We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for 2 nights - it was just "ok"”
Review of The Carousel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Carousel Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stayed for 2 nights - it was just "ok"”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for my dads 60th birthday. We arrived as a surprise for my dad and asked the reception staff to arrange to get my parents to come through to the bar when they arrived so we could surprise them. They did do it but I got the feeling we were putting them out (there was only 6 of us in total so not a big rowdy crowd). The rooms were fine, clean and fit for purpose although 2 out the 3 rooms had the tiniest showers! Breakfast was good - sausages and mushrooms were very tasty!! On both mornings we had to wait at least 20 minutes for tea which I feel is unacceptable.
We never went to see any of the entertainment but did sit in the bar one evening after the entertainment was finished, no issues there.
I would rate this as an average hotel, wouldn't bother staying again as I imagine there are other adequate hotels closer to the town centre.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Needan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    329
    147
    46
    31
See reviews for
411
305
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Not what we were expecting. Checked in here at approx 5:30 pm after a long drive down from the Scottish Highlands for one evening, and even though first impressions were good of the reception area the cleanliness and the general look of the hotel, im afriad for the sake of this review that is where the good points ended. Upon arrival we were not offered nor told about the parking facilities which were around the back of the hotel so just left the car on the road directly outside of the hotel. Upon check in the young blonde lady who greeted us seemed to of been more concerned about her co worker and having a chat with him instead of greeting us in a friendly manner. We were in room 224 and this room was one of the if not THE worst hotel rooms i have ever had the 'privileged' or staying in. Below our room was the kitchen which had an extremely noisy ventilation system which caused us to get no sleep at all that night. Not to mention that when room service was ordered late at night the gentleman who served us was extremely rude as though we had put him "out of his way" to bring it to us. Disgusting. On receiving the ordered food, we were not impressed in the slightest, the standards of room service was appalling and the food was terrible and just "thrown together" needs attention. We have never stayed in a hotel so poor so an overall score of 2 is awarded due to it being clean, breakfast being good and its in a pretty ideal location, however customer satisfaction, the quality of sleep and customer service let it down. Poor hotel, shall not be returning

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 224 or any room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryanne1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear valued guest, may we thank you for your visit to the Carousel and also for your comprehensive review. We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel exceptionally clean and well located, though we are also sorry to hear that there were parts of your stay you felt that could have improved upon. We would like to clarify that the on-street parking to the immediate front of the property is free and unrestricted so there is no need to use the rear car park we have, unless for specific reasons. We also take on board the issues that you where disappointed with and will investigate these, particularly as they seem to be most out of character for the members of staff as referred to. Should you visit in Blackpool again we would be happy to welcome you back to the Carousel and ensure your personal preferences are catered for. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We are a family of 4 and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights August 21st-23rd. The hotel is situated at the bottom end of the promanade away from the attractions and shops and opposite a tram stop. On arrival I found the receptionist a little rude and we were given our key and a run down of breakfast and so on very quickly!!! On my booking form I requested extra pillows but they were not in the room so had to go back down to reception to ask for them. The room was ok on first impressions, the bedding and towels were clean. We had a room with a double bed and bunk beds for the children, there was plenty of cupboard/draw space available. The bathroom was ok but the toilet could have been cleaned a little better, the shower was small and the water kept going slow and then fast as other people used the water. The night was horrendous!!!! The room even with a fan and the window open was far to hot and you get a lot of noise from downstairs. Our second night was even worse we had people on our landing shouting, screaming, slamming Doors and running up and down the corridor early hours of the morning with no consideration to other guests!! The hotel staff seem oblivious to this!. Breakfast was terrible!!! The bare minimum of items for cooked breakfast which were cold and dried up, a few cereal choices, one milk type which I assume was full cream. My daughter asked for a yoghurt and was told they were waiting on a delivery. The toast was pre cooked and put in a basket and on both mornings I witnessed a guest handling all the toast looking for what piece he wanted with no regard for other people having to eat it. The toast was sat in a basket for the duration of the breakfast time so was cold and like rubber!!. Tea/coffee was served by the very rude restaurant staff and only one cup was offered and that was when they decided to come around and offer any!! At check out I approached the desk with the keys in my hand where the receptionist said "checking out?" I handed the keys to her and that was it, no thank you, no did you enjoy your stay! I could not believe how rude the staff were. Overall we were very disappointed with every aspect of the hotel and would never recommend or stay here again!!! If your thinking about staying in Blackpool stick to a Premier Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor and our view out of a stinking window was a back area of the hotel. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macandloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear valued guest, we thank you for your visit and review of the Carousel. We are very sorry to hear that you you did not like your experience at our hotel and that there were parts of your stay that you clearly feel we could improve upon. We will of course investigate the points you have raised and address these as necessary. We take on board feedback from all guests and it is always very much appreciated. We are sorry to hear your comments regarding elements of our customer service, as this is certainly out of character and something we strive towards the highest quality. Whilst the hotel was exceptionally busy during your stay, we do not use this as any excuse for not meeting your personal expectations. Again, we apologise sincerely for how this experience shaped your view of the hotel and should you return to Blackpool again, we would like the opportunity to prove our quality of customer care with you and to address the unfortunate perception you have experienced on this occasion. Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had our 50th Wedding Anniversary at the Carousel last weekend and many of our guests, and us, stayed in the hotel 1 and some 2 nights.
Everybody was very satisfied with the service, the rooms and the breakfast and the staff themselves could not have been more attentive and helpful at all times.
As far as the 50th Party was concerned everyone thoroughly enjoyed their night and the forward planning by Luci and the attention to detail on the evening by Zara was second to none. Excellent!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of holding their wedding or special occasion there. The staff cannot be more attentive to your needs. Thank you to them all for a superb weekend.

Alec and Adrienne Baxter

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsonlymetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed the night on 19th August 2014. Room was clean and tidy. We got back from our day out about 9.30pm and all was fine, bed comfy and telly worked. Bathroom was tidy and modern but shower was very cramped!
Was disappointed by breakfast this morning though, we walked into the breakfast room which had loads of unoccupied but uncleared tables, and were told they couldn't seat us in there. We were directed into the bar area where breakfast was laid out but obviously no one was keeping an eye on what was running out (except a guy who kept looking through the window from reception and looking about who must have been blind as he didn't seem to notice anything!). There was no glasses for juice, no plates and the hot buffet was cold meaning we had to go back to the breakfast room to get a decent breakfast.
Parking was also limited but we knew that in advance.
I might stay here again given the fact it was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz5185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the 17th & 18th of August. The hotel was clean but dull. The bathroom was tiny. We ate in both nights and found the food to be expensive for the size of the portions which were extremely small. It was a case of style over substance: nicely presented but very small portions.

Room Tip: Get a twin room instead of a double as it's bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I would not stop here again if it was free the entertainment was rubbish children running wild while the singer was on nothing for children to do it is a big con.the room was clean you need a new manager, god help people who stop at the carousel

Room Tip: Do not bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear guest, may we thank you for your review. May we clarify that entertainment is provided totally free of charge on some nights and is generally geared towards families. For this reason we would expect to see children in the entertainment and bar area. We would also add that we have an extensive children's menu and offer a free kids club between 5pm and 8pm during the school holidays and saturdays in term time. We apologise if these arrangements were not to your liking and would be happy to advise of alternative venues to take your grandchildren for entertainment of your choice should you choose to stay with us again. May we thank you for your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of your room. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,103 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,030 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
476 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
496 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carousel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carousel Hotel

Property: The Carousel Hotel
Address: 663-671 New South Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#23 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#27 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carousel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully refurbished Carousel is the highest AA rated 3 star hotel in Blackpool. Situated five minutes from Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the hotel is ideally located on the South Promenade, near to all of Blackpool’s attractions - but far enough away from the bustle of Blackpool's famous Golden Mile to offer a relaxing, refreshing and high quality experience. Our Cafe Bar 663 serves both breakfast and an extensive menu for all-day dining, alongside its bar facility and 24 hour room service. We have 22 family rooms all with DVD players and an extensive library of DVDs for the children available to loan with our compliments. The hotel also has nightly entertainment during the summer months alongside Cafe Bar kids activities, subject to seasonality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Carousel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carousel Blackpool Hotel Blackpool
The Carousel Hotel Blackpool
Carousel Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing