We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 year late review”
Review of The Carousel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Carousel Hotel
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“1 year late review”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

when my family t to the carousel last year we loved it even thought the hotel was like a maze to find our room, the good thing about the hotel is when going for breakfast you get taken to your table by a waiter and self serve your self for breakfast, they even have a pub were food is served all day for guest and the entertaiment is performed every night. I would decently go back there this year and following years.

Room Tip: only 10 minutes from pleasure beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    315
    145
    45
    31
See reviews for
388
297
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night with my sister and 2 teenagers aged 14 & 15, we stayed in a family room, which was a double and a sofa bed, with a great view over the sea front. Room was clean and fairly modern, not quite sure why people are complaining about shower size, found it more than big enough.
Found the staff at the hotel really pleasant and helpful, we arrived at about 8.30pm to check in having spent the day at the pleasure beach, although the kitchen had closed, the bar staff were more than happy to make us some sandwiches which were very good.
Evening entertainment was provided, this consisted of a quiz and a few games of bingo, not really my thing, but we joined in and had a good laugh, guy hosting this was quite funny in his own right.
Breakfast the following morning was spot on, the usual fruits/cereals or a full breakfast buffet style, which was all very nice, warm and regularly topped up with fresh stuff.
We didn't use the car park as we were able to get parked out at the front of the hotel.
All in all a nice hotel we paid only £98 for the four of us through booking.com, and may go as far as to say possibly one of the nicer places to stay at in Blackpool, having looked at the exterior of most of them whilst walking along the sea front.
Would be quite happy to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cakey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Just got back from lovely 3 nite stay, stayed here two years ago gota be one of best hotels in blackpool, rooms are spotless, dead modern cleaned everyday, we ordered room service food really nice n good portions, breakfast really good n replaced all time, only thing would say same thing everyday would have been nice change one day mushrooms on or hash browns, location in great twenty mins walk to pleasure beach, what good about hotel singer on kid friendly my little girl n couple of others joining in no. Body twisting, wendy in bar really nice, one of best things about this gotel is the lovely carmen, real asset to hotel my little girl really took to her, gemma really nice too! booked to go bk next may! spotless clean hotel regular guests.say it all, spoke to few who go every year! thanks very much to carmen n staff x. Lisa,stephen n steffi foster, newcastle upon tyne

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I am used to quality and although this hotel was not the best quality money can buy....the care the staff gave us made it feel like a five star hotel. Nothing seemed too much bother. The staff without exception were friendly and caring. I took two of my grandchildren and they were made very welcome. The rooms had everything you want and it was clean as a whistle. The location was great for us as it was away from the evening drunks etc. A tram stop right outside with regular trams. Visitors should check the tram times in the evening as they are not as frequent. breakfast was fabulous. My partner and I said we will recommend this hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClassyLadyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehaven
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed with our Grandchildren for one night room was a good size with one double and a bunk bed the downside was that the double bed was very lumpy ,the bathroom was large and clean but the shower was very small .Breakfast in the hotel was a buffet which was good .Parking is on site but only for a few cars, but there is also parking at the front of the hotel .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravel044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Great Location if you wish to visit Blackpool but not be in the hussle & bussle of night life, We stayed in the carousel Hotel to attend the golf open championship in Lytham st annes,Tram & bus stop outside, Five minutes walk to pleasure beach amusements.Lovely hotel, Rooms imaculate, Bar & resturant serve lovely food, Only thing i would mention is im not a fan of having toast already cooked for breakfast as it tends to be a bit like a rivita to eat, All staff very pleasant helpful & friendly.We arrived early the reception staff took our bags & told us to come back when we were ready or take a rest in the lounge/bar..They had all bus tram information ready for guests attending the golf & packed lunches prepared if required.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for sea view ... Amazing sun sets.. Third floor lovely & warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed here with my mum and two boys a couple of weeks ago. We booked via Late Rooms in January and were given a room which must have been right over the function room. The hotel boasts evening entertainment at weekends. We stayed for three nights. The first night, there was entertainment on. On the 2nd and 3rd night however, there were wedding functions. The room was actually vibrating with the beat of the music and DJ. The second wedding, on the Saturday night, went on until 1.00 pm in the morning. I went down to log my complaint at 12.15 pm and the guy at reception said that he would ask if they could tone it down. I asked him not to do this because I didn't want to be a killjoy. I did say however that I would be writing in. Also, the room never dropped below 25 degrees. On the first night I expected it because it was a rather stuffy day. The 2nd night was a little more bareable but I had to ask for a fan to be brought up on the 3rd night. The guy who dropped the van off commented that it is a very warm hotel, even in winter. The heat coupled with the noise from the function room just made the stay very, very uncomforable. I wrote to the manager a little over 2 weeks ago but haven't had the courtesy of a response. I am not happy to pay £110 a night for a room that was unbearable. The hotel itself is very nice, as were the staff and breakfast. It's just a shame that they couldn't have put the wedding guests in the room directly over the function room (room 115, in case you were wondering) and put a family in a more quieter room, away from the racket.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicbuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your review of The Carousel Hotel. Firstly let us apologise for the lack of response to your complaint. This has now been rectified and the manager of the hotel has contacted you personally to discuss the issues you have raised.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with aspects of your stay. Our hotel does host wedding functions which run late into the evening, however we do endeavour to cater for all types of guests, fulfilling requests made at time of booking, and after guests have arrived, where possible. On this occasion we were unable to provide an alternative room for you and your family. Regarding the temperature of your room, as you suggest we did provide you with a fan as required. We do try to ensure our guests have the most comfortable stay possible at The Carousel.

Thank you for your otherwise kind comments regarding the food and our friendly staff, both of which we are very proud. We hope that we will see you again on your next visit to Blackpool, when we hope to be able to restore our good name with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carousel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carousel Hotel

Property: The Carousel Hotel
Address: 663-671 New South Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#23 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#27 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carousel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully refurbished Carousel is the highest AA rated 3 star hotel in Blackpool. Situated five minutes from Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the hotel is ideally located on the South Promenade, near to all of Blackpool’s attractions - but far enough away from the bustle of Blackpool's famous Golden Mile to offer a relaxing, refreshing and high quality experience. Our Cafe Bar 663 serves both breakfast and an extensive menu for all-day dining, alongside its bar facility and 24 hour room service. We have 22 family rooms all with DVD players and an extensive library of DVDs for the children available to loan with our compliments. The hotel also has nightly entertainment during the summer months alongside Cafe Bar kids activities, subject to seasonality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carousel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carousel Blackpool Hotel Blackpool
The Carousel Hotel Blackpool
Carousel Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing