We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian restaurant and breakfast”

The Sandhurst Licensed Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sandhurst Licensed Hotel
Ranked #349 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Stayed in a family room with my two boys. Was quite cold and pretty small but was very clean. Tv was perched pretty high and a struggle for kids to watch when getting ready to go out. Staff were friendly and engaging, Indian restaurant was my highlight very nice indeed. The breakfast also was really good in the morning. Nice games room with pool table for kids and large plasma tv. This is a great location for the pleasure beach and good value for money. I would recommend the onsite restaurant. You may have a bit of a wait for food, but it's worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiffyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for The Sandhurst Licensed Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2011

Upon arriving at the hotel my husband and I received a warm, friendly welcome. We stayed in room number 7 which must be the smallest double room I have ever seen. It had a double bed, bedside table, small TV. kettle, tea and coffee and a small wardrobe which had a dressing mirror in it. There was, however, no chair to sit at to get 'made up'. The 'en suite' was the smallest we have ever seen and not at all practical. The mirror was too low and the sink (which was made higher by standing on a plinth of some sort) was so small that it was difficult to use. The shower which, yes you guessed it was small, made more of a trickle. My husband showered first in the morning and couldn't get any warm water. I, however, managed to have a warm shower. Perhaps this was because I was showering while everyone else was eating breakfast.

Talking of breakfast, this was served between 9-9:30am. The service was good and the food was tasty, however it would have been nice to be asked what we would like on our breakfast as I didn't want the fried egg, fried bread or bacon that was on my plate. On our second morning, my husband had to eat breakfast alone because we had to check out by 10:30am, therefore breakfast time was spent washing my hair and getting ready. If I had wanted breakfast I would have had to get up at about 8am in order to be ready on time. I believe holidays should be about relaxing and not getting up early, especially when noisy guests have kept you up half the night! My husband asked whether he could take a sausage sandwich or something easy upstairs for me, however the answer was NO! So I had nothing.

Unfortunately, noisy guests were a major problem during our stay. The walls were so thin, which was surprising considering the hotel is in an old terraced house. Adults and children were running around the hotel, and what sounded like jumping down the stairs, until around midnight each night. After finally getting to sleep after this, we were woken again around 4am when noisy clubbers returned. We could hear everything they said. We could also hear when the next room (in the building next door) plugged something in to the wall. That's how thin the walls were!

The room was quite clean however there was a cigarette box under the bedside table, indicating that the room was not cleaned thoroughly. Also, there were some stains on the bed sheets which isn't very pleasant to think about.

The hotel is in a good location, right next to the south pier and the pleasure beach. There is no hotel parking but, luckily, we managed to get parked right outside on the street.

We had a great time in Blackpool but wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HDH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Booked this for me and the family for a short break over bank holiday weekend- reviews seemed very encouraging. Location is right next to the Pleasure Beach, owners are very pleasant, breakfasts are lovely. However, although our room was spacious and clean, I wouldn't agree with the reviews that rate this establishment as 4 or more out of 5. It seems to me that the owner has revamped the first 2 floors, but hasn't managed to complete the refurb on upper levels- we were on the top floor and the decor was definitely tired and 80's. I'd imagine that the owner uses the lower rooms usually, but rather than turn down business, will use the upper levels when necessary

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MackemSpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

easy to find
verry clean/bright
verry friendly/helpful
exelent food & well presented
super value for money
have recomded to friends already

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trikeitdixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

a very welcoming hotel ideally placed for the Pleasure Beach and Sandcastle etc. We stayed with 3 children in a family room for one night.

The room and hotel was small but very clean. The bedding was spotless and the beds comfy. The breakfast was great with cereal and juice as well as the full english. How they managed all this for the price we paid I dont know!

Kass and Ollie the proprietors were very welcoming and embodied the true spirit of hostelry. Would happily recommend this hotel for a visit to Blackpool.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

stayed at the sandhurst hotel with my friend, only stayed for the night, arrived around 2pm and was welcomed in and shown to our room, was given one of the newly refurbished rooms which was really clean and comfortable. the b&b is by the pleasure beach so expect it to be noisy all through the night, there is a kebab shop opposite b&b which doesnt close until around 4am so if you are at the front of the hotel expect to be awake until they close! this didnt bother us as we wanted a b&b close to the pleasure beach so thats what you get. the breakfast was lovely and was offered more if we had wanted. would definitly go back to this b&B as it is in perfect location close to please beach just ask for a room around the back where it is less noisy at night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelaswheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

The sandhurst is ideally located ,close to pleasure beach and the south pier.Kass and Ollie make you feel so at home nothing was a bother to them.The room we stayed in had double bed and bunk beds,We were'nt cramped,had plenty of room,rooms cleaned every day.kids were treated so well they didnt want to leave.This was our first visit to Blackpool but we definately will return.and stay at the Sandhurst again..Thankyou Kass and ollie.x

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyr0nemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Stuart Hotel
Stuart Hotel
#41 of 73 in Blackpool
258 reviews
2.9 mi away
New Kent B&B Hotel Blackpool
New Kent B&B Hotel Blackpool
#226 of 859 in Blackpool
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#4 of 859 in Blackpool
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#178 of 859 in Blackpool
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine Villa Hotel
Marine Villa Hotel
#650 of 859 in Blackpool
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Granville Hotel - Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandhurst Licensed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandhurst Licensed Hotel

Address: 8 Station Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £40 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sandhurst Licensed Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel located very close the South Pier, home of the Laughing Donkey bar. The Pleasure Beach, Sandcastle, Casino and not forgeting the beach, are only 2 minutes walk. So why not come and stay with Hardesh and Santosh Paul at The Sandhurst Licensed Hotel with 14 rooms all with ensuites, colour tv and tea/coffee making facilities. You'll be guaranteed a warm and friendly welcome. SORRY NO STAGS/HENS PARTIES ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Sandhurst Licensed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing