We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay for concert”
Review of The Carousel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carousel Hotel
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One night stay for concert”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was a one night stay with National holidays to concert by Sarah Millican at the Winter Gardens. As it was National holidays we did not have a choice of hotels but we found the Carousel better than good for the price of the break. On arrival the reception was good dealing with a coach load in minutes. Our room small but lovely and clean with all the necessary things that make a stay enjoyable. The evening meal was excellent with a wide choice of dishes well prepared and piping hot. On return from the concert we found a selection of sandwiches more than enough for the coach parties which was a nice touch. Breakfast was excellent buffet style with all you can eat great start before returning to Leeds. I would recommend the Hotel for a lot longer break than we enjoyed.

Room Tip: We had a sea view (didn't ask for one) with good views of Tower etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshireman1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    318
    145
    45
    31
See reviews for
391
298
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

On the 27october 2013 me and my wife got married there. I would like to thank all the staff there for giving us the perfect day. Every detail we wanted was carried out and nothing was to much trouble. The food was fantastic .Every guest chose from a terrific menu for the wedding breakfast and the buffet at night was just as good. The carousel gave us unbelievable value for money for our wedding and would recommend anyone thinking of having any type of celebration to choose this venue.The rooms we stayed in we're spotlessly clean as is the rest of the hotel .once again I can't thank the staff enough for a day we will not forget.

Room Tip: Front rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for review. We very much appreciate your kind words, particularly regarding our reception and breakfast teams which we will ensure is passed on to the staff. We strive to provide the level of business service and attention to detail you refer to, so your feedback and observations are of great assistance to us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife had the most amazing day of our lives when we got married on the 9th of August 2013 thanks to all the staff there!
The package worked with local suppliers who were good value and amazing quality. The planning and service on the day was impeccable. The food is exceptional quality and very hearty no one went hungry. We could even choose meals for individual guests and had a choice on the buffet. The whole day was brilliant as all of the management and the staff took pride in customer service. They even did entertainment and it was such a great time!
If I was going to plan any occasion such as a birthday or celebration I would definitely choose The Carousel. It has recently been refurbished and all the rooms are fabulous. Highly recommend!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank fattmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your review of the Carousel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your special day, and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to be a part of it. From your comments about the quality of the food to the service our staff provided, we are thankful for your feedback and so pleased that we could serve you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

we stayed here on 9th nov 2013 for one night to vist the pleasure beach for it's late night opening.the hotel is easy to find and has plenty of free parking either in the car park or just outside. we were able to check in an hour early. the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is very clean.
our room was 114 on the first floor just above the main door. it had a double bed and a sofa bed but still plenty of room . it had a hairdryer, safe, towels and toiletries and we had a sea view that we paid extra for. bathroom a bit on the small side but good power shower and plenty of hot water. we returned from the pleasure beach at midnight to find there was a function on and it was very noisy , we got to our room and could hear the music so my husband went down and asked when it was finishing as we had choosen this hotel because it was supposed to be quiet. the music stopped at half past midnight but for the next hour is was still noisy as people were leaving. then you can hear next door's baby crying . the beds were comfy and slept well but come about 6.30am - 7am the kids upstairs decided to get up and there was the sound of running around till they went to breakfast at 8 . bit unfair when you like to have a lie in on holiday.
breakfast was buffet style and was busy when we got there but had a table ready but had to wait for the queue to go down but then had to join it anyway. after that it got very busy and people had to go through to the function room to eat but still had to queue for food , past our table , not very nice when you are trying to eat. it didn't seem to have the space for the number of bedrooms.
if I stayed here again I would ring and ask for an upstairs room.

Room Tip: ask for a room upstairs to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your review of the Carousel; we are delighted that you enjoyed your room facilities. We are sorry that you experienced some noise disturbance. Whilst the hotel is situated in a relatively quiet location we do cater for all types of guest including young families. However, we would be happy to accommodate your needs as best possible to ensure that you are situated in the quietest part of the hotel, as it is of the utmost importance to us that all of our guests enjoy their stay. Please do contact us directly prior to your next visit to Blackpool to arrange this, when we hope to see you at the Carousel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in dozens of hotels and b&b's in blackpool and this was the best yet, my wife, I and two children aged 3 and 6 went for one night to see the illuminations, arrived quite late on Friday night due to bad traffic but were greeted with a smile and quickly checked in no problems, the room was large (number 212) had a sea view and was perfectly clean the bathroom had a shower cubicle and was plenty big enough despite other reviews I'd read beforehand, it had tea and coffee facilities and a flat screen tv, the kids loved their "novelty" pull out sofa bed and our double bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was well executed with a large choice of cereals or toast with jams and marmalades for the children and a self service full English for us, I thought I'd had every combination of fry ups possible over the years but the deep fried poached eggs were a new one to me and I wish I'd had a chance to stay two nights to try them again. We weren't around for the evenings entertainment but speaking to people at the bar I was told it was very good. All in all I'll never have to look at options of were to stay when I visit blackpool next I'll be going directly to the carousel keep it up folks 10/10.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your review of the Carousel, in particular your kind words regarding the bedroom and the breakfast. Our team work hard to provide our guests with the highest standard of customer care as possible and we are happy that you found the room and hotel so hospitable. We look forward to welcoming your family again on your next trip to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FALKIRK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just had a good weekend at the Carousel stayed 3 nights; Staff very friendly and made you feel very welcome,Room clean with nice modern bathroom.There was a wedding on the Saturday but as we were on the 3rd floor through the dining room we did not experience any noise.Food was good excellent choice on self service restaurant breakfast.
Would stay again good value for money.
Only problem is parking but this is normal in Blackpool when it is a school holiday time and lights are still on.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed one night only .We were greeted by friendly staff. The room was very modern and very clean with a lovely tiled bathroom. Shampoo, shower gel, soap provided plus tea coffee etc. Quiet area but a tram stop across the road for easy access into Blackpool .Thank You to all the staff for a lovely stay and will return in the future.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,046 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3,911 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carousel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carousel Hotel

Property: The Carousel Hotel
Address: 663-671 New South Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#23 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#27 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carousel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully refurbished Carousel is the highest AA rated 3 star hotel in Blackpool. Situated five minutes from Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the hotel is ideally located on the South Promenade, near to all of Blackpool’s attractions - but far enough away from the bustle of Blackpool's famous Golden Mile to offer a relaxing, refreshing and high quality experience. Our Cafe Bar 663 serves both breakfast and an extensive menu for all-day dining, alongside its bar facility and 24 hour room service. We have 22 family rooms all with DVD players and an extensive library of DVDs for the children available to loan with our compliments. The hotel also has nightly entertainment during the summer months alongside Cafe Bar kids activities, subject to seasonality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carousel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carousel Blackpool Hotel Blackpool
The Carousel Hotel Blackpool
Carousel Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing