a family day saver on the buses it works out alot cheaper, free parking at hotel thats a bonus, overall a real shame as this has the potential to be great hotel

Room Tip: sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_richardson89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed here for a weekend break in October. We had a fantastic stay, the hotel/room were excellent, Good quality breakfast with plenty to choose from. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tw555sb555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just back from a weekend stay at the Carousel Hotel. Room was very clean and modern with a lovely seaview. Breakfast very very good plenty to choose from. We had both a bar meal and a meal in the restaurant both very well cooked, and nicely presented. Will be returning next year. Thankyou to all the hard working staff.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,402 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
3.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carousel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carousel Hotel

Address: 663-671 New South Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#23 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £41 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carousel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully refurbished Carousel is the highest AA rated 3 star hotel in Blackpool. Situated five minutes from Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the hotel is ideally located on the South Promenade, near to all of Blackpool’s attractions - but far enough away from the bustle of Blackpool's famous Golden Mile to offer a relaxing, refreshing and high quality experience. Our Cafe Bar 663 serves both breakfast and an extensive menu for all-day dining, alongside its bar facility and 24 hour room service. We have 22 family rooms all with DVD players and an extensive library of DVDs for the children available to loan with our compliments. The hotel also has nightly entertainment during the summer months alongside Cafe Bar kids activities, subject to seasonality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Carousel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carousel Blackpool Hotel Blackpool
The Carousel Hotel Blackpool
Carousel Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing