We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Illumination visit”
Review of The Carousel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Carousel Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Illumination visit”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Hotel good away from the arcades, fast food shops etc., walking distance from Pleasure Beach. Room clean, staff friendly and courteous with the usual tea / coffee making facilities. Had the evening meal which was good value, excellent buffet breakfast with good selection of food. Hotel parking limited but free in nearby streets, have to share with day visitors which could be a problem finding a space.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusty6843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    329
    148
    46
    31
See reviews for
411
305
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just back from a two night break with my husband, teenage daughter and her friend. We booked a double room with sea view and a twin room. The hotel is located just across from a tram stop so is ideally situated, not right in the heart of the bustle but a minute or two on the new trams. There is parking in the crescent out the front of the hotel or a private car park to the rear. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated with fully tiled en-suite facilities with corner shower.

Our rooms were on the second floor accessed by either stairs or an old-style but perfectly operational lift. The twin room (205) was a very generous size with plenty of floor and storage space and was bright and clean. The view from the two room windows was non-existent, looking into other bedrooms via a large net but since the teenagers were occupying this room it didn't bother them and I'm not even sure they looked outside. The en-suite was also a good size and it too benefited from a window for extra light, corner shower, sink, toilet and was fully tiled and perfectly clean.

The double room with sea view, which we paid extra for (202) was tucked in the corner and while it benefited from not having other guests passing the door, it was probably the smallest double room in the hotel. When we checked in, the receptionist quickly showed us the location of our rooms on a room plan and I queried the size of the double room at this point. With a rather patronising tone she advised that the plan "obviously wasn't to scale". Eh, righto! Our double room was a fair bit smaller than the twin and had one average-sized window with drawers and flat screen TV positioned in front of it so in order to benefit from the sea view you needed to lean over top of the TV. My idea of gazing out the window at the view didn't materialise.

The bathroom in the double room was also a good bit smaller than the twin room and a jaunty angle was required on the toilet due to the positioning of the heated towel rail. This review seems hyper-critical, but the size of this room in comparison to the twin did tick me off ever so slightly, especially as I had queried the size of it at check in and got a rather patronising reply from reception.

We only used the restaurant for breakfast and each morning it was very busy but we were seated quickly and the food was well cooked with a varied selection of cereals, fruit, cooked food, toast and yoghurts. Amy, the Restaurant Manager should be commended on her level of service, efficiency and courtesy and if the waiters who served the tea and coffee moved at half her speed, this would resolve the only gripe we had of waiting and repeatedly asking for a cup of coffee on both mornings.

The bar/lounge area has plenty of seating and is well stocked and not badly priced at all. Bar meals were available too and the menu looked varied and well priced but we were at the mercy of two teenagers who wanted to go into Blackpool for chips! There was entertainment on here in the evenings, but we didn't stay in but there were crowds of other guests who did stay in for the bingo, singer / entertainer and they seemed to have enjoyed the 'turn'.

All in all a nice, clean hotel, well positioned with good facilities and (mostly) friendly staff. Not sure I'd shell out for a sea view again if it means compromising on the size of the room. We would be interested to hear the hotel's view on this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClanRobertson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the Carousel, in particular your kind words regarding the cleanliness of the rooms and helpfulness of our Restaurant Manager, Amy. We will ensure your personal feedback is been passed on. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the sea view in your room. Owing to the nature of the period architecture of the property, our double rooms do vary in size. The hotel is not a modern steel frame building and, as such, has rooms of varying dimension and view aspect. Some are in effect larger than others, but all our rooms are of a good size. We apologise if you were unhappy with the scale of your particular bedroom and if the information provided by our reception team was unclear, but we are delighted that you found the facilities clean and of modern and tasteful decor, the catering of such high quality and the location ideal. We will be delighted to accommodate any specific room requests on your next visit to Blackpool, when we would hope to welcome you and your family back to The Carousel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Hotel was average, room clean complimentary tea and coffee which is alway welcome. Bed was comfortable, being a king size, unfortunately it had a double quilt on it which obviously when either of us rolled over we lost the quilt.
Parking is a bit of a problem, but you are able to park in streets nearby. There is a tram stop just outside ideal position for tour of the lights starting from star gate.
Breakfast was nice and well organised. Only down side is we were on the first floor directly above the entertainment you would not get an early night until it had finished.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam-seaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Carousel was average. The room was a fair size, though very warm which made it a bit hard to sleep. It was on the 3rd floor but there was a lift. A very old lift, the kind where you have to pull the door closed yourself. The staff were friendly and efficient. It was a pretty good location, though we had to pay for parking on the street during the daytime. We were staying at the same time as a wedding party so parking in front of or behind the hotel was non-existent. A buffet breakfast was included and there was certainly enough choice, though it was so hot in the breakfast room I had to leave earlier than I normally would have just because I couldn't stand the heat.

Room Tip: While a room facing the beach gives you a nice view, I think the ones facing the back would be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandHollyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our room was clean, though cramped once our children's sofa bed was made up it actually touched our bed meaning my wife had to exit our bed by climbing either across me or down the bed.

We stayed with our two children 6 and 3 and our room was on the 1st floor. When we arrived back on Saturday night at 10pm there was a more than average pub singer whaling out renditions of popular songs we'd heard plenty of times early whilst walking past various Karaoke bars. This went on past 11pm. This morning we went for breakfast which appeared ok though no member of staff seemed to notice when breakfast items such as eggs and mushrooms ran out, leaving guests queuing whilst waiting for these to be cooked.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRichB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our guests are very important to us and we take on board all feedback. We particularly note your comments regarding the breakfast service and have passed your feedback on to the restaurant team so that we may address this. The evening entertainment is designed to cater to a wide variety of guests in a relaxed and informal environment, but we do take your feedback on board. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had a family room booked for 2 adults and 2 toddlers. We weren't able to park in the hotel car park or directly outside but was able to park a couple of streets away free of charge so not a problem at all.

The room was really nice albeit a little small. Everything was clean and fresh though and absolutely fine for a one night stay. Might have been a bit more of a struggle if we were staying for any longer especially with two very excited 3 year olds! We were on the 3rd floor and there was a little noise late at night / early morning due to returning guests from a wedding party but not going to deny people a bit of fun! There is a lift but you are reliant on people having closed the gate on it after using it as it's an old fashioned one and if the gate isn't closed, it doesn't move!

The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice including cereals, hot food and yogurts. It was all self service but very fresh and not swimming in grease. Staff were regularly going round topping up teas and coffees as well as clearing and cleaning tables. Certainly seemed to be a well organised set up.

The hotel is about a 15minute (double that with toddlers!) walk from the Pleasure Beach. We were happy to be situated that end of the front as possibly a little more family friendly than Tower end and with a tram stop right opposite, ideal for getting in to the hub of it all.

All in all a very pleasant stay over. We went to visit the illuminations and as they started outside our hotel it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CabbaRanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I went up to Blackpool with my girlfriend and her family for a wedding up there, i was not sure where we were staying as i did not book the place, but i am glad on the choice.

On the first day checking in was easy and simple which is want you want and need after a long drive which we had, the staff were very polite and helpful and managed to get us into our rooms before the checking in time which was of a great help. The family I went up with had 5 rooms booked (3 doubles, 1 family and 1 single) all the rooms had sea views and of a nice size. I had one problem tiny problem with my room that is not worth mentioning, but the way they staff at reception reacted to me informing them of the problem and the speed it was resolved was brilliant, the staff really made you felt welcome to talk to them and that it was no trouble or that it was going out their way to deal with it right away which is something i have found hard to find in a lot of places these day.

People say it is set back a bit from the town, which it is, but i found this better to be away from the busy streets, the tram is right outside and 4 of us got a taxi into the main part of Blackpool for £8.10, also we walked from the hotel to the south pier in minuets and that is with two children of four and eight years. The fact it was set back a bit meant you can have the windows open on the front and only get a slight bit of traffic noise and in the mornings and later at night you could walk the prom with your family or love one without many others around.

As for the food, we ate in the restaurant the first night, my table of 4 waiting a little while more than the others tables but not horribly long, but the food was worth the wait, 2 people had the lasagne, 1 had the chicken burger and i had the veggie burger. Everyone was very happy with their food and finished it all, i can say the veggie burger is one of the best i have ever had in the 12 years of being veggie, the flavours were amazing, i have had so many that have been boring which includes at other restaurant, fast food and supermarkets, but this one was beautiful. The breakfast in the mornings was beautiful both days, all in the party ate , including the kids who can be fussy, it was a nice choice and everything done very well and got each day to a good start to us.

The staff were helpful throughout but i would like to point out two parts, one the reception staff for reasons i stated earlier and the fact they are always there to help and very happy to do so from telling you about the place, to good places to go to simple things like calling a cabs, nothing was to much. The other half I would like to point out are all the staff that help for the wedding on Saturday 28th September, everyone was exceptional, the staff severing and clearing tables were very organised and got everything done very quickly and smoothly, the bar staff were very efficient when the bar was busy and keep it clean and tidy went it was a bit quieter. I have worked in multiply bars and also worked in a hotel as bar staff and severing and i can not fault them at all and could learn more if anything if i worked here. The was a lady keeping everything flowing and she did her job to the tee and made the night (i believe) easier for the bride and groom and there parents, made it easier to relax and enjoy the night knowing that the guests were having a good time and being treated well.

Overall I and the rest of the party had an amazing time at the hotel, i will be going to Blackpool again in a few years for a longer holiday and if i am staying along the front again i will defiantly be looking into staying here again. Thank you all for such a great time, it was only my second time in Blackpool and the first time it was only for the day, so the first time i stayed and this hotel and its staff have made it somewhere i really want to go back.

P.s with the reviews about the thin walls, we had rooms next to each other and tried to shout through to one another but couldn't here each other and had to call on the phones (not wanting to walk round as it was when we was getting changed) but you can here a lot through the doors and i think this is the problem, if anyone walks through the hallways talking you can here the pretty clear in the room, this was the one thing we noticed as a "bad point" but it was no real bother to us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward9192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,105 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,036 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
477 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
498 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carousel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carousel Hotel

Property: The Carousel Hotel
Address: 663-671 New South Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#23 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#27 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carousel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully refurbished Carousel is the highest AA rated 3 star hotel in Blackpool. Situated five minutes from Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the hotel is ideally located on the South Promenade, near to all of Blackpool’s attractions - but far enough away from the bustle of Blackpool's famous Golden Mile to offer a relaxing, refreshing and high quality experience. Our Cafe Bar 663 serves both breakfast and an extensive menu for all-day dining, alongside its bar facility and 24 hour room service. We have 22 family rooms all with DVD players and an extensive library of DVDs for the children available to loan with our compliments. The hotel also has nightly entertainment during the summer months alongside Cafe Bar kids activities, subject to seasonality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Carousel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carousel Blackpool Hotel Blackpool
The Carousel Hotel Blackpool
Carousel Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing