We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Night Stay”
Review of The Carousel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carousel Hotel
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1 Night Stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I know it was only a one night stay but these visits sometimes help you decide whether you will return or not, and I have to say that we would most definately return to this hotel. The hotels location was ideal for my family as we had an early rise next morning for my son's football tournament, there was a wedding function on the Saturday evening but noise was minimal. The hotel was very clean with modern decor and furnishings and the same goes for our room. (family room with double bed and bunks) bathroom was spotless and modern and the shower was superb. As for the food we just did B&B but the there was plenty of choice for Breakfast which was served buffet style. So all in all we had a very pleasant stay which was excellent value for the standard of accomodation Thank You.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    308
    145
    45
    31
See reviews for
381
293
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have just returned from a 2 day break when we stayed at this hotel. It is located just over 2 miles from Blackpool Tower which suited us. We have only good comments to make. Our check-in was speedy and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was delicious. Our room was spotless and our view to the sea was excellent. Can recommend this hotel if you want to be away from the buzz of the town but still within walking distance but, of course, you can always use the trams. They ran a very frequent service.

All in all a very relaxing break away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CASWestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review of The Carousel Hotel. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay - we always strive to ensure that our guests have a pleasant and relaxing break, and our staff really pride themselves on making your stay with us as carefree as possible. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnoldswick
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Although it was feb 2011 when we stayed i have only just got round to this! The hotel itself was clean and tidy and some staff were helpful. Our room was above the function room and 2 nights running they had functions on, we had no sleep at all. When it got to after midnight i did pop down to reception to ask what time the music was stopping and i got told it would be soon. It did go on for a while after that and then all night long other guests were running about the corridors shouting etc, this really did spoil our stay here. The breakfast was lovely and the morning staff were very helpful. So anyone viewing this may want to ask when booking to not be above the function room if they are light sleepers. We won`t be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lellxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for your review of The Carousel Hotel. May we apologise that you experienced some noise issues during your time with us. Let us assure you that we are take your comments very seriously and have addressed this issue to ensure that all of our guests have a pleasant stay. May we thank you for your otherwise kind comments regarding our staff and breakfast menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I have just returned from a 1 night stay at The Carousel Hotel Blackpool.This hotel came through a National Holidays deal.First impressions always count,and first impressions here was superb.The reception staff were all friendly and welcoming,and the room was absolutely spotless.When it came to the dinner,we were again impressed.The menu was excellent,the food was cooked to perfection,and we had our meal served to us.Very organised meal times.The breakfast was a buffet style,but again nothing spared.The food cooked to perfection,and a varied choice.All meals were hot and very enjoyable.I cannot praise the staff or hotel too much,so much so we are thinking of booking in for the illuminations,later this year.E-X-C-E-L-L-E-N-T.Keep it up Carousel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a 2 nights break, on arrival receptionist was very friendly and helpful, we stayed in room 201 which had a sea view and had plenty of room and a very big bathroom. We had breakfast which was self - service with a good choices and evening meal which was 3 courses. The staff were very friendly and helpful, although it is quite a way into Blackpool the tram and bus stops outside so no problems. The only thing i can say as a negative was that on the sat night there was a private function and we had to pay 5 pounds to get in which we did, then it stayed on till 1 am and after that the cleaning up started, so not much sleep was had, we did get an apology from reception, i suggest that if you are going find out if thery are any function on as we were told that they have them most weekends.Make sure the room is at the opposite end of the hotel if you are going for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your review of The Carousel Hotel. We take all of our guests' compliments and critiques seriously, and we apologise once again that you experienced some noise issues on this particular evening. Thank you for enabling us to address this. May we thank you for your otherwise kind and positive comments and hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Overall this is a nice clean and failry comfortable hotel, which for me is probably the most important thing.
It does need however some updating in my opinion. Perhaps a flat screen tv of a decent size, some new bedroom furniture and probably a new matress as the bed is not the most comfortable.
Worth noting too that contrary to the website this hotel has neither Sky Sports nor a complimentary newspaper! I never understand why such relatively inexpensive things (when set against room rates) are so hard to come by..
Anyway, not bad but I think that these days you should expect a littel more for your £100 or so per night.

Room Tip: Avoid the room at the top of the hotel - think it is 322 - there is an incredibly noisy aircon unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

OK hotel but a bit further out than I thought, it is virtually in Lytham so it is a fair hike back into Blackpool. It’s about 15 minutes further south than the Pleasure Beech.
And don't even think of taking the car unless you want to spend your holiday in Blackpool looking for a parking spot. Another option is rent a bike, and cycle along the newly renovated promenade. But 10 quid a day is a bloody rip off.
It is however good and clean and the breakfast was very good.
The windows are very small and the prom quite wide at this point so the sea view isn't what we hoped for. And this hotel is on the pricey side for Blackpool.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dapper_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review of The Carousel Hotel.

We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and found the breakfast and cleanliness to such a high standard. Our location is on the South Promenade which is where the South Pier, Pleasure Beach and Sandcastle Water Park are situated, all of which are very popular and convenient with the majority of visitors. We also recommend next time you visit to use the newly renovated tramway which stops directly outside the hotel and travels to the town centre and Blackpool Tower in approximately 10 minutes.

Parking for your car outside your hotel base is readily available and the tramway offers a cheap and convenient facility to explore Blackpool from our quiet location, and is also extremely popular with young children. We do offer bike storage should you wish to bring these with you, as opposed to utilising local hire.

We hope to see you next time you visit Blackpool and once again thank for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carousel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carousel Hotel

Property: The Carousel Hotel
Address: 663-671 New South Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#23 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#27 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carousel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully refurbished Carousel is the highest AA rated 3 star hotel in Blackpool. Situated five minutes from Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the hotel is ideally located on the South Promenade, near to all of Blackpool’s attractions - but far enough away from the bustle of Blackpool's famous Golden Mile to offer a relaxing, refreshing and high quality experience. Our Cafe Bar 663 serves both breakfast and an extensive menu for all-day dining, alongside its bar facility and 24 hour room service. We have 22 family rooms all with DVD players and an extensive library of DVDs for the children available to loan with our compliments. The hotel also has nightly entertainment during the summer months alongside Cafe Bar kids activities, subject to seasonality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carousel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carousel Blackpool Hotel Blackpool
The Carousel Hotel Blackpool
Carousel Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing