We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“belfast tour” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“belfast tour”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

first time to stay at this hotel on arrival the lifts were of and we had to lug our luggage up the stairs only to find the room was two single beds and not a double as booked got that sorted food was just about eatable my partner had food poison on one night which no one was interested about when reported on another night we sat at six for dinner and bt seven oclock had been served soup it took another hour or more to serve the main coarse. when EVERYONE complained one member of staff was totally rude to a member at our table and other guests never seen the like of it in my life i could not fault all the staff but they need to be respectful especially when people are payin to stay there as far as value for money its not and the star ratin would need to be looked at first time havin a holiday at home roll on spain they know how to look after peoplewas totally disapointed i read up on the hotel before goin and the pictures of the rooms were lovely but ours was small and the shower no room at all blackpool itself was enjoyable but next time id research my accomadation a lot better.

Room Tip: rooms at front of hotel deffo have the best veiw with the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Carousel Hotel. We are very disappointed that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. With regards to your specific comments regarding the service of your meal, we endeavour to serve all meals to the comfort and satisfaction of all guests and have passed on your comments to our team to ensure the issues raised do not happen again. As you suggest, our customer service is of the utmost importance and our staff did their utmost to meet your personal expectations. We do find some of your other comments unfortunate, but hope that your overall view of The Carousel Hotel has not been adversely affected and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    299
    141
    45
    31
See reviews for
360
286
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel was clean with good dining and bar facilities, our room had all we needed with comfortable beds and a good sized bathroom with shower. We only stayed one night but were glad that it was located on the New South Promenade at the start of the tram line which meant it was in a quieter part of Blackpool but also that we could get where we wanted, having bought a day pass for the trams and buses.

The hotel overlooks the road, the promenade and sea. One added advantage is that the hotel has a car park so we could leave the car there, book in and have the whole day free to enjoy the many attractions Blackpool has to offer. We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor. The hotel does have a small lift.

Room Tip: We preferred a quiet room at the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFidelity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Im writing this review whilst staying at this hotel, it is very clean and overall very good, however whilst I was on the bar the best staff were chucking water over each other and squirting the drinks dispenser at each other, they apologised but was very unprofessional especially when you pay £140 per night. I would love to come back to this hotel but not until there was some management behind the bar!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audia4car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your review of the Carousel Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the bar service you received in the hotel - we take pride in our high level of customer service, and as such have taken your comments very seriously. Your feedback has been passed on to the relevant staff members who will be working with our team to ensure this incident is not repeated, though this is most certainly very much out of character for our excellent staff and we can only put it down to high spirits. Thank you for your otherwise kind comments and we trust this isolated observation did not spoil your stay with us too much. We hope to welcome you back to the Carousel Hotel on your next visit to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just returned from a 2-night stay at the hotel, fab location,clean, nicely decorated, breakfast very good, ate from the bar menu both nights and was excellent. Only bad point was the sofa bed & put up beds for children were very poor :-( . All staff were excellent very polite & welcoming, special mention for Carmen at reception who was great. Definately be back next time we are in blackpool, well done Carousel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your review of the Carousel Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us - it is always nice to receive positive feedback. We thank you for your comments regarding the put up and sofa beds for extra guests, and have taken this feedback on board. We are very proud of our excellent customer service and have also passed on your kind comments to Carmen. We hope to welcome you back to the Carousel Hotel on your next visit to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed here last weekend with my partner and another couple, all agreed it was ideal for what we wanted, while the hotel may be a bit far south for some people it suited us, it was quite and no noise from late night revellers.
The decor in the bar area, dining room and the bedrooms was very nice, and staff were very polite and helpful, we did not eat at night but the breakfast in the morning was as good has you could get.
The parking situation was not has good has we thought it would be but after all you park the car up and forget about it till you leave.
I would reccomend this hotel for the price you pay it is very good value, we stayed in a hotel close a few weeks ago and thought that was good but the Carousel was much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Paid £80.00 for a double room instead of £120.00, so we were well pleased before we got there !
Upon arrival, we were saddened to find we couldn`t park anywhere near the hotel, and had to park in a side street three blocks away, that said the rest of our stay was excellent.
The room was spacious, extremely clean and modern. The staff were polite and helpful in dealing with our questions, the bar / lounge area was relaxed and friendly. the breakfast was excellent and cannot be faulted.
We can definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay, and we are confident that we will be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: read all reviews, and dont be put off by one slating review, take a general view, you cant please ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Arrived was given our room key 208. We went to our room to find it was directly above the air con units, rang down to reception and was informed we could have another room! Was this a good idea, it wasn't! We were given keys to room 310, but would not find out until later that the floorboards along the corridor outside our room creaked and groaned. Oh well. Cest la vie. Room was clean, tidy and great for a couple nights. Breakfast was good, plenty of it though could have done with Moving some tables away from serving area, the door into the kitchen slammed every time it was walked through and the wall shook, not great after having spent the morning from 6am listening to creaking floorboards!
Night staff were excellent, I managed to blow the fuse in our room due to a faulty light, it was seen to very quickly. The light was being fixed the morning we left.
Overall the hotel was clean, tidy, staff were pleasant enough. A little too far from the main attractions but we wanted somewhere not too close so suited us fine.
A few minor problems but all in all a great Blackpool hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 310, noisy floorboards outside door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool

Property: The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool
Address: 663-671 New South Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#23 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#27 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully refurbished Carousel is the highest AA rated 3 star hotel in Blackpool. Situated five minutes from Blackpool Pleasure Beach, we are ideally located on the South Promenade near to all of Blackpool’s attractions - but far enough away from the bustle of Blackpool's famous Golden Mile to offer a relaxing, refreshing and high quality experience. Our Cafe Bar 663 serves both breakfast and all day dining, alongside an extensive bar facility and 24 hour room service menu. We have 22 family rooms all with DVD players and an extensive library of DVDs for the children, available to loan with our compliments. The hotel has nightly entertainment during the summer months alongside a weekend kids club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carousel Blackpool Hotel Blackpool
The Carousel Hotel Blackpool
Carousel Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing