We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic night away, actually better experience that Marriott!!”
Review of The Carousel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Carousel Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic night away, actually better experience that Marriott!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My mum, my 2 young children and myself stopped here on Sunday 25th August for just one night. I only have lovely things to say about the hotel, service and staff. We parked and checked in without a problem, the room was very clean and had everything we needed. The staff were great, couldn't help us enough and there were a lot of staff so you never go short on anything.
Breakfast was lovely, the hotel was very busy but staff were very efficient and dealt with things very well. I stopped at the Marriott last weekend and I've got to say my stay at Carousel beat the Marriott hands down. Very child friendly too :o) Thank-you. We're planning our next visit. Emma Ball and family
If your planning on getting the tram into central Blackpool then the family day saver is £9 and works out a lot cheaper, there is a tram stop just across the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Emma,
Thank you for your kind review of The Carousel Hotel, and in particular your kind comments regarding the exceptional standard of service you received and the breakfast you enjoyed. We are proud of our team and the child-friendly atmosphere of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and hope to see you again on your next visit to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    329
    148
    46
    31
See reviews for
411
305
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

stayed for a one night stay excellent room and buffet breakfast clean and tidy hotel
the re-furb has been done very well .
The en-suite is very small and a tight squeeze into the shower but it is a very nice room for a small double.
If i stayed for longer i would ask for a larger room but ours was fine for 1 night.
would recommend and stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Me, my other half and two young children stayed here for two nights at the end of July. On arriving parking wasn't a problem and got parked in the hotels carpark at the rear without any fuss. Checking in was easy and the staff were pleasant and informative. Our room was on the first floor, the room was spacious and the pull out sofa bed perfect for the kids. Can't complain about the room at all. The only slight niggle was that it was very warm on a night and hard to cool down. The windows didn't let sufficient air in but to be fair it was a very hot few days. Breakfast was good in a morning and they had the usual selection of foods. The hot foods were kept well stocked.

The location is a little out of the centre which is no bad thing, you can either walk or get the tram into the busy part of Blackpool.

All in all I'd certainly stay here again....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YFU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My partner and i visited the hotel for the night as we were going to see a show at a local theatre and were very disapointed!
I believe in giving a fair rating so here goes... Had to find parking which i understand is sometimes difficult, checked in and found our room which was pleasent enough but needed a new carpet and a good lick of paint. went out for the day and came back for tea and wished i hadnt bothered. im no fussy eater but wow there food is shocking. After waiting an hour for food we got serviced unedible crap which we had to leave and because we were running late from waiting so long, we just decided to leave with rumbling tummys. They also got our order completley wrong and i did wonder why others werent eating. Breakfast was a little better but the staff are just so ignorant!! i couldnt wait to leave and come home! Definatley not going again, would not recommend as its well over priced! my partner visited last year and said its definaltey gone down hill since then!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t8hsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us and apologise that you were unhappy with our dining room food and service. In order that we can improve and deliver as high a standard of service as possible it is important to us that we take all feedback on board; the high calibre expected of our staff is of particular importance to us and your comments have been noted. We continue to improve upon the standards of our service and hope to see you again on your next visit to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Me & my girlfriend booked this hotel based on its location. We didn't do too much research and expected a B&B owned by a little old lady! When we arrived we easily found a place to park right outside the hotel, and were surprised when we walked in to find a lovely, modern lobby.

The staff at check-in were nice and quickly got us on our way to the room (311) via the lift.


The room was clean, modern and had everything we needed (safe, hairdryer, TV, tea, coffee and information packs). The bathroom was lovely. It was all tiled with a walk in shower that actually worked well compared to most places I've been to. I gave the room 4/5 stars because the room was unnaturally warm all the time. The radiator was off and the window was open fully the whole time we was there but the heat would not go. Also the bathroom did not have an extractor fan so the heat from the shower filled the room making it worse and made the air feel a bit damp.


We went out for the night we were there but when we returned about 10:30pm there was a singer in the restaurant/ bar area. She was finished 10 minutes after we arrived so I can't really comment on that. There was also a wedding on in the opposite function room but we had no disturbances.

Breakfast was served between 8-10am I think and it was a buffet style breakfast with the usual English breakfast things and cereals etc.

Not much else to say. We enjoyed our stay and would deffinately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear valued guest, thank you for your review of The Carousel Hotel and in particular your kind comments regarding the standard of service and the facilities. We are proud of our team and the modern, clean facilities that we offer. We take on board your helpful feedback and hope to see you again on your next visit to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights and have to say it is a lovely hotel and i would definitely recommend it. Rooms big and clean with lovely clean bathroom. Staff very pleasant and breakfast was lovely. Entertainment at night time also good. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was lovely with a good choice and value for money. Trams stop beside hotel and a day ticket for the tram cost £3.50.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe123NIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel comes highly recommended by us. The staff was polite and pleasant and the rooms were really clean and big. I went with my family of five and my two older children loved it. There was entertainment on that night but we were all exhausted from the rides on the pleasure beach that we had an early night so cannot tell.you if that was good. The breakfast was nice and hot but not much choice for me personally.
The only two negative points that I can think of is the lift needs updating as my husband had to run up the floors to close the doors and the shower cubicle was a bit small but our overall experience is very positive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,105 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,035 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
477 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
498 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carousel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carousel Hotel

Property: The Carousel Hotel
Address: 663-671 New South Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#23 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#27 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carousel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully refurbished Carousel is the highest AA rated 3 star hotel in Blackpool. Situated five minutes from Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the hotel is ideally located on the South Promenade, near to all of Blackpool’s attractions - but far enough away from the bustle of Blackpool's famous Golden Mile to offer a relaxing, refreshing and high quality experience. Our Cafe Bar 663 serves both breakfast and an extensive menu for all-day dining, alongside its bar facility and 24 hour room service. We have 22 family rooms all with DVD players and an extensive library of DVDs for the children available to loan with our compliments. The hotel also has nightly entertainment during the summer months alongside Cafe Bar kids activities, subject to seasonality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Carousel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carousel Blackpool Hotel Blackpool
The Carousel Hotel Blackpool
Carousel Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing