We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Would definitely recommend!”
Review of The Carousel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carousel Hotel
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband, 7 yr old daughter and my friends 10yr old daughter stayed in The Carousel for 3 nights and we had a brilliant stay! The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful at all times! The rooms were spotless and the family room was very roomy and the beds extremely comfortable! There was a buffet breakfast with plenty of choice and fresh hot food. We ate at the restaurant and they did an amazing deal, 3 courses each with a bottle of wine for £30. The food was top class with large portions. This is the furthest South we have stayed from the centre of Blackpool but we made full use of a family ticket on the trams, which the kids loved! There was good entertainment each night and the girls made lots of friends. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

My partner and i stayed in this hotel 5 days ago. Hotel lovely from the outside, reception staff welcoming.
However, we had to use the lift to get to the 3rd floor which was like stepping into a cupboard, very small. Upon entering our room, rather on the small size, mirror was neither use nor ornament as it was in the window bay, couldnt use it as a table was in the way and the shower was 3/4 the size of a normal shower, could hardly swing a cat in it. (Photos of bedrooms nothing like what we were given).
Couldnt fault the choice of breakfast.

Room Tip: Room could have done to be a bit bigger and shower big enough to get into
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shazza1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

my wife and I stayed in this hotel after reading good reviews about it we were not disappointed the hotel was really clean and the staff booking us in made us feel at home and gave us a lot of information the room was a twin and was spotless the hotel is down on the south shore 10 min from the pleasure beach there is a bus and tram stop across the road from the hotel so the car stayed in the free car park the breakfast was first class and the hotel is very modern and its a nice and quite location there is entertainment on at night which was a bonus would go back again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear valued guest, thank you very much for your review of The Carousel, and in particular, your kind words about the cleanliness of the hotel and the level of customer service from our team. We're delighted that both you and your wife enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back. Many thanks and kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My 15 year old and I stayed overnight after a day at the pleasure beach. No problem to find with free and easy parking. It's a good 15 mins to walk to the pleasure beach but it saves you the ridiculous parking fee there if you drive there. Pleasant reception staff. Lovely clean and modern rooms, we stayed in a twin room, but the view wasn't very nice. That was our only minor gripe. But you can pay only a little more for a sea view. The hotel was quiet whilst we were there and the beds really comfy so we had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was very good and filled us up for the day. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy6702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I chose this hotel with an holistic approach and through checking all of the reviews online. The reception area was spotless and reception staff were very welcoming. Upon entering my room, it smelt damp and musky, I didn't complain and opened the windows and it went after a while. The decor was tired in the room but the bathroom was faultless. The carpet had seen better days and was covered in white hairs. Upon check-in the cleaner was in the adjacent room and left the. Hoover outside my room. This Hoover was there until checkout the next morning, this posed a health and safety risk, which security or night porters should have noticed. Breakfast was lovely And staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for your review, we apologise that the housekeeping item was left outside your room overnight and will ensure this does not happen again. May we thank you for your kind words regarding the standard of service and in particular, the inclusive breakfast. We will address the other points you have raised as part of our continual review of standards across the hotel and as always, we will address any such matters as a priority. Thank you once again and we hope you stay with us on your next visit to Blackpool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Ok first things first, if you want cheap clean and cheerful but basic then this is the ideal place. To me, it is one of the better hotels amongst Blackpool's sea front.

Situated in the South Shore but further past the pleasure beach the carousel is in a quiet area away from all the noise and hustle of everyday blackpool. The exterior isn't very good on the building and does look worn out/run down

However, once inside the reception area, it is warm and inviting and the receptionist was very friendly.

We were td evening we needed to know on arrival and off we went to our rooms.

The rooms were clean and basic- had a refurb back in 2004 and now 10 years later the rooms whilst still clean and comfortable were getting abit worn and run down! Everything was provided as you would expect in the room including, tea, coffee, linen and towels.

Breakfast the next morning was of a very good standard and all breakfast staff were polite and friendly!

My only gripe to this hotel is that at 1pm when we checked in there was a "Henry Hoover" on the corridor outside our room - it was still there at 9am the next door - this had prompted me to believe that security was not on site at night at the hotel and therefore no patrol of the building took place to endure guest safety.

If in the area again, we would use, if we were sure enough security maintained on site throughout our stay.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Scott_Manc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just returned from a most enjoyable stay at this hotel. Lovely clean bedroom, with quite new furniture. Buffet breakfast well presented. Staff helpful. Didn't have evening meals, but the menu's looked good. Only negative, this hotel is surrounded by a few hotels that have closed, and are boarded-up. But don't let this put you off ... The Carousel is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear valued guest, may we thank you very much for your review of The Carousel. We're so pleased that you found the quality of the room and food to your liking. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to Blackpool. Many thanks and kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#2 of 73 in Blackpool
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carousel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carousel Hotel

Address: 663-671 New South Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#18 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#23 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £46 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carousel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully refurbished Carousel is the highest AA rated 3 star hotel in Blackpool. Situated five minutes from Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the hotel is ideally located on the South Promenade, near to all of Blackpool’s attractions - but far enough away from the bustle of Blackpool's famous Golden Mile to offer a relaxing, refreshing and high quality experience. Our Cafe Bar 663 serves both breakfast and an extensive menu for all-day dining, alongside its bar facility and 24 hour room service. We have 22 family rooms all with DVD players and an extensive library of DVDs for the children available to loan with our compliments. The hotel also has nightly entertainment during the summer months alongside Cafe Bar kids activities, subject to seasonality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carousel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carousel Blackpool Hotel Blackpool
The Carousel Hotel Blackpool
Carousel Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing