We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great value hotel in Blackpool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Darwen Lancs
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Another great value hotel in Blackpool”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Took Two kids 11,and 5, + grandma, We all enjoyed it, They dont have a pool or leisure facilities but if staying ,you can use the Norbrecks facilities, we went full board, bed breakfast evening meal with wine including sea view room for £70 total, (kids stay and eat for free), the evening meal was great, hot and cold buffet, no complaints from anyone, the breakfast equally as good, great staff, entertainement good,the hotel is beautifull, would have been magic when first built, but even today you can still enjoy the splendour,
If We had a complaint ,it was just to hot for us in the bar watching the evenings entertainement, but appart from that, smashing

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeDarwenLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Metropole at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    676
    690
    578
    1,293
See reviews for
832
1,606
159
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay on 20th February at The Metropole. Receptionist was polite and efficient, our room was very clean and spacious. The breakfasts were plentiful and very palatable and there was a varied selection of meals in the restaurant for evening dinner which were very tasteful. Evening cabaret was entertaining which included a mini quiz to add to the variation. Will definitely return for a longer stay in the summer. A seafront hotel with its own car park,clean spacious rooms with excellent food,entertainment and friendly, helpful staff, what more can anyone want?

B.Cox. Washington. Tyne and Wear

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parrotnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Metropole at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Have nothing good to say about this hotel. Frozen tasteless food, tinned veg and smash potato[ no joke tasted like potato powder mixed with water] The heating is turned off most of the time so even when you turn your radiator on it doesnt get hot, the whole place is absolutely freezing! We left after 1 night but when we asked for a refund for the rest of the week the hotel manager wouldnt come out of his office to see us-we were constantly fobbed off with messages sent through reception staff, or told he was in meetings.This is probably why they take payment up front because you certainly wouldnt stay otherwise.We didnt stay anyway! HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE, def 1 to avoid.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dj13dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post an entry on Trip Advisor.

As you know we did meet, and had a detailed discussion about your conecerns.

We also agreed a course of action, and several suggestions to enhance your stay which ultimately you were unhappy to follow.

I'm sorry you did not find the Metropole to your satisfaction.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
stockport
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2011

com fortable. food excellent,Room clean and pleasant. Just one problem, nogood mirror or light for applying make up in bedroom. Would be nice to see some flowers in reception area make it a bit more inviting.otherwise fine.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nephiStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Metropole at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

we thought we would treat our son daughter in law and baby grandson to a valentine weekend away so decided blackpool as it was far enough to drive with our grandson my husband rang around a few hotels and found the ones we as a couple had been before could not take us as a family for a couple of nights so noticed this hotel could we booked two premire rooms so expected a lot more than what we were shown we have stayed in better b and bs about thirty years ago in albert road found it dirty smelly and depressing and that was just reception we asked to been shown a better room or suite and found the alternitive was more like a dungeon room it was on ground floor just past the two restaurants and it was dark dingy not very clean and very smelly with dark drapes and bedding and a awful smell of stale food from the kitchen we decided to stay that night we then went down to dinner witch stated open till 8 oclock so my husband and i went down 7 30 in the premire dining room to get a table our family came down at 7 45 we were told to help our selves to the buffet if we wanted soup that would be sreved at the table so we all went to the buffet at 7 50 then at 7 55 we were told they were closing at 8 00 so would go and get our main course and dessert how are you expected to eat three coures in 15 minutes it is not stated that you have to be out by 8 00 oclock and the food was like the leftovers dry and not very nice to the or the pallet we did mention this to the staff and was told they didnot get paid after 8 00 oclock so they were clearing up not very nice seeing all the kitchen slops coming out we went back to the room and found the bed mattress had springs sticking through so not a very good night sleep next morning breakfast acceptable only because we were down early and had enough time to eat it after breakfast my husband rang around a few hotels so we could move and was succesful in booking two beautiful sea view rooms very clean and spacious at the imperial where we nomally stay we went to book out and was asked why we were leaving after one night we told this to the person on resepttion and was told that the duty manager would contact us and we are still waiting for this i might add that the cost of the imperial was only 20 pounds more a night and by far more superia i really dont think your star rating is justified b and bs are far more superia to the grand. very dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindabasford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor.

I was horrified to read your feedback on the various aspects of your stay.

Could you please contact me on 01253 628 321 or francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.co.uk at your earliest convenience and we can come to a resolution on this matter.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I have read many review on this hotel most of them bad but i can honestly say that this hotel is good value for money. We stayed for one night on a B&B basis. I found the staff very friendly and helpful and even thought the decor was dated it was in keeping with the hotel. The very clean and pleasant we even had a spa bath in the room. I will go back again. I really do fail to see what all the previous moaning was all about. One point i would make is that the breakfast wasn't great the staff again where very pleasant but the bacon was rank and the toast was put out burnt which i was suppressed about I would say that this is the only fault about my stay and everything else

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer290382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

So often we only hear the negatives, it is so pleasing to see such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Metropole at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Me and my partner booked a weekend at the Metropole through National Holidays, this was our second in 5 weeks, the first was at the Grand in Scarborough and the only thing Grand about that was the building itself!
The Metropole, we were greeted by a member of staff and lots of written info was given to us by the receptionist, they had a cheap Bar available that we used until our room was ready, £2 for fosters..not bad!
Our room was clean, warm and pleasant, bed could have done with a new Mattress, but apart from that it was alright.
Food, great hot selection, restaurant staff very pleasant and helpful, breakfast was better than the evening meal, however both were good value for money.
The one hour free Bar was honest enough, we got more free drinks in an hour than the three hour free bar at the Grand in Scarborough!
The Hotel was nearly spot on, two key faults, the entertainment once again at a Britannia was only aimed at the over 75's, when we were staying there was plenty of folk under 50, so a DJ would'nt go a miss in the evenings!
The second was the surroundings of the Hotel, the area was very run down, NOT the Hotels fault.
9/10

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Metropole at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,015 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,036 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing