We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Very Welcoming.”
Review of Maples Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maples Hotel
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Very Welcoming.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned home from a one night stay at the Maples and will definitely return on future visits to Blackpool.

The room was perfect for our needs and even though it's on the main road the double glazing keeps all the noise out.

We popped to the bar intending to have one drink before we went to town but the lounge was so relaxing and the owner was so friendly and engaging we ended up staying for 3 and could have quite happily stayed there for the night if we weren't meeting friends.

The choice at breakfast was huge and the full English was amazing (even though I couldn't finish it as I'd had 1 or 6 too many beers the night before).

All in all a very pleasant stay and will definitely return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocketmandan6761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Owner at Maples Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for a great review. It's good to get feedback, and we appreciate that it takes time to go online to do it. Once more, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    32
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
110
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I, and our wee dog Charlie, have just returned from a weeks stay, at The Maples Hotel in Blackpool. From the minute we walked through the door, we were welcomed by Ted & Dave who own the hotel. They then gave us our key to our room, which had a lovely sea view.

The hotel has a lovely sun lounge area, we're you can sit back and relax, with a lovely glass of wine and watch the sea come in and out.

The best part of our day, was waking up to a delicious breakfast ! In the past my wife and I have been on many cruises, but the breakfast at The Maples Hotel was far superior ! It is a 5 star breakfast !

I would highly recommend The Maples Hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday!

We will definitely return to this hotel, as we really enjoyed our stay. If you are going to Blackpool, you must stay at The Maples Hotel!

Sandy, Betty and wee Charlie

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Owner at Maples Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
What a great review - thank you very much for taking time to write it. They're a great help to us and to prospective guests. Many thanks again and we look forward to seeing you all another time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and grandson, we really enjoyed our stay, the family room was a good size and clean on the downside it was a fair old climb up all the stairs, certainly kept us all fit. The hosts were fantastic, any request acted upon instantly, the highlight was the breakfast an absolutely amazing choice, with everything very fresh, my wife was very impressed with quality of the coffee declaring it the best ever. The bar area was very pleasant and David made sure my wife got a healthy measure of wine which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Owner at Maples Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your review - we always appreciate it when guests take time to write one. Glad you enjoyed your breakfast (the most important meal of the day) We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Weekend with friends, stayed two nights, very friendly Irish welcome, very clean all round, superb location, free parking. well stocked bar at reasonable prices. absolute 5 star breakfast. Would recommend ceiling fans fitted to sea-view rooms, but it was possibly the hottest nights of the year when we stayed.

Room Tip: amazing view from sea front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rorychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Owner at Maples Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thanks for taking time to write a review. Yes, ceiling fans would have helped, but as you say it was the hottest few days of the year and came on a bit unexpectedly - we may consider them for next summer. Glad overall you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We are a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids). We stayed at Maples Hotel for 2 nights. We had a family room which consisted of two double beds. Separate toilet (which is always handy for the ‘busy’ mornings) and a reasonably sized bathroom with shower cubicle. The size of the room was great! Lot of space so we didn't feel like we were stepping on top of each other.

The hotel is situated a few tram stops away from the North Pier and about 10 stops from the Pleasure Beach (which was our main focus ;-)). With a tram stop diagonally opposite, the hotel location is ideal. Nice quiet area, great for families who simply want some down-time and peace and quiet at the end of a fun-filled busy day.

The breakfast was fantastic. Great range of choice from fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurts, croissants, fresh juices, and ofcourse a wonderfully cooked breakfast. This really set us up well for the days of our stay.

Fantastic, homely, friendly service! Top-class. One late evening we grabbed a fish & chips take-away supper from a local place. We asked the hotel owners if we could sit back in the lounge area. We were greeted with an answer of “absolutely no problem” and were provided with plates and cutlery. We were happy enough to eat out of the paper packs provided but this gesture was synonymous with the level of service we experienced throughout our stay. Nothing was too much. In the end we found ourselves relaxing, eating dinner and watching TV like we were in our own home. Really comfortable and welcoming surroundings.

There are other mini-examples I could convey to demonstrate the great service but in a nutshell we had a great stay, very impressed with the general friendliness and the outstanding service and we will definitely return one day. Can’t recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: We had room number 3. The family room. Great size and not too far to walk to from the main door entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Owner at Maples Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Wow , thank you for a wonderful review. We're absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. That's why we're here. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed for one night after the show mama Mia and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we walked through the door when we were greeted by Ted. After the show we enjoyed a drink in the bar ,and had a friendly chat and banter with another one of the owners David . The breakfast was superb with plenty of choices , as good as you would get in any 5 star hotel. If visiting Blackpool again we would definitely stay at the maples.
Ps. David, I told Keith he could write this ha ha... (Hazel).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Owner at Maples Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for the great review . . . and for giving Keith permission to write it !!! It was nice having you here and hope you will give Keith permission to bring you back sometime ha ha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped for one evening (family of 3) and would highly recommend. Brilliant staff, really friendly who went out of their way to meet
Our needs. If we return to Blackpool, we will definitely stay here again. Real family feel to the place.Great location and close to the tram. Competitive rates.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank danward23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Owner at Maples Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. It helps us to know that we are on the right track. Many thanks and look forward to seeing again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,038 reviews
3.2 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,198 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
478 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maples Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples Hotel

Property: Maples Hotel
Address: 8 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maples Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seafront hotel with all bedrooms en suite, licensed bar with a luxurious sun lounge with great views over the Irish Sea. The hotel has been completely refurbished in the summer of 2013 Multi channel televisions in all rooms. Free wifi in public areas. Limited on site parking, with street and inexpensive public parking at 150 mtrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maples Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing